We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The price was still too much!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #119 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The price was still too much!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

When we arrived through the doors the smell of mold was over powering. The store was completely over priced, hence the stick of cough drops was 10 dollars. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, and the bagel I had was molding. The bacon was stale, and the cereal was flavorless. The rooms were run down and although you couldn't see the dust, when we sat on the bed all the dust puffed into the air. The bathroom was molding, the toilets were yellow and cracking, and the whole placed needed a deep clean. I couldn't get to sleep due to the workers that paving the road outside my window at 12:00 am. Even though the location was centrally located, it was disappointing overall. Even though the price was as low as it gets, it was still to much!! There wasn't even a swimming pool or fitness center. Many of my classmates who also came as a trip for school were also disappointed.

I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in the nicest room or you will die of an asthma reaction. Even if you don't have asthma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YoyoGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    504
    343
    166
    121
See reviews for
349
296
107
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location for easy walking to monuments/museums etc. Very easy to get a cab ride and Union Station is only about 5 minutes away. The staff are very helpful in supplying maps. The room was clean and everything worked perfectly fine. I also had a pretty nice view from the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I've stayed here several times. I like the older property, one block off Pennsylvania Ave. It reminds me of some of the older European hotels with smaller rooms, old bath fixtures, steam heat, modest, but comfortable rooms with flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave. Very good prices for DC. Friendly staff. Convenient. WiFi needs an update. It worked, but was a bit slow during peak morning and evening usage. I'll stay here again. Harry's Bar and Grill, connected, is a very good classic, modestly-priced restaurant.

Room Tip: Think older European hotels and pubs and you won't be disappointed. Embassy Suites it isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldTraveler6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Just wanted to thank you for the great review of our hotel and I'm so happy that you enjoy staying at our hotel whenever your in town. I'm very sorry to hear that the internet wasn't working so good on your last stay but please let us know what room you were in so we can check that floors access points and make sure it's working properly. I often go to the floors and help guests get connected and make sure their internet has a strong signal. Thanks again for the review and please ask for me your next trip, would love to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all local to the area and are very helpful about the area. The location of the hotel is great for either hitting the tourist destinations or for shopping and dinning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Chris, thanks for great review and we are glad that you enjoyed staying with us here at the Hotel Harrington, we hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Harrington Hotel for a girl's weekend in the city. We loved it! It was clean and comfortable, and the staff is fantastic! All of the employees that we saw were friendly and personable and gave us lots of recommendations of things to do, and places to eat when we asked. The room was cozy and clean. The beds were comfortable, and we even had a great view from our windows! I loved the charm of this hotel and all of the history. We were also right in the heart of DC, so close to all of the main attractions, shopping, and loads of fantastic theaters and restaurants! I was so thrilled that everything was so close to the hotel. We had a fantastic weekend in the city and really enjoyed our stay at Harrington Hotel! We're already planning to do another trip to DC in the spring, and we'll definitely be staying at this hotel again. I give this hotel 2 thumbs up! You will not be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor and the view of the city was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrapenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Just wanted to say "thanks" for the great review and we are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and location. Look forward to seeing you again in the spring, be sure to ask for me would love to say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel many times. Staff is very friendly and seems more than happy to help with suggestions whether we are looking for a great place to have dinner, see a show, or check out the museums. Everything is within walking distance and there are a couple metro stations nearby, too. Our rooms have always been clean and having the refrigerators in the rooms is very convenient.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for such a great reveiw and for being one of our repeat and loyal customers! Feel free to ask for me so I can say "hello" next time you are at the hotel so I can make sure your stay is going well. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Clean, comfortable and in the midst of all things tourism. Subway is nearby if you need it. But Smithsonian Museums, National Gallery, Washington Monument, White House, Capitol building, Lincoln Memorial and The Mall are all within easy walking distance.

There are restaurants everywhere ranging from fast food (McDonalds) to fine dining (Tosca) within a few blocks of the hotel. The hotels own restaurant offers decent fare with ample portions.

Decent hotel for a budget-minded traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Peter, Thank you so much for the review, we love to hear back from our guests and we are happy that you found our hotel a good value at a great location to the area attractions. Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Penn Quarter
Oakwood Lexington
Oakwood Lexington
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world famous tourist district. Just 1/2 block from Pennsylvania Avenue, between the Capitol (10 Blocks) and the White House (5 blocks), you can easily walk to all the sights, such as Ford's Theatre is just 1 block, your first smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi Free Internet Cafe w/computers in Harriett's Restaurant Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 Telephones - Direct Dial System. Local calls $0.25/each. Long Distance - see instructions in room Postage Stamps - Purchase from the front desk Televisions - Every room has a TV with free HBO! Laundromat - 2nd and 3rd floors Games for kids - just ask the front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing