We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The grand Hyatt was fantastic! Easy check-in with really nice staff. Amazing lobby! Our room was exactly what we requested, comfortable bed, clean. I liked the area of the hotel because it was so close to so many restaurants. So far as being close to the mall, it's a bit of a hike. We went in February, two days after the big blizzard. We lucked out by enjoying 55 degree weather so the 20 15-20 minute walk wasn't bad. Think we would probably get a cab next time if the the weather was not favorable. Loved GrandSlam on the ground floor, although beer was extremely pricey. If you're looking for a great local pub, laughing man tavern a few blocks away had good food and reasonable prices. Overall, can't wait to go back!! :)

Room Tip: Pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello rajDelaware,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear about your overall stay being a great experience. We will be sure to thank and recognize our hotel management and team members for the amazing service they provide. Thank you again for all your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt Washington on your next stay in D.C.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,367 - 3,373 of 5,075 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is one of the best Hotels, I have stayed so far. It is simply so grand, beautiful, awesome, elegant and classy. The extraordinary interior at the entrance itself speaks for the hotel. Every corner of the Hotel is very well designed. I loved the restaurant at the basement, which is surrounded by water and there is a pianist who played very beautiful music.Our room was large, spacious, very clean and well equipped with basic amenities. Another best part of this Hotel is its location. It is located quite in the heart of DC. Major attractions like Madam Tussaud's Wax Museum, Spy Museum are easily accessible by walking. The staff is also quite friendly and helpful. Overall this Hotel is completely value for money..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello Rajvi M!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hyatt Washington. Thank you for all your kind comments about our location and its amazing decor. We often hear enthusiastic feedback on our amazing location how convenient it is in D.C. We hope to welcome you back on the next trip to the D.C. area.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

If you are in DC to do business on Capitol Hill then this is the place to stay. Everything is within walking distance.
It's very comfortable with the rooms set up to accomplish your business.
The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is they still charge for internet access which very few high end hotels do anymore and their restaurant is just ok and very pricey.
Rooms are very clean and in excellent repair. Staff is very friendly and very helpful.
I will stay here again when in town.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Brusta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed a night at the Grand Hyatt for business. The place is large with rooms that face into the atrium or out onto the City. The room was reasonably sized, clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was spotless. All great things. That said, felt a little soulless. Had a friend who was staying a couple of metro stops away at a Hilton Garden Inn - the rooms there had more character.

The exercise facility and pool are nice. The exercise room was packed at 5:45 AM. Jumped on an elliptical - all set for no more than 30 minutes. Service at the front desk and the exercise facility was great.

One of the major advantages is that if you have business on the Hill - it's all very close. There is a metro stop off the red line that stops underneath the hotel. Very convenient when going to DCA.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dough_47N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent one night here in two adjoining rooms. At first we were quite put off by the fact that the rooms looked into the enclosed inner-courtyard/atrium, but once we got used to the idea of not being able to see outside, it was all very pleasant. The rooms are very clean, and though the low ceilings and low lighting give them a 70s vibe they are elegantly-furnished and comfortable. The bathrooms were great. Service was fantastic. Had an issue with the bathroom (seems to happen to us quite often -- so we have point of reference as to how responsive hotel plumbers are!) which was resolved immediately with much apology. Front desk folks were also outstanding. We left very early in the morning and everyone from front desk to bell hops bent over backwards to assure we had a smooth departure. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Internal rooms aren't as bad as one would think. Didn't see an outward-facing room, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babettetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great customer service! The front desk, bell, door men, servers, club lounge staff are very polite and professional. The one and only female bartender at the Cure bar was super awesome and bartenders at the sports bar were excellent. All dishes were great. I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
The only issue was the cleanness of my room. I saw a blonde hair in the bathtub and short black hair in the back of the toilet seat when I checked in. Even I left $5-$10 for the housekeepers, they could not clean the room nicely and even didn't get a shampoo. I left a memo to the housekeeper to get extra amenities; however, my request was neglected. One afternoon, at 3:12pm, I requested my room to be cleaned. However, the room was not cleaned. I postponed my check out more than once. So I understood the housekeeper expected me to check out the room on those days. However, I placed the "do-not-disturb" sign on those days, am a Diamond member, and would be allowed to stay in the room 4pm. The same housekeeping lady still knocked the door. After I informed to the front desk, then, the department brought its fitness center guy to bang (not knock) the door. He was very loud and argumentative. He flashed the scheduled sheet and refused to leave me alone even after I told him to talk to the front desk. I was sick at that time. A better protocol is to have someone call a guest, whenever he/she places the sign. I was lucky to be in the room. Otherwise, this fitness center guy and the housekeeper might have discarded my personal belongings. I have never known any other hotels where the housekeeping department allows a fitness center person to help the housekeeping duties. His attitude didn't seem to meet the hotel's customer service guidelines. Again, I don't hesitate anyone to recommended this hotel, but be aware of the cleanness of the room. There were many tourists during my stay and my privacy sign disappeared three times. Twice took place within 6 hours.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whisper808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so sorry to hear about the experience you had with the housekeeping. You can be assured that I will certainly forward this to our management team so that this can be addressed. I am happy to hear about the great service you received from our other associates. All you feedback will be forwarded to our management team.

We thank you for your loyalty as a Diamond member and hope to see you again soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt on Business and the hotel is nice, not sure I would say it is grand, but it is nice. Great staff at the front desk and in the bar area, the only two areas I visited in the hotel. My two big issues with the hotel is the noise. If you plan on getting any sleep at all get an interior that faces the atrium. If you face the street you might as well sleep on the street, you can hear everything. My other comment is the pillows, they are very very small. So between pillows and noise, I got very little sleep.

Room Tip: As for rooms facing the inside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanoMark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £113 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing