We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean but lacked friendly welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New jersey, United States
1 review
“Very Clean but lacked friendly welcoming staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very clean hotel and very efficient staff. Fire drill at 11:30 pm no staff present for instruction support or guidance. If it had been an actual fire it would seem the hotel staff had left guests to figure out what to do and no support not one single staff member in the hallways or in the stair well nor in the lobby that I could identify.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Good Morning Deborah G,

Thank you for going out of you way to share your experience from a past visit at Grand Hyatt Washington. I am thrilled to hear you found our location in Washington D.C. very clean and our staff was friendly and efficient. I am so sorry to hear about the fire alarm going off during your stay and definitely understand your frustration. I will bring this information to managements attention so we can ensure this will not happen in the future. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    1,589
    682
    294
    179
See reviews for
1,100
804
204
2,041
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great service and location! I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodated our every request. The location is walking distance to the White House and many other must see attractions, it is also about 2 blocks from the Hop On Hop Off Trolly which has two lines and takes you to just about everything you could want to see. We didn't need a car staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington DC . The breakfast buffet is expensive (as all hotel buffets are) but the food was very good and the convenience make it worth it. We would stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Upgraded to the business package on check in to take advantage of inclusive breakfast and wifi. Comfortable, if rather unexciting room. A very long walk to the elevators. Good breakfast and useful to have a Starbucks available too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm happy that you were able to take advantage of our business package. I'm also happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. All staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy with guests, including foreign dignitaries but everything ran smoothly and quietly. Our room was dusty but was handled right away when brought to the attention of the staff. The Metro connection from the lobby made for easy travel thru the city. I would definitely stay at this hotel if I ever had the need for a DC hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Metta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. The bell hops went above and beyond by asking if we needed anything, and by greeting us with a smile whenever they saw us. We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was clean and comfortable. We faced the atrium, which was a beautiful large open area in the center of the hotel with shallow pools, dining areas, a grand piano, and the service desks. We easily obtained free Wi-Fi in our room from logging into the lobby Wi-Fi. Why pay the fee they charge? There was a bit of noise from the hotel restaurant at night, but we were able to get a good nights rest on the comfortable beds. The location can not be beat. We were able to walk to the White House and the other monuments. The Metro was also right there. We were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Get room facing the Atrium. We stayed on the 4th floor and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscoleman267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm very happy to hear that the staff was able to make you feel so welcome! Come back and see us again soon, we would love to have you as our guest.

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was clean and beautiful. The meeting rooms were unimpressive. Lack of free internet and microwaves in the rooms was very inconvenient. The staff was friendly. I would have preferred more amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 398gregh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Good Morning 398gregh,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your past experience from when you stayed at Grand Hyatt Washington. Thank you for all your great suggestions on more and better amenities for future visits. I have sent your comments to our executive management to look into these matters and make the necessary changes to make your stay a better experience. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's our second stay at the hotel. Would return anytime!
The lobby is impressive, rooms are nice, modern. Can get a bit noisy with the room facing the inside of the hotel. Bed is really comfy. The breakfast place downstairs is awesome but a bit pricey. Good location - 5min walk to the White House.
Our 1st stay was for NYEve two years ago.
Still the same great service and staff!
CONS - valet parking $45 and self around $35. You can find other parking lots around the hotel with a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Good Morning Roxana M,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and returning to Grand Hyatt Washington! I really appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit and thrilled to hear it was another successful stay. We look forward seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,971 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing