We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went for a family week trip to D.C. after Christmas. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and was in a great location for tourists. The hotel is more suited for business travelers for sure but our family was happy in two connecting rooms. One negative for kids- no real pool facilities- the pool was TINY and there was no hot tub- also the sauna was being repaired.
We were VERY impressed with the breakfast buffet- YUM! Every morning was a treat with great choices (including healthy ones) and wonderful staff. Tranh was our waitress who stood out- SO friendly and even sent up a cupcake to our room for my 9 year old who was having a birthday while we were there. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great trip to D.C.!

Room Tip: I liked the rooms looking outside- half of the rooms look into the hotel's courtyard which isn...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krhoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,833)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,172 - 3,178 of 4,838 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed here a few times for business (once very recently). The biggest problem is that the Internet access is horrendous. I cannot stay here anymore because it is impossible to load many pages based on the slow speed. But, if you don't need the Internet, then it is centrally located, and often cheap. The lobby is nice, and the restaurants and Starbucks convenient.

Request a room facing outside--the inside courtyard facing rooms are a bit dreary and light deprived. But if you are traveling for business and require reliable Internet, avoid it.

Room Tip: Get an outward facing room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Greetings Raymond L,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington! I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties you had during this time with our internet services. I have forwarded this information to our executive management to follow up with and solve this issue. We hope this does not deter you from staying with our brand again. Again we appreciate your feedback and we hope you have a great day!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Visited this hotel 10 months ago for business and already decided because of the great service that I would visit again with my wife and 2 kids 7 and 9 years old.
Already when we arrived I felt the same great level of service and the staff made the 4 nights a very memorable holiday including a great dinner at the Tavern Duck restaurant during New Year's Eve. The hotel has great kids menu's and the staff is extremely friendly.

We will come back

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Reeijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Reeijm,

I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay over New Year's Eve. Thank you for your review. I hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Thank you for choosing Hyatt.

Best Regards,
-Paul R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay here. This time with the kids.the rooms are clean and spacious. It is centrally located, so it is great for walking to the attractions. The indoor access to the metro great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. As usual the food in the hotel and surrounding area is a little pricey but the is to be expected for this area. I will stay here again when I return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Smokeybare06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for posting this positive review of the Grand Hyatt Washington. I am glad to hear you had a nice clean room and were able to see the attractions by either walking or using the metro. I hope to have you at our hotel again soon.

John S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The highlights were the hotel itself, which is beautiful. It has a great shallow lagoon in the middle of the lobby, which gives it a very elegant and high class feel. Then, the location couldn't be better: 4 blocks from the White House, virtually next door to Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, less than 10 minute walk form the National Mall, the metro station is right below the hotel. The international staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. They made you feel welcomed and everyone acted as if they love their job. I suffer from bad environmental allergies and there were no detectable scents or fragrances in our room, even though I had not requested a hypoallergenic room. They do have hypoallergenic rooms available but I didn't know that, so we just stayed at a regular room and it was great. They have a really big gym that is very well equipped, as well as a sauna and steam room. If you drive, you literally can self-park your car and either walk or take the metro everywhere. You don't need valet parking unless you are planning to be in and out of the hotel during the day.

I am not giving it a 5 star rating for the following reasons: the pool was very small. The pictures are deceiving and it surprised us that a hotel with such a huge gym would have such a tiny pool which was always crowded with little kids. My daughter is a swimmer and we had booked this hotel, in part based on the apparent size of the pool, so that she could continue with her training. That didn't happen, obviously. Also, the steam room was not working during out stay. Breakfast at the Zahir cafe was mediocre, so we only ate there the first morning. Parking is very expensive $34/day, but their rates are comparable to other DC hotels in the area - we checked. Wifi is also not complimentary but since we had an indoor room facing the lobby, we were able to pick up Wifi for free from the hotel lobby network. Finally, we felt a bit unsettled regarding safety because the hotel has multiple unsecured and unattended entrances, such as the entrance from the metro to the hotel is widely open to the public and anyone can walk in. Maybe the hotel could post doormen on the back and side entrances to the hotel so that random people can't just walk from the metro into the hotel. I saw a homeless man walking around in the lobby.

It sounds like we had a lot of negative things to say, but the positive things were so pleasant that it is a hotel where we would stay again and recommend to others. Good job, Grand Hyatt Washington DC!

Room Tip: Higher floors and indoor rooms as best. You avoid the lobby noise if you are higher and avoid street...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allergyfree2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week during some days of snow. On arrival we were surprised to find, that a hotel such as this was not able to have its flagship restaurant heated. It improved over the week (we checked, but didn't eat there again). Otherwise the hotel had all the comforts and amenities of a big hotel. It's location is great for both business and leisure and we have no other complaints

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Traveled to DC with family just after Christmas. Hotel is centrally located with inside access to Metro. Very friendly and helpful staff. Upgrade to concierge well worth it. Only complaint would be daily parking fee, but that may be due to lack of big city experience. Will return

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likestogo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I'm so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our convenient locations. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our wonderful staff. We would love to have you back and hope to see you soon.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £103 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing