We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand lobby!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Grand lobby!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

* Price: reasonable, $150 per night on average. 4 star.
* Accommodation: beautiful lobby with glass ceilings, Starbucks, restaurants and shops in the lobby, indoor pool, gym. Free wifi if you are enrolled in Hyatt loyalty program. 4 star.
* Location: convenient entrance to the metro, closed to smithsonian museums, Wax museum, convention center, 4+ star.
* Motif / room: good size, modern, comfy bed. Refrigerator in room, big flat screen TV, shampoo/soap/ toothpastes. 4 star.
* Service: front desh/bell services/doormen are all pleasant and polite. 4 star.

Stayed here for a conference at the Walter E. Washington convention center. The lobby is beautiful with water features surrounding the restaurant in the lobby. The glass ceiling is beautiful, allowing light into the hotel, changing color through out the day.

The rooms are recently remodeled with modern, clean line decor. The bed is quite comfy. It was very hot and humid during our stay; so the room has a misty smell!
Otherwise, it is quite clean. We did not get chance to check out the gym and pool due to our tight schedule.

The hotel is conveniently connected to the metro station. It is also very closed to museums (within walking distance), restaurants, shoppings and chinatown.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. Definitely would stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kukulimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Greetings kukulimoku,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback from a past conference stay at our Grand Hyatt Washington. Thrilled you had a great time and felt our price and accommodations were a perfect fit for your travels. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on our location and how convenient we are to so many attractions and the metro. Our team members at this location look forward to welcoming you back!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    1,484
    618
    269
    170
See reviews for
995
752
190
1,858
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good location, but there are to a of other options in the area. My shower curtain liner was moldy (ver moldy- gross!), the previous guest's leftovers were in the mini fridge, shower didn't drain well, one day they didn't replace the shower matt, etc. Frankly, for a Hyatt I expect a bit more- at least in the cleanliness department. If the price is right, stay here but manage your expectations; don't pay rack rates though. The hotel is enormous- if you do stay I'd request a room on a high floor, away from the elevators and overlooking the street, not the atrium.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Good Morning SaltyHoney,

I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Grand Hyatt Washington this year. I am very sorry to hear about the lack of housekeeping encountered in your guest room. I definitely understand your frustration with the cleanliness and I have forwarded your comments to our management to follow up with our staff. If you would like to speak about this matter further, please contact our Guest Relations department. We look forward to hearing from your and welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family was extremely pleased with the Grand Hyatt in Washingtion, D.C. The staff were very friendly and helpful/attentive, the food was delicious, the whole hotel, as well as our room, were very attractive, clean and quiet!!! The location was perfect for walking and taking the Metro...with its entrance in the hotel... A major convenience!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful associates. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our wonderful food options. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Exceptional service, great location and an open airy indoor atrium make this a wonderful place to stay. I attended a national conference at this hotel an annual occasion the past three years. This trip proved to be like the prior stays at this fine hotel. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and always available. The Grand Salon was a welcome respite and the concierge services were just fantastic. The hotel and staff are just great I will stay again here in the fall and recommend the Grand Hyatt highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George Hoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to have you back with us in the Fall!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for one night on business. Greeted by courteous, professional hotel staff who offered a very useful map of the DC area. Unfortunately, the wear and tear and 1990's decor is evident throughout the rooms and facilities. Elevators walls scuffed from carts, room with cracked porcelain sinks, and industrial style room toilets. The shower heads are the water saving kind that lack water pressure. The toiletries are low quality and scarce, so bring your own.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Hello Gary P,

Thank you for being our guest at Grand Hyatt Washington this year! We appreciate you taking the time to share with our future travelers what you experienced! We will definitely be sure to thank and recognize our lovely team members for the amazing customer service they provide. I am very sorry to hear about the lack of amenities and the wear and tear in your guest room during this visit. I hope hotel management was able to assist with these concerns. If not, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department for assistance. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Enjoyed stay. Excellent staff. Easy walking distances to most sights. Dining room food very good. Hotel facilities are very clean. Wonderful place for business meetings and other key events. Excellent aid and assistance accommondations for persons with disabilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington! I'm very happy to hear the hotel was able to meet all of your needs and that the staff was very friendly. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I was here for a convention on disability issues, an annual event that has been held here several times. Odd, in my opinion, due to the lack and odd placement of enough elevators to the basement level convention/meeting rooms. The hosts proudly announced that the hotel staff would provide access to service elevators for use by persons with mobility issues who couldn't use escalators.
Besides that it is a great location for business and pleasure travelers wanting proximity to Capital Hill, the White House, and many of the other attractions the capital has to offer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sharla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Good Morning Sharla S,

Thank you for being our guest at Grand Hyatt Washington. I am very to hear you really enjoyed the location of the hotel and found it very convenient for your travels. I am sorry to hear about the elevator challenges you encountered during this visit and please be assured that I will speak with management on this issue and get it resolves prompty so this does not happen in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing