We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, decent room”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for four days as family vacation, since we book the club room, I asked them if they will be comp us few breakfast down stairs since the club could be boring, they told me no. instead they told me you have business plan and your breakfast buffet will be comp by the hotel. We did first three days till the third day the waiter told me that the comp only good for one person. That was kind not too nice. Beside we enjoy the stay, the room is ok, the staff are nice except the lady who did check in that day did not explain to us clearly.

Room Tip: higher floor, if you can go to the club level will be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Good Afternoon tiger1127,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback when you and your family stayed at Grand Hyatt Washington. I am pleased to hear you really enjoyed your room accommodations and the location of this hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the mis communication you received from the front desk when inquiring on room package with breakfast. This could have definitely been explained clearer and I understand your frustration. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,881
    1,563
    670
    286
    176
See reviews for
1,073
784
201
1,999
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were welcome and cared for at the Gran Hyatt I would recommend anyone traveling to the DC area to strongly consider this beautiful and convenient hotel. T he food in the restaurants is outstanding. Amazing restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel. and shopping which is very important is all around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 703eirianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful amenities. I'm so happy to hear about the service you received from our wonderful associates. Our wonderful associates are truly instrumental in our hotel's success. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stay here when we are in town for either dinner or a ballgame. A large hotel yet they really try to make it a personal experience We stay on the Grand floor and really enjoy the Grand Club and the $4 cocktails. The hotel is very convenient and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank M5534LEjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that we are your home away from home. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us soon.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was very accommodating to us during our stay. The staff was extremely nice and courteous! We will stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting for sight seeing or a business opportunity. The Metro in the lobby was a plus!! Wonderful made to order omelets at the buffet. The only reason for the inefficiency in sleep was bed size...not their issue I got what I asked for. Wish I would have had the availability for 2 kings at an affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your recommendation it is our biggest compliment. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and courteous. Having metro access from our lobby is a big plus for our guests. I am pleased you found the made to order omelets to be delicious. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Washington in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We found the staff and service at this hotel to be exceptional. We felt that the staff was sincerely interested in our comfort and meeting our needs. The location was ideal. We were able to walk to all of the major monuments and museums as well as wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have an amazing experience at our property. I am thrilled you found the staff and service to be exceptional. We have a great location within walking distance to the main sights and sounds D.C. has to offer. Your recommendation is truly appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Washington the next time your travel brings you back to D.C.

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Grand Hyatt DC. We had two rooms for parents, children, & grandparents. The pool was a great draw for the children. Having a Metro entrance into the lobby was a great plus. We walked to the Mall and White House. There were great coffee shops nearby and a Starbucks in the hotel. The rate was reasonable and we were able to book two rooms with only two months' notice. All the hotel personnel were courteous and helpful. Check-in couldn't have been easier, and we were lucky to be able to check in early. We also departed well before noon so as to pay that privilege forward. We had a very positive experience with the Hyatt Grand DC.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and our hotel's wonderful locations. I'm also happy to hear about the service you received from our associates. We are truly lucky to have great people working with us and they are instrumental in our success. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

From the valet service to the hotel check-in, this hotel was superb. Kind and respectful. The lobby was beautiful and offered an array of options for the family (I.e. Food, pool, etc). Great location to museums.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank r99e00i02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good Afternoon r99e00i02.

Thank you for going out of your way to share your great experience from your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington! We are so excited this stay was overall a fabulous one from start to finish. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future and safe travels.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
956 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,926 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
166 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing