We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots better than the reviews!”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Contrary to many of the reviews, I found this hotel to be clean, quiet (as a city center can be), and friendly. It is old so don't be put off by the wall 'decor'. The bathrooms were spacious, old (which means big and tiled) but with new plumbing fixtures. The shower is 'low volume' which means that extra gallons don't go down the drain. Good for them. Yes, the ice was on the 6th floor, but it was a short elevator ride, and the machine was always full. The housekeeping was great. We were greeted, warmly, by the same housekeeper every morning. No, it's not the 4 Seasons (nor 4 Seasons prices!). But it is within easy walking distance of the mall and a host of restaurants, coffee shops, and entertainment. Two Metro stops were within just a couple of blocks. I know. I was there.

Room Tip: We were roomed in 'the Annex' on the 8th. floor. We never heard any hall noise, ever. Perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnickel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

There are only two good things about this hotel: price (it is the only affordable hotel in Washington DC) and the location (you can walk to all main sights, including the White House). But it looks -and it is- old, noisy and unpleasant. No frills at all. No luxuries of any kind. It is clean -and in this kind of hotel, that is a must-. Overall: a decent choice at nice fees.

[I stayed here: February 2009]

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omarhUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is not a spa. It is a place to sleep in a great location in Washington DC. If you want pampering, go elsewhere. Yes, it is old, but my room was very clean. The mattress was a bit firm, but I am used to that, and slept like a baby. My "small double" was perfectly adequate. Being forwarned, I brought an old towel from home. And shampoo.
Some of the best restaurants in DC are an easy walk. Not to mention the museums, etc. If you are on a budget this is a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed five nights and had two clean adjoining rooms that included a queen, two twins, and 2 bathrooms. The location of the Harrington can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay very much and found the staff to be attentive and helpful with everything from cabs and directions to restaurants, reservations and safety concerns. We also had the 11th floor shower ghost, but when we called for an adjustment to our shower, the repairman was there immediately on a Sunday night. The restaurant on the premises was a great convenience. We would stay here again and would recommend it for those who want to stay local, see as much as they can, and experience the city on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJB5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was our second stay in this hotel and although it is a bit run down, it is a decent hotel with reasonable rates. The carpets and decor desperately need an update. I can say that our room was clean and I felt safe staying there with my three children.

The selling point for me about this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance of all places of interest. There are a variety of restaurants in the neighborhood around the hotel as well as in the hotel itself.

The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. There is also a small shop in the lobby which was convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Had a wonderful experience. Sure the hotel is old and dated, thats no secret. That is part of the ambience of this place. We were up on the 10th floor across from Barnes & Nobel. The windows actually opened up and at night I would lay there and listen to the sounds of the city. Horns blowing, sirens in the distance,neon lights, partiers on the street and a saxaphone playing in the distance all set the scene for a film noire. At anytime I expected Bogart or George Raft to come busting in the door looking for some dame. If you are wanting plush & luxurious this is not the place for you. If you want a feel for the city on a budget this is the place for you. In walking distance of practically everything. Staff was accommodating and pleasant. We felt safe at the hotel and in the part of the city, even out walking past midnight to the white house.I would definately plan on staying here again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHM-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Spent three nights here in March. The first room had a broken thermostat that just spun around. Called the maintenance man who tried to fix the radiator but by 4 am it was too hot to touch and we asked for a new room as the heat was unbearable. We got one by 5 am and at least it had a working radiator. It was an upgrade to a suite and we also got a fridge and microwave.

No shampoo or pen/paper, so take your own. Very quirky shower controls, so prepare to be scalded or frozen from time to time.

The hotel is close to the White House and other landmarks, so it is well located.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,385 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,659 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing