We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, reasonably price option with free continental breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #60 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Spent two nights in this very pleasant hotel in a nice section of Washington DC, and would recommend it. The hotel is not luxury but it is very nice, on a quiet street about 3 minutes walk from the Foggy Bottom metro stop. My room was quite large, with a king bed, for $150 + taxes...a good deal for Washington DC.
A free continental breakfast is available (Coffee, fruit and rolls). Other food is available to purchase.
I've stayed in Washington DC many times and found this to be a very nice, reasonably priced place to stay. I'd go back, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at the GWUINN for four nights while attending the Jon Stewart Rally for Sanity. The hotel is clean and rooms have a kitchenette with full fridge and stove. Close to Watergate hotel which has a Safeway and Liquor store in its lower level.
We took the Metro from Ronald Reagan Airport to the Foggy Bottom station which i about a block from the hotel. Surrounding are is pleasant and near the Mall for sightseeing. Within walking distance to Georgetown. Free room wireless worked fine on our Ipad. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2sbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Dear 2sbullock,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor. The Jon Stewart rally certainly was a lot of fun. We were pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities our West End location has to offer; proximity to the metro, drug store and grocery store just to name a few. Our Housekeeping team takes great pride in keeping the rooms clean, so thank you for mentioning it.

If you ever find yourself in our Nation's Capitol again whether it be for a rally or not, we certainly hope you decide to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We recently stayed for a weekend while touring the nearby universities with our daughter. Upon check-in, the efficient, professional front desk clerk upgraded us to a 1- bedroom suite, which was extremely roomy, very clean and much appreciated! We were on the 8th floor (room 812), facing the street and found it to be very quiet. We had a great advance-purchase rate, booked on the hotel's own website. The hotel is located in a safe, residential neighborhood, convenient to GWU, Georgetown and the Metro. We were lucky enough to find parking on the street in front of the hotel, and did not use the valet parking. All in all, we were very satisfied with our stay. If you're looking for a huge, fancy hotel with a grand lobby, this is not the place for you. But if you prefer a quiet, private haven with clean, spacious rooms, we highly recommend it! We could not be happier and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Dear Rumurr,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback you posted on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoy our little Inn on you visit to DC! I hope you and your daughter enjoyed the Universities you visited while you were here. I was very pleased to read that our team here saw that you may need a little extra room and gave you a suite.

If your daughter decides to go to school in the area, we certainly hope that you stay with us again and become apart of our family.

Sincerely,

George Washington University Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Despite being near the GWU campus, this hotel was on a quiet street, close to the Kennedy Center and within walking distance of Georgetown and the Mall. Service was good, price was reasonable compared to other Washington hotels. Only negative--we left something behind and got no response when we called housekeeping about it. Still, we'll stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mari0nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Dear Mari0nc,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on tripadvisor. I am so sorry that no one got back to you in regards to you lost items. I pains me that we could not come through on a simple request after you had a pleasant stay. I can assure you that if you decide to stay with us again when you are visiting from Rhode Island, all your needs will be met.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

George Washington University Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

When planning our trip to DC this hotel came back as one of the most reasonably priced (still over $200 / night) and had a good location. We were not disappointed. The hotel is adjacent to the GWU campus so it has a great atmosphere in the area. There is a hospital up the street so there was some concern regarding noise but we never heard a thing. The location is great if you are sightseeing in DC. There is a metro stop a little over a block away but if the weather is nice, the monument areas are less than a 30 minute walk. The area seems very safe and we actually walked to dinner each night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Dear KatzFamily,

Thank you so much for posting a positive review on Trip Advisor. It makes us very happy when our guests let us knpw how they enjoyed their stay. We are very proud of our hotel and the staff as well. The location as you mentioned is wonderful, because you can be apart of the city touring by day and feel at home in our West End neighborhood at night.

Thank you again and if you ever come back to the Washington DC area, please stay with us again, we will welcome you with open arms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Had a very nice stay in the hotel until I accidentally flipped through the TV channels in the evening. The porn channels are not blocked so it is easy to accidentally run across them. Hotel caters to new GWU students and graduates, so hard to believe this is what the hotel intends. Raised the issue with the management by email, but didn't even get a reply.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Dear ChasNyc,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on Tripadvisor. First let me apologize for the lack of response via email. I am not sure where the emai went. As far as the adult content after dark, I had our pay-per-view movie company come out to the property and test all the boxes in the rooms. It appears that it may have been the premium cable channels that our apart of our cable package that may have been showing these types of movies. I am so sorry that you had to experience this and it is certainly not the intention of the hotel to offend any of our guests.

Again please accept our sincere apologies and thank you for bring this to our attentions so that we can take preventative steps for it to happen again.

Sincerely,

George Washington University Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Good things:
1- Huge, and I mean HUGE room. Lots of space, a separate place for refrigerator and freezer (not mini bar) and microwave. Also coffee machine and safe. Lots of TV channels. Water pressure from shower was great.
2- Location: it is located in a college area, but not close to the noise from the college guys. Very nice neighborhood around. Walking distance to museum area and all around it and to Georgetown too.
3- PC to use internet for free (you don’t see this much any more in the US)
4- There is a supermarket close by where you can buy the basics
Bad things
1- Even though the rooms are huge, the walls seemed to be super thin. I cannot believe I heard everything the guys in the room next to me were doing. At night I had the luck to count on a neighbor who talked (or screamed) on the phone very late in an Asian language. She would not shut up; even though I asked her to (I am pretty sure she heard me). Hotel should cut a little bit of space in the rooms and build actual walls among rooms.
2- They charge you more than a dollar for every 1-800 (therefore free) phone call that you make. To me, that’s outrageous for any hotel in any place in the world.
3- I called the day before my check out to the reception since I asked for a little more time to leave the room. They told me there would be no problem to take an extra hour, so I planned accordingly. I called the other day in the morning, just to reconfirm, and the girl (who was not particularly polite) said she was not working the previous day and she was not the one who told me that I could stay, and I would have to leave at 12PM since they were fully booked. I didn’t mind it a lot, but I would have appreciated if they had been consistent in their speech.
4- Despite of this latter, for all of the good things, I recommend this hotel and would stay again (with a sleeping machine at high volume)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Dear Katris,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed the size of your room and the location. I am sad to read that noise was an issue for you. Unfortunately, with older buildings such as this one sound proofing is sometimes and issue. But more importantly, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconsistance at the front desk. We should passed on your request for a late check out to the next shift.

Because of your survey, we have retrained the front desk and they are now logging all requests such as a late checks and emailing them to their fellow team members and all managers in the hotel. So that everyone is informed.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, it shows that you care enough to pass on this information so we can learn from our mistakes and make our service better.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
1,765 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,537 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
1,276 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#43 of 142 in Washington DC
294 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £128 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Splitty, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing