We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel- Great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel- Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great night for a getaway. The hotel was pretty, got an 11th floor room, great view of the atrium. Service was great amazing. The room itself was really nice. The concierge was amazing. I would def. go again. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Greetings Crystal R,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear of the amazing customer service you received during your time with us at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We will be sure to recognize our great staff for their tremendous efforts to make your visit terrific. I am also so happy to hear your room and view were a great addition to your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Safe travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    1,487
    620
    271
    171
See reviews for
998
754
192
1,866
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I actually came to this hotel the first time I was in DC, I must say that it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is absolutely stunning, a couple restaurants, cafes, shops and the metro is underneath, the upmost convenience. The staff was so very helpful and welcoming, the room thoroughly clean, spacious and comfortable. And the location of the hotel couldn't have been better. This trip was truly one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yegor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Greetings Yegor V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We are so thrilled our location was the best choice for your first stay in Washington D.C. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we will be sure to recognize our staff for the wonderful service they provided and hope you will join us again on your next visit! Your referral is our biggest compliment, thanks again.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

i stayed in this huge hotel for 5 days early this month for a conference and was particularly impressed by the shallow pool of water over blue tiles occupying the lower lobby. From above looking down from one"s room it looked like a blue lagoon. From the breakfast restaurant it looked like one was on a mini island. It's location could not be better--- it is connected to the Metro Station making it very easy to move around Washington D.C. and its suburbs. The buffet breakfast was substantial and the line for the Egg omelet was always long but the wait was always worth it!

Room Tip: inner rooms with a view of the "blue lagoon "
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie12354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, breakfast, location and convenience of our hotel being connected to the Metro Station. We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 4 days at this place! The lobby is grand and the METRO located in the hotel made a smooth transition from the NATIONAL AIRPORT--we stayed in the Club Level and it didn't disappoint--the food choices were great and the staff friendly. Although I requested an inside room overlooking the lobby we were given a key pass to an outside room--we immediately went to the front desk and they took care of the error--not to mention they let us check in earlier than the norm. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom--the location was within walking distance to everything. Bike rental was within a block of the hotel. The only unpleasant thing is the indoor pool and area--they have ONE lounge chair and a pool that isn't very inviting and could use a makeover! Everything else was wonderful! We look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the grand lobby are wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seashellriver33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Greetings seashellriver33,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on the great location and how convenient the metro is. We are so thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of the Regency Club level and we are so happy that you enjoyed the service and the food options. We will be sure to recognize our staff for the amazing job they do. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Washington D.C.

Warm Regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stay at Hyatt Hotels often and usually find them to be very nice, this one was a disappointment. On the plus side the location is great and the breakfast is quite good. The lobby area is very attractive. On the downside if you get a room on the street it is VERY noisy. We spent our first night on the 9th floor and the street noise was still unbearable. They have a white noise machine by the bed (obviously not a new problem) but it didn't really help. They moved us to a room overlooking the Atrium which was much better. The lighting in the bathroom was very poor and with no makeup mirror it made it difficult (there is also no fan in the bath). The amenities you'd expect were absent, no shower cap no q-tips etc. it's a small thing but when you are traveling it's nice to have these things readily available. There's nothing special about this hotel, the rooms are small and very plain. Overall not up to the Hyatt standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caraleigh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
593 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for one night while on business in Washington, DC. The hotel is conveniently located near the Chinatown section of downtown and close to many attractions. My room was quite comfortable and quiet for sleeping. Like other Hyatt's the rooms are off a balcony that looks down on the atrium lobby. Service was professional as one would expect. Driving in DC is very congested and being able to walk to my meetings was a real advantage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor away from the lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from our convenient location to the service provided by our staff! I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
404 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel conveniently located to many sites in DC. It's a couple blocks from the White House and is easy access to hop on and off tours. The hotel itself is 5 star all the way. the food is great. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c685710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We have a prime location within walking distance from some of the major sights and sounds D.C. has to offer. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing