We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire, but well located”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dire, but well located”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Decrepit, dirty, dire, but good location. It's 100 years old, and seemingly hasn't been refurbished since its launch. The place is in urgent need of repairs and maintenance: worrying cracks, crumbling plaster, and scary-looking wiring. No cover on the (dirty) bed base. Drunken, noisy kids in the room next to mine. If you can afford somewhere else near Penn Ave, definitely book that instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZAtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    536
    377
    178
    131
See reviews for
377
328
113
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We were excited to stay in a place that was celebrating its 100th year, but upon arriving we quickly discovered that it's very much showing its age.

The rooms are small but adequate. Our bathroom was recently renovated but I've heard that not all of them are.

There aren't enough outlets in the room to charge electronic devices without unplugging an existing light or fridge.

The parking is 6 blocks away but there is a parking garage next door.

We didn't have access to air conditioning because it was too early in the season so we opened the window. We didn't sleep because deliveries and taxis start honking between 3-5am. Others had asked for fans for their rooms.

The only good thing that I can say is that they are within walking distance of everything and are not overly expensive.

Like everyone else said, if you are only sleeping there it's not so bad.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mochalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having booked this hotel I was appalled at the place.
They are celebrating their 100 year and by the standard of the rooms they haven't been refurbished since.
The rooms is shabby, with old wallpaper, yellowing paintwork and carpet that probably came from the Mayflower.
There is nowhere to hang clothes and the chest of drawers is a joke.
The bed is ancient and the sheets do not fit the mattress.
The bathroom is appalling. Old fittings and a shower that can only be decribed as a trickle.
The AC is useless and on being provided with a fan that is just as old.
This hotel is below economy standard.
It is decepit, run down, dirty and an insult to the term hotel.
Stay well away.

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
David, I'm so sorry you had a bad impression of our hotel, we service thousands of people every year and we never want to see anyone walk away unhappy. I hope that you let the staff know that you were unhappy so we could try to show you another room or make you happy. We encourage all guests to speak with management if they are not happy we take all complaints seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Even though this place is considerably less expensive than anything else in the neighborhood, it was still overpriced. I chose it because I had a conference at the Grand Hyatt and I saved my employer a lot of money by staying only 2 blocks from the conference hotel. The location is clearly this place's selling point, walking distance from restaurants, shopping, museums, and the Metro station. But the amenities were not only lacking they weren't in good condition. The bathroom was so small there was nowhere to put my toiletries or shave my legs. The TV had pretty bad reception and I had to smack it to get a decent picture most of the time. The walls were pretty thin and there were a lot of noisy school groups there when I went. The lobby - if you can call it that - was noisy being next to a bar and constantly smelled like buttered popcorn. There was no coffee maker in the room and no breakfast in the hotel. There wasn't even an overhead light in my room, just 2 lamps that you had to walk awhile in the dark to find if you the misfortune of arriving after sundown. It had the feel of a hostel or a motel rather than a legit "hotel."

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PA2NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Harrington Hotel was affordable and within walking distance to the National Mall. The hotel has off property fee based parking that is located a few blocks away. It is an old hotel with few cosmetic updates. The room was small but adequate for a place to sleep, and could have been a little cleaner. If your expectations are not too high, and you won't be in your room for more than sleep, you can save some money staying here. The staff were helpful, but not overly pleasant, and the area around the hotel seemed safe at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostyculhane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for one night because of location and cost. That's where it ends. Worst hotel I've stayed in! Run down and dirty! I doubt anything has been replaced in 20 years. No amenities at all. Not worth the savings. No coffee, no shampoo, tube TV, no heat control, door locks were missing, parking is 6 blocks away!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coniOtto, Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Mark, I'm sorry that you didn't have a good experience at our hotel and that you didn't know about our amenities. We do provide coffee pots in our rooms and if there wasn't one in your room you can always ask the front desk and we would have been happy to deliver one, we also have shampoo at the front desk. I see that the door lock wasn't on your door from the picture and we will be on the search for it to get it replaced. The reason parking is 4 blocks from the hotel is because we are a budget hotel and we only charge $16 per day for parking where as most hotels in DC charge $40 so we try to keep our prices down. We hope you will give us another try and if you do please ask to speak to me, would love to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at Hotel Harrington once before when I was protesting. It's a basic hotel, very old, with old everything. Just a room and a bathroom, nothing more, nothing less. It was hot a few weeks ago and we were told that they don't turn the air conditioning on until "later." So we opened the windows only to find that the din and roar that we let in wouldn't allow us to sleep. The only plus factor is that it's within walking distance to everything! If you just want a room to lay your head, this is the place.

Room Tip: Away from Pennsylvania Avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepetalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
192 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,996 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,544 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Property: Hotel Harrington
Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing