We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings on this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #73 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings on this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are some definite pros and cons to this hotel. Overall, this is a nice property. The atrium area is quite impressive and the staff was very courteous. With that said, the rooms are small and the atrium makes for a loud building. Less luxurious and more comfortable. I'd stay here again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Good Morning GG1072,

Happy to hear you found our location, Hyatt Regency Washington, a very nice hotel with great customer service. I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the room and the loudness from atrium lobby. I have forwarded your comments to manangement for review. Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your past stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,742
    1,481
    618
    269
    170
See reviews for
995
752
188
1,851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were extremely pleased with our recent stay at the Grand Hyatt, Metro Center, Washington, DC. This was our second time staying at this hotel. Accommodations were excellent. Restaurants were wonderful. The hotel is easily accessible to the Metro Center Station (in fact, one doesn't even have to go outside) and many attractions in the downtown Washington area. It is a short walk to the White House, the Washington Monument, Smithsonian and the Mall. There are many excellent restaurants in the area. It is a great place to stay and the rates are comparable (in fact better) than other area hotels!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank senorfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's convenient location to all DC has to offer. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The problems with the hotel started when we first drove up to the valet stand. It was around 6:00 P.M, and there was no bellman in sight. My family of 5 struggled to quickly unload the vehicle and then dragged our luggage to check in. The trainee who checked us in had a few lapses, which were forgivable, but somewhat annoying. Our rooms were connected as requested, but not feather free which I had also requested. Later that night around 9:00 P.M., things started to get loud in the hallway. We went to bed hoping it would calm down, but it never did. I was constantly being woken up by loud conversations and slamming doors. At 2:30 A.M., people were yelling outside our door. I called the desk at 3:00 A.M., because it happened again, the desk said they would send security up again, because someone had already complained. The last time I heard anything was at 3:30 A.M. In the end, the only other problem occurred at the Grand Slam restaurant, where my wife's hamburger order was forgotten, and then when it did come out, was bloody. Overall the staff was nice and accommodating, but there were too many issues. I don't think I would recommend the hotel or stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good Evening Donald T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent visit to the Grand Hyatt Washington D.C. I am so sorry to hear that this stay did not meet expectations from start to finish. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak about this matter further. Again, my sincerest apologies for the many inconveniences and we hope to hear from you.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Right in the heart of it all! Within walking distance from the area attractions. A really NICE place to stay in D.C! I was there for business and they provided great rooms for our meetings. The food served was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Hello there Amy L,

I appreciate your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and want to thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experiences with us. We are extremely thrilled your past stay at Grand Hyatt Washington was terrific and you look forward to traveling with us in the future.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, overall, but it still did not much the price tag that came along with it. Our room (double beds) had a reasonable view, and the beds were extremely comfortable. However, the bathroom door didn't lock, and the bath drain blocker did not work, so whenever I would take a bath, the water would be gone in 10 minutes. Definitely not a way to relax after a long day. Most of the staff was friendly, with the exception of the rude bell staff and the Starbucks baristas (not sure if this is Hyatt's fault, or Starbucks....). It was nice, but way to expensive for what it actually was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Greetings Winkie J,

I am very sorry to hear about your dissatification with your past stay at Grand Hyatt Washington. We are happy to hear it was overall an okay stay but definitely understand your frustration when not receiving expected quality of a hotel with a large price tag. I have forwarded your comments to management to follow up and ensure that the Hyatt quality is still intact at this location. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed over spring break, sorry for the late review. My family with one child stayed for one week and we had a wonderful stay. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, from the waiters at the restaurants to the gift shops and the staff at the fitness area. The breakfast in the lobby had a great variety of food to satisfy everyone and being on top of a metro station is very convenient to get around. It also was easy walking distance to the mall. This was a nice hotel but the staff is really what made our stay a fun vist to DC.

Room Tip: We had a street view room and it was quiet, the noise from the street could not be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McDonald_Family_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associates at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back from your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm very happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you will come back and see us again soon!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautiful oasis in downtown Washington D.C. with spacious, comfortable rooms. Luxurious location for holding or attending a conference! All of the staff was attentive, helpful, and seemed to enjoy working there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington! I'm pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us. Please do come back and see us again very soon!

Thanks!

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing