We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in the hotel were very accommodating and professional . My room was a refurbished room on the top floor and was of a very good standard. The room has a useful kitchen / dining area and a very good size lounge with modern but comfortable theme. Good location at a reasonable cost. I'd be happy to return at a later date be it for business or pleasure

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    1,563
    669
    286
    175
See reviews for
1,073
783
201
1,996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place is awesome. The hotel is amazing on the inside. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are great. Overall this place is worth the price. The Hyatt Level is even better. Free food and drinks throughout the day

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Eric D,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Grand Club amenities as well as the room accommodations during your past stay. Thank you for your review and for choosing Hyatt.

Regards,
Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really nice hotel in heart of downtown, close to restaurants, tourist attractions and offices. Building design is nice, with sunken restaurant and fountains. Concierge super helpful. Overall excellent visit to DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amolo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Amolo N,

Thanks for the review, I am glad you enjoyed your past stay in DC. I am very pleased to hear the attentiveness of the concierge and the location of our property made your stay excellent. Thank you for choosing Hyatt.

Best wishes,
Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Rooms are large for DC and the staff at the Grand Hyatt are both accomodating and knowledgable. But the best part is its location--this hotel is connected directly to the Metro Center stop on the Metro. You don't ever have to be in the elements from your Metro train to the hotel or vice-versa. In the rain or the show this is a HUGE plus!! Easy walking distance to all major DC tourist attractions and museums, and the Hill and the Congressional office buildings an easy Metro journey to Capitol South station. Fantastic location! BONUS: four short blocks to the right of the front entrance, at the Chinatown arch, are two awesome things: one, the best 24-hour, fully-stocked Walgreens on the planet, and two, the best Irish bar in DC (Fado). Great combination of business and pleasure at the Grand Hyatt.

Room Tip: Take Metro to the Metro Center stop, and make SURE you look for the 11th St. Exit, and after you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Greetings Bill O,

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the Metro, it makes traveling around the city so easy. The larger rooms are also a nice bonus of the hotel. I hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,

Cassie B
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I really enjoy staying at this hotel, It's clean, the staff are friendly, the rooms are esthetically pleasing and large. It is also in the perfect location for visiting DC close to China town, Pennsylvania ave, the Smithsonian and the Metro red line. The only complaint is that the conference rooms are too cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide it. I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property, and found our staff to be friendly. It is fantastic that you also found your room to be a good fit during your time with us, as well as aesthetically pleasing. I am happy that you found our location to be convenient for sightseeing; and that you had the opportunity to discover some of the D.C area. I very much hope we are able to welcome you back again on your next visit to the area; thank you for being our guest.

Best Regards,

Allie H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. This hotel is walking distance from the Whitehouse, major attractions and Chinatown. When we got to DC it was very hot so we took cab rides and they were $8 to most attractions. We didnt want to deal with parking downtown. the hotel offers no free parking but across the street is a parking garage where you can park and save half their self parking rate.

The hotel restaurants are good. food is good quality. the price tag is not cheap. The gym is quite big and the pool is indoor. the pool is small and gets congested during peak hours. the Rooms are large and quiet. there is plenty of elevators and they are quick `

After breakfast they give you free cold water to tak with you for the tours. I though that was considerate fo them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and huge, with tons of restaurants. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, and was cleaned pretty well. It's very close to the Mall and in walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Only complaints--there were eyelashes or hair or something stuck in our sheets the first night. Also, wifi in the rooms is not free. If you are paying that much for a hotel, it would be nice to at least get that basic amenity.

Room Tip: You can choose to have an atrium room or window room, so think about that before you book or check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,925 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
165 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing