We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveller rating
165
569
407
200
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
569
407
200
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's barschool groupswhite housenational mallford's theaterold post officemetro center stationsmithsonian museumsolder hotelfantastic locationadjoining roomspennsylvania avenuebeds were comfortablemajor attractionswithin easy walking distancelincoln memorialrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

location is good, just across the start point of Old Town Trolley. The room is rather cold, and air-conditioner is central controlled. The window has not view. Our room have a 3 beds, it's not easy to find a room type like this, that's the reason we chose it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruihua z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Why bother fighting the DC traffic when you can stay in a great hotel right in the middle. No, it is not a 5 star stay, but if you don't want to spend a fortune to the the capital of the US of A this is your hotel. There are restaurants open late, and a breakfast buffet in case you just really need a hearty meal before tramping through the Smithsonians or strolling on the Mall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

If you're interested in the history associated with DC, then this adds depth to the experience. I read other reviews and was a little anxious, but reality is in the middle. If you're going to stay in your room, go for more expensive options. If you're sightseeing and only need a place for sleep, this is it. I remember places like this hotel before large closets and the need to charge multiple devices to stay connected. The bathrooms are small but adequate, closets are 1950s size. Everything was clean, tvs work well and furniture is decent. It appears the hotel has made an effort to stay current. The nice thing is the parking, though further away, is safe and included in the cost of the room, which we offset with a coupon and saved $70-100. We got the coupon from one of those visitor center booklets. The front desk staff upgraded us to a two room configuration when he saw we were traveling with children, very nice gesture. The elevators were the most dated with their own brew of unique odors. No wait time for elevators at all, though. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jwl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is not a luxury hotel but the location at the heart of Washington DC is ideal for travellers. This was my third visit with school groups. Rooms are a good size and, if a bit dated, were clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet, worth the cost and provides a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I'm sure there are other reviews that say "old hotel" or "needs updating," which may be true, but this hotel has character, and the location is perfect. This was our first trip to DC, and I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. The price was great for being in the heart of downtown DC - withing walking distance to pretty much all of the major attractions - and was perfect for the amount of time that you will be in your room. I would suggest paying the extra for the regular sized room, not the small room. The bathrooms are small, with no counter space, but that was fine. This is a family owned hotel, so I feel better giving them the money than a larger hotel chain. The front desk staff was very helpful, and provides you with maps, visitor guides, and a great list of local restaurants. This is definitely where we will stay on our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 12th Street side, high floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews