We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel for DC exploration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #118 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for DC exploration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Harrington Hotel for a girl's weekend in the city. We loved it! It was clean and comfortable, and the staff is fantastic! All of the employees that we saw were friendly and personable and gave us lots of recommendations of things to do, and places to eat when we asked. The room was cozy and clean. The beds were comfortable, and we even had a great view from our windows! I loved the charm of this hotel and all of the history. We were also right in the heart of DC, so close to all of the main attractions, shopping, and loads of fantastic theaters and restaurants! I was so thrilled that everything was so close to the hotel. We had a fantastic weekend in the city and really enjoyed our stay at Harrington Hotel! We're already planning to do another trip to DC in the spring, and we'll definitely be staying at this hotel again. I give this hotel 2 thumbs up! You will not be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor and the view of the city was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrapenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Just wanted to say "thanks" for the great review and we are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and location. Look forward to seeing you again in the spring, be sure to ask for me would love to say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    514
    357
    169
    125
See reviews for
361
304
110
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel many times. Staff is very friendly and seems more than happy to help with suggestions whether we are looking for a great place to have dinner, see a show, or check out the museums. Everything is within walking distance and there are a couple metro stations nearby, too. Our rooms have always been clean and having the refrigerators in the rooms is very convenient.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for such a great reveiw and for being one of our repeat and loyal customers! Feel free to ask for me so I can say "hello" next time you are at the hotel so I can make sure your stay is going well. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Clean, comfortable and in the midst of all things tourism. Subway is nearby if you need it. But Smithsonian Museums, National Gallery, Washington Monument, White House, Capitol building, Lincoln Memorial and The Mall are all within easy walking distance.

There are restaurants everywhere ranging from fast food (McDonalds) to fine dining (Tosca) within a few blocks of the hotel. The hotels own restaurant offers decent fare with ample portions.

Decent hotel for a budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Peter, Thank you so much for the review, we love to hear back from our guests and we are happy that you found our hotel a good value at a great location to the area attractions. Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have been bringing groups of 8th grade students to DC for over 15 years. We have been using this hotel for a long time. It has been a great experience for me and for the students. The people who manage the hotel are always very accommodating with whatever we are trying to do. They have rooms of all sizes for people. However I usually reserve the rooms which accommodate 6-8 students because it is more economical for the parents. I believe that any teacher who is planning a trip to the DC area for a large group of students should give them a try because they have an excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algebra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We love groups here at the Hotel Harrington so we are so pleased that for the past 8 years your group has been happy and that we have accomodated all your requests. We strive to make all our guests happy so that is so nice to hear. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Harrington hotel during our last trip to washington and i can say there are three good things about the hotel, Location, Location and Location. It is centrally located and walking distance from everything you would like to do in Washington (white house, Capitol, all memorials,museums etc etc).

There is not much to talk about the hotel besides the location. The rooms are quite average , bathrooms manageable.

Good place to go if you just want to sleep overnight and spend most time sight seeing, you will save a lot of time if you stay at Harrington.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JI009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I spent one night at this old gem. Very comfortable bed, flat screen TV in each room. Super clean. You can feel the history in this place. You could not ask for a better location in DC. THE Metro stop is also just a short walk. If your snobbish on luxury, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomL1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review, we value our customers and we are always happy when we can make your stay comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on an organised college trip with 16 fellow students and 2 staff. Obviously, being a group trip, we were allocated a relatively cheap hotel, hence we were staying here.

The location is brilliant, we walked to all of the attractions we visited in DC. There are also quite a few restaurants nearby.

We stayed in a five person room, which was quite large but very basic. The beds were comfortable enough and the bathroom was adequate. There was only one window in the room, which was frosted and directly connected to a littered rooftop. Therefore, there was little natural light in the room. To be honest, the room could have done with a deep-clean, as well as the whole hotel for that matter, it had a bit of a musty feel to it. It wasn't 'dirty' though.

The staff were hit and miss. When we first went up to our room, we were a bed short (a double bed, instead of two singles). We politely asked at reception for an extra bed and the receptionist told us that she didn't believe we had even been in the room and was totally patronising. When she failed to offer a resolution, we had to speak to our college teacher to sort it out. A rollaway bed was then delivered. On other occasions though, the staff did seem friendly.

Breakfast was good enough, the staff in there failed to raise a smile though. I believe that although it's a part of the hotel, it's an external company offering it.

Overall, if I was visiting Washington alone, I would not stay here again. The low cost and location does not outweigh its negatives. The nearby, but more expensive, Willard InterContinental Washington would probably be a better option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your review of the hotel and our staff and I am very sorry that one of the desk staff did not contact your group leader to resolve any issues you had with the room at your request. But I am glad that your request was finally taken care of. After reading your review I wasn't quite sure exactly what you didn't like about our hotel, but if you ever come back to our hotel on your own holiday, please stop by and let us show you the different types of rooms we have other than the huge room you stayed in. Also, please feel free to speak to a manager if you feel as though we are not providing you with excellent customer service, we always strive to make our guests comfortable and happy. Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing