We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel Convenient to GWU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel Convenient to GWU”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I picked this hotel for its reasonable price and location near GWU where we went for a college tour. Short walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station makes this a good base for exploring the rest of the city. It's also a 10 min walk to Georgetown from here.

I loved the quiet neighborhood and the staff were very friendly. There is a restaurant in the bottom of the hotel where you can get a reasonably priced continental breakfast-I think it was only $8. The desk staff was courteous and helpful with storing our luggage after check-out.

We had a double room which was very spacious with 2 comfortable queen beds. There was a microwave and minifridge in an alcove near the bathroom. No mini bar, but there is a 7-11 nearby where you can stock up on water bottles and snacks.

We only stayed one night but I have a very favorable experience and would return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknroll52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Dear RocknRoll52,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip advisor. I am so happy that you like our location and that our staff was pleasant and helpful to you during your stay. I will be sure to pass on your complements. Getting feed back such as this is a valuable tool for the hotel and a moral booster to the team.

If you are ever in the Washington DC area again please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to assit you in making arrangements to stay with us again. I can be reached at manager@gwuinn.com

Sincerely,

Sarah Conigliaro
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    511
    124
    29
    23
See reviews for
451
336
95
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I made a reservation online to stay at this hotel on the night of 5/25.
On the morning of 5/25 I recieved a voicemail informing me that my reservations were being cancelled and I was booked at another hotel.
I called the hotel, was put on hold for 8-10 minutes before I hung up and called back.
When I called back, I was told that due to a plumbing emergency, there were no longer rooms available. This fact was later refuted by another employee, who admitted that they were simply overbooked.
I told the employee that the hotel I was being moved to was inappropriate as I did not have a car and needed to walk to my meeting in the morning, and the new hotel was an expensive taxi ride and also right in the input into DC with respoect to traffic. I was told that there was nothing that could be done.
I boarded my plane from San Diego, got in to Dulles and got a taxi to the new hotel at approximately 10:15 PM. Upon arrival at the new hotel, I was told that my reservation had been cancelled. The hotel was also overbooked so could not offer me a room.
The hotel clerk proceeded to call, and after being put on hold for 10-12 minutes. Thankfully, I had asked my taxi to wait so they could take me to dinner somewhere that was open and not fast food, the only option available by the new hotel.
After about a 15 minute wait, the GWU inn employee told us that my new reservation was in Arlington, but that they needed to call and confirm it for some reason. Mind you, I WAS NEVER CONTACTED VIA PHONE OR EMAIL ABOUT THIS CHANGE.
After an additional 10 minutes hold, the GWU employee told me just to come to the GWU inn, as apparently a reservation was never made at the new hotel.
When I got to the hotel at almost 11:30, I asked about the plumbing problems and was told that in fact they were simply overbooked.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredtjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to book a week at this hotel. I'm glad I did as it was a charming boutique hotel on a quiet, tree-lined side street. It is about a block and a half from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station and 2 large blocks from the Kennedy Center. There is a Safeway market about a block away in the lower level of the Watergate Hotel.
We had a regular room with a king sized bed which was very comfortable. The room was very large. It was nice that the microwave and refrigerator was located in another room so that the noise from the mini frig didn't keep us awake at night. The staff was very responsive and extremely friendly and helpful. The carpet was a little worn, but the rest of the furnishings were fine. The bathroom was clean. Great value for the location and for a boutique hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photodiver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

When searching for Washington Hotels we were a bit dismayed as they seemed very expensive for anything within a reasonable distance of the major sights. After some persistence we found the GWU Inn that seemed to be a good price and had good reviews. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with the service and rooms provided by the hotel. We found that we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was very spacious with a large living area, kitchenette and a separate bedroom with king bed. Our room looked out toward Georgetown and the Potomac and over the residential neighbourhood. We also looked at the Watergate Hotel we discovered where we found a Safeway grocery store with good supplies for breakfast and a couple of meals when we were too tired from all the museums and monuments). The exterior of the hotel and the lobby are plain and modest but the room was clean, well appointed and well equipped. It was an easy walk to Georgetown to all the boutiques and bars as well as the metro which took us in no time to the mall and the major attractions. At night it was quiet and the area surrounding the hotel was very safe. On top of all this it was good value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Washington and at the GWU Inn and will be recommending this to other Australian friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2x2KINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just got back from spending four night at the GWUI. Great hotel: two blocks from the metro. Very clean. Large rooms. Helpful staff. Small restaurant and bar in hotel. Great neighborhood. Five minute walk to Kennedy center, restaurants, shopping plaza, waterfront. Small fridge and microwave in room. Very helpful if you have leftovers and/or want to have cold beer or wine.
This hotel is basic, it's not fancy. But it was clean, spacious and quiet. Slept great all four nights. Also received a discount with AAA card.
Highly reccomend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece, Acropolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed at the George Washington University Inn, when visiting a friend in DC.
The rooms were very spacious (my room had a kitchen also - very comfortable for preparing a quick coffee early in the morning) and clean. Staff was polite and friendly. It is definitely a value for money!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Acropolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Went to DC to soend my birthday with my cousin. Was more than pleased with this property. Central location....short walk to the Watergate and the rest of the sights including the memorials at the Mall. Metro was 2-3 blocks away. Very happy with my stay and will visit there again my next time in DC.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammyleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing