We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Metro Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient for Metro Stop”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had room with 2 beds and it was very clean, good size and comfortable. Bathroom was big and there is a coffee maker and mini refrigerator in a little bar area of the room. The street noise was not too noticeable so they must have sound proof windows. From hotel you can easily walk to Chinatown, the Mall and the Portrait Gallery. Best part of the location is the convenient metro stop (Metro Center) which is attached to the hotel. You can choose any line you want since it's a transfer stop, and the way down to the metro is very clean and felt safe. If you don't want to order room service or eat at the nice restaurant attached to the lobby, your main breakfast option is Starbucks right off the lobby. There is a sundry shop in the lobby as well.
We checked in on a computer kiosk and checked out on line, which seems convenient, but it was kind of impersonal to not talk to a single staff person at the hotel at all, except to hail a taxi to the airport. Would stay here again for central location & access to metro.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, DC. It is always a pleasure to hear that the hard work and commitment of our staff was instrumental in that success and you enjoyed very much our big and clean rooms with all our complaimentary amenities offered to our guest. Your appreciation was forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate












































UpdateReopen CaseSave




Related Links



Show workflow










Case Action Instances (1)

Cases By Same Contact (805)

Contact Actions History (657)























Case Action Instances
NewGo tofor textNumberCreatedActionAction Action TypeAction Instance CostStateWork notes
to 1 of 1






Parent Case = CAS0319811





















Number

Created

Action

Action Type

Action Instance Cost

State

Work notes






CAI0371952

04/12/2014 11:06:14

Hotel Management

Sent Case to


$0.00

Closed Complete








































Total

$0.00























Actions on selected rows... Delete Follow on Live Feed Move to Application... Assign Label: New...

to 1 of 1































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, DC. It is always a pleasure to hear that the hard work and commitment of our staff was instrumental in that success and you enjoyed very much our big and clean rooms with all our complimentary amenities offered to our guest. Your appreciation was forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    1,563
    669
    286
    175
See reviews for
1,073
783
201
1,996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Others have pointed out the relatively high cost of this hotel. Though true, this is DC. Most hotels are too expensive. For the same rate I paid at the Grand Hyatt I could have stayed several different chain hotels of the Marriott or Hilton flavor. In fact, I have stayed at many of these hotels in DC in the past. In my opinion, the Grand Hyatt is clearly a step above these other chains.

Why?

Location is excellent. Can walk or easy metro anywhere.

Two, the overall hotel experience and furnishing are above other chain hotels. This is advertised as a Grand Hyatt, and it fits that bill.

Three, the staff was really helpful with everything I threw at them.

Yes, the rate is more than I wanted to pay. However, I will take this chain hotel over most other DC chain hotels any time, if the cost is the same or similar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It was a pleasure to learn that you stayed with us in DC at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We are grateful to hear that this decision was made based on the hotel excellent location, the overall experience and furnishing which is rated above any other chain hotels in the DC area, and finally the really helpful staff and their excellent service provided during the stay. Thank you for sharing your appreciation with us and your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel. Hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itauna, MG
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt is an expensive hotel. You would think you would get what you paid for. I stayed there in room 1187. It was very noise; the AC, people talking, the elevator. It was a miserable night. I asked at the front desk if I could move to a different room. They said the hotel was full and offered earplugs. The shower was only ok. The only positive aspect is the location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, DC. I am so sorry to hear that you had hard time to sleep due noisy A/C, neighboring room very loud and disruptive and your room was close to elevator. Please be assured that I will be in contact with our hotel's executive management team in an effort to address your concerns you mentioned in your online review and to ensure that future guests do not experience the challenges that you have described. Please feel free to contact us via e-mail at social.media@hyatt.com or by contacting our Hyatt Guest Relations department by phone at 1-800-323-7249 or by e-mail at caemail@hyatt.com if you wish to discuss further your concerns.

I really hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide the excellent service that is indicative of Hyatt.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel has a great location. I could walk for a couple of meetings in DC and also take the time to walk on the Mall after meetings. The hotel is very good overall, but the room had a noisy AC unit and there was also noise coming from the street (I chose a room facing the street, which in retrospect - was not the best choice. Otherwise, a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the atrium to avoid the noise form the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doliveir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel was simply average. The kind of hotel you would expect of a "conference" type of hotel. Rooms are nothing special - very utilitarian - nothing fancy. A bed, a TV, a sink, a shower. Carpet could definitely use an update. The most annoying part of my stay was the lack of a gym inside the hotel. They have an agreement with a privately owned gym that is outside of the hotel (you walk through the parking garage to get there). There is no cost if you're staying at the hotel, but even with that, the gym is small and average at best. Additionally, very bad hours. I think the gym opened at 7 or 8am on a Saturday. Not very convienient if you're staying for a conference.

Best part of the hotel is the location - within walking distance of many of the local DC tourist attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I spent 2 night at this hotel on the club floor recently. The hotel rooms even on the club floor are very small, which is an issue for me. I like the club floor and breakfast in the club room was excellent, the club itself is also a little small and is supposed to have a dedicated concierge, but we did not see the concierge at all. I have stayed on other Hyatt Club Floors and the clubs were much larger and they had a dedicated concierge in the room. The Club Room could use an upgrade especially for the extra money they charge for it.

On the other hand the staff was really good. Emanuel, who checked in was great and the check out was also fantastic. Just wish the rooms were larger and the Club Floor a little better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights to attend a conference and was very happy with my stay. The staff I encountered were consistently pleasant and helpful and addressed my questions and needs, in some instances going above and beyond what one would typically expect.

My room was very nice...large, well-appointed, functional and comfortable. The bed and bed linens were of a good quality and comfortable...the pillows were just average, but that is a comment I have about virtually every hotel. The bathroom was good-sized with a spacious tub/shower combination (which I enjoy), ample storage space and decent lighting (although the shower light was burned out and never replaced during my stay). Two small suggestions regarding the room amenities... First, the soap dish near the bathroom sink was a mess...completely dinged up, paint/stain missing from large sections, glue/adhesive long gone so that the soap dish came apart in pieces if picked up. I realize this sounds like a strange complaint but it was in such bad shape that I wouldn't even expect to find it in a roadside Motel 8. Secondly, the coffeemaker and supplies were of quite low-quality, especially for a hotel that is otherwise very nice. I have stayed in far lesser hotels that offer a decent coffeemaker with better quality supplies, including small creamers that don't need refrigeration (as opposed to that awful powdered "creamer" stuff).

The conference rooms and related amenities, snack and beverage service, etc. were very good and the food quality and service for the conference luncheons were excellent (not always an easy thing to pull off).

I had dinner from room service one evening and it was good, although rather expensive (not so much for the food as for the service charges) even for room service.

The hotel is conveniently located. I walked to and from Georgetown one day...about 2.5 miles each way which isn't a big deal for me. I also easily walked to the World War II Memorial one evening and to the Smithsonian museums. Even walking in the evenings as a woman alone, I never felt particularly anxious or uncomfortable (although, naturally, you always have to take the obvious precautions). There are a lot of really great, unique, independent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel so there are lots of wonderful dining options nearby.

I would happily return to this hotel in the future, for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the outside (vs. the atrium) get more natural light; however, they also get a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,924 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing