We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a good stay at a Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
389 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Finally a good stay at a Hyatt”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Friendly staff, good rooms - clean, spacious and well decorated. Breakfast excellent and staff so friendly. Good space in lobby area and super location.
I didn't use the hotel internet but it looked like you have to pay extra for it (unless perhaps you have a room deal with internet). I do not understand why hotels do not offer free internet....very lame.
The laundry service on one hand really impressed - this is the only hotel I have been in recent times, where I called at 5pm to get 3 shirts pressed and they were back the same eve. Super helpful and friendly...downside, the can't press shirt collars properly!
The gym is okay, though they have the heating on at 78f and the pool is not really a pool...more a pond.
Good stay. Would return, though will also review alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,888
    1,566
    672
    286
    177
See reviews for
1,074
787
202
2,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is styled like an Embassy Suites with an open atrium. Atrium does not seem to be noisy or rooms are better insolated than some Embassy Suite facilities. Elevators were quirky. Some folks just gave up and walked up or down floors. Internet was horrid. Couldn't connect. They charge too. Wasn't able to get an hour extra for late checkout. Room was fine otherwise. Clean, typical amenities. Hotel room was pricey---but it is DC afterall. Nice pub/brewery across street. Didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Pros:

- Location is very good, an easy walk to the national mall, restaurants, and shopping.

- Room is very clean.


Cons:

- Long lines in the reception, morning buffet (had to wait 5 minutes until they let us in), and elevators. We chose a high floor for quiet and it was mostly quiet (some street noise was heard). However every time when we had to use the elevator, especially on rush hours, it stopped in many floors. On the lobby elevator there were times when you had to wait a couple of minutes to let other people in.

- We reserved two nights but when we came they told us we would need to switch a room the next day. Also we notified them two month up front on a late arrival and when we came they did not have this note attached to our reservation so I guess we're lucky we got the room at all.

Overall this is not a bad hotel. I wouldn't mind staying again if I'm in a conference or business but if I will have a choice I will try another place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron_Naveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
707 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is large, but the folks are friendly. The check in was smooth. Elevators (6 of them!) were painstakingly slow. Room was a long walk from the elevator. Once inside, facing the center open atrium, very quiet. Room average size, large TV screen, comfy bed. Very stark, but not objectionable. comfortable chair at desk, with convenient plugs for web stuff. Internet connectivity was so slow, you felt that each word was being processed separately. Web connection dropped off continuously. Good grief, for a business hotel, this is like having no oxygen,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The good: absolutely outstanding location, Metro access direct into the hotel, easy to walk everywhere, beautiful decor in the room, nice amenities in the room, quiet (7th floor), clean and comfortable. So why 2 stars? Because, although I booked almost 2 months in advance, confirmed with a credit card for late arrival, and used the Hyatt website (we are Passport members as well), after a full day of travel to get here after 2 flights and a metro ride, climbing the 3 escalators with heavy luggage (Hyatt didn't seem to realize that their escalators were broken? All 3?), we have an oddly similar experience to many others... "So sorry, we are overbooked, no room available". Excuse me? Isn't that what a reservation is? After informing the trainee at the desk this was unacceptable, a night manager comes out to insincerely apologize. They then inform us that the nearest hotel is 25 miles away in Virginia by cab! Having no option, we pack into a cab, arrive at this poor Sheraton, overwhelmed by travelers at midnight, and wait an HOUR AND A HALF to check in. We do not get into bed until almost 2 am. Not a great start to a family trip. After returning to the Hyatt the next morning, we receive our room, and a tepid offer of free wifi (really?). Finally, a manager appears, apologizes and offers club access, and a nightly discount. Not perfect, but better.
The hotel itself (once we got in) was fine and well maintained. But I thought this was an isolated incident until I read other reviews on here. Was it worth it for this hotel to upset many guests to make sure they were booked? I doubt it. Our first experience with the management of this property was "not impressed". Hyatt, this is a great property, but obviously not being managed properly.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldcogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

the Main Metro station to go anywhere is located off of the lobby--don't even have to go outside. To have to best experience here try to get a room on the higher floors, not facing the atrium or bring ear plugs. The echo from the atrium can be loud until after 11pm--not loud during the night--but if you go to sleep earlier or have young children location makes a difference. We enjoyed restaurants nearby--District Taco was cheap and awesome; Pret a Manger had fresh food fast and inexpensive; Matchbox was the best meal we ate worth the price about 20-30/pp and they have call ahead seating--all were an easy walk from the Hyatt. I would avoid the Capital City Brewing Co. across the street; because it was greasy, overpriced, and always had a long wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkietalkiejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cttraveler9
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just came back from a 5 night stay at the Grand Hyatt for spring break. The location was perfect - walking distance to the mall and access to the metro line right through the hotel. Couldn't have been better for sightseeing! The hotel was lovely and the staff was very friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean, although a bit small.

We used the valet parking which was very convenient, although pricey at $45 per night. Also, the dining options in the hotel were expensive and the food was only ok. A couple of days we came back to the hotel and wanted to grab a late lunch (around 2:30pm) and the only thing open in the hotel was Starbucks, so that was a bit disappointing. So, I would recommend finding other dining options nearby in Penn Quarter/Chinatown, or venturing future out by metro. But overall we had a very nice stay and would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cttraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
957 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing