We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't great... :/”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #123 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I don't have much to say on the value/price because someone else booked and payed for it, but I can comment on the quality. I wasn't expecting much, but I was expecting more than I got. The rooms were kinda dirty, and the bathrooms also kinda moldy. If you're looking for something nice, I wouldn't suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

When we arrived through the doors the smell of mold was over powering. The store was completely over priced, hence the stick of cough drops was 10 dollars. The breakfast buffet was disappointing, and the bagel I had was molding. The bacon was stale, and the cereal was flavorless. The rooms were run down and although you couldn't see the dust, when we sat on the bed all the dust puffed into the air. The bathroom was molding, the toilets were yellow and cracking, and the whole placed needed a deep clean. I couldn't get to sleep due to the workers that paving the road outside my window at 12:00 am. Even though the location was centrally located, it was disappointing overall. Even though the price was as low as it gets, it was still to much!! There wasn't even a swimming pool or fitness center. Many of my classmates who also came as a trip for school were also disappointed.

I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in the nicest room or you will die of an asthma reaction. Even if you don't have asthma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YoyoGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location for easy walking to monuments/museums etc. Very easy to get a cab ride and Union Station is only about 5 minutes away. The staff are very helpful in supplying maps. The room was clean and everything worked perfectly fine. I also had a pretty nice view from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 905ashleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I've stayed here several times. I like the older property, one block off Pennsylvania Ave. It reminds me of some of the older European hotels with smaller rooms, old bath fixtures, steam heat, modest, but comfortable rooms with flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave. Very good prices for DC. Friendly staff. Convenient. WiFi needs an update. It worked, but was a bit slow during peak morning and evening usage. I'll stay here again. Harry's Bar and Grill, connected, is a very good classic, modestly-priced restaurant.

Room Tip: Think older European hotels and pubs and you won't be disappointed. Embassy Suites it isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldTraveler6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Just wanted to thank you for the great review of our hotel and I'm so happy that you enjoy staying at our hotel whenever your in town. I'm very sorry to hear that the internet wasn't working so good on your last stay but please let us know what room you were in so we can check that floors access points and make sure it's working properly. I often go to the floors and help guests get connected and make sure their internet has a strong signal. Thanks again for the review and please ask for me your next trip, would love to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are all local to the area and are very helpful about the area. The location of the hotel is great for either hitting the tourist destinations or for shopping and dinning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Chris, thanks for great review and we are glad that you enjoyed staying with us here at the Hotel Harrington, we hope you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Harrington Hotel for a girl's weekend in the city. We loved it! It was clean and comfortable, and the staff is fantastic! All of the employees that we saw were friendly and personable and gave us lots of recommendations of things to do, and places to eat when we asked. The room was cozy and clean. The beds were comfortable, and we even had a great view from our windows! I loved the charm of this hotel and all of the history. We were also right in the heart of DC, so close to all of the main attractions, shopping, and loads of fantastic theaters and restaurants! I was so thrilled that everything was so close to the hotel. We had a fantastic weekend in the city and really enjoyed our stay at Harrington Hotel! We're already planning to do another trip to DC in the spring, and we'll definitely be staying at this hotel again. I give this hotel 2 thumbs up! You will not be disappointed. :)

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor and the view of the city was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrapenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Just wanted to say "thanks" for the great review and we are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and location. Look forward to seeing you again in the spring, be sure to ask for me would love to say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel many times. Staff is very friendly and seems more than happy to help with suggestions whether we are looking for a great place to have dinner, see a show, or check out the museums. Everything is within walking distance and there are a couple metro stations nearby, too. Our rooms have always been clean and having the refrigerators in the rooms is very convenient.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks so much for such a great reveiw and for being one of our repeat and loyal customers! Feel free to ask for me so I can say "hello" next time you are at the hotel so I can make sure your stay is going well. Thanks again, and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#55 of 142 in Washington DC
211 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
2,625 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing