We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Inside Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid Inside Rooms”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a good Grand Hyatt that I have stayed at a couple times. Lots of elevators make staying on the higher floors painless. You can also get to the Metro without stepping outside.

The layout of this hotel is a big square with a large atrium in the middle. Half of the rooms have an outside view and the other half look into the atrium. If you want to avoid the noise from large groups late at night, I would avoid staying in one of the inside rooms. You can't pick inside vs. outside via the self-check-in kiosks but you can make your request if checking in via the front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wajlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    1,540
    648
    277
    172
See reviews for
1,039
776
197
1,948
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Check made easy with champagne.
Room clean and adequate size.

Bar very busy. Sports bar npt pleasant.

Check out good.

Rates okay.

Quiet.

Several blocks from center so allow 5 minutes to walk.

Staff pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank glmorrisiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

had great four night stay at the Grand Hyatt. Christmas decorations were neat. Hotel staff was extremely courteous and very helpful. check in experience was very efficient. room was large and spacious. wait staff was extremely courteous. other staff went out of their way to be helpful. Great location in downtown DC

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. The hotel is such a magical place during the holidays and I'm so glad you were able to enjoy that. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team.

We would love to welcome you back and hope to see you soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at this place for a couple of days last month, and the experience was awesome. The ambiance of the place is fabulous and I loved the room atmosphere. I would suggest staying here if you can afford it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srijankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our great accommodations. I will forward your feedback to our management team.

We would love to have you back and hope to see you soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The recently renovated Grand Hyatt Washington is truly a marvel in modern hotel architecture and charm. The rates are by far below competitive prices for other hotels in the area. The recently upgraded atrium, hotel rooms, shops and choice of unique restaurants is an exceptional value for the DC area. They offer parking convenience and all the top pampering essentials any guest can ask for and expect from a Hyatt. The hotel is conveniently located to all the major DC attractions, monuments and transportation connectors. There are plenty of nearby shops and you're only a short hop from the famous Georgetown section and their high end shopping district. Definitely a get away weekend for those that can extend their vacay in the area.

Room Tip: Be selective and request a room with a view of the atrium or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hotels great location to area attractions, shops and restaurants. I'm so happy you loved the look of the hotel and our recent renovations we did. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team.

We hope you can come back and visit and hope to see you soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

i stayed in higher floor and the hotel looks very good plus the location is excellent, no doubt. the breakfast is hyatt style with good lady cooking nice egg. Try the bloody mary and smoothy. unfortunately during the holiday season the regency club is closed :-). to my surprise i was charged for breakfast but i got it waved when checking out. some of the items are not available unless you call house keeping and they will delivery it to you. Why water cost $2 while other hyatt around the world is free :-|.

Room Tip: rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khalid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

More than perfectly located in the center of Washington, close to all museums and other attractions. Check-in was fast and friendly. Reception area however too noisy, too much people hanging around the reception area. Room was ok, however quite small for a Club room we had booked. The Club Lounge was ok, not more than that. Good snacks, however as well here too noisy. Only very bad thing were the carpets, in the corridors and in the room. They are dirty and should be changed soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. I am so sorry about the the lobby being noisy, the room being a little small and the carpets being dirty. I am glad to see that besides these concerns, you were able to enjoy the location of your hotel. I will be sure to share your concerns with management. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#98 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing