We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #123 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

you really can't get a hotel at this price point at a better location - yes it is old (ancient?) but just keep it in mind and take it all in as part of the experience! we got given the wrong room key - THANK GOD nobody was in the room when we walked in - but they realised very quickly and chased us down, apologising profusely and promptly giving us the right key. not a huge deal but i guess it could've ended very badly.
since we were in washington for the sight seeing and not really looking to stay in a hotel room, couldn't really have asked for more - rooms are dated but clean, just use a gentle hand so you dont break anything!
ps. cheap laudramat on site - $2 for washing and drying??

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnTerryGM, General Manager at Hotel Harrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I ,too , am glad the room key was changed without a problem ! We are always pleased when we can provide a comfortable and affordable visit while you stay with us. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights.
The Harrington Hotel is a perfect base for tourists, wishing to walk to most of the capital sites and attractions. DC can make your legs cry of pain, and the Harrington is right in the middle if you want to stop during the day, relax and go out again.
I got a room in the 10th floor, far enough from the street noise and the elevator. The room was clean and well serviced, had a flat TV, coffee maker (no filter, just boils the water) and a refrigerator. I ate a few times at Harriet's and at Harry's, and enjoyed the food and the prices were descent.
Will return to the Harrington and recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: High floor, far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a bit dated, but it was clean. The best thing about it is the location. It is walking distance to the National Mall and other sites. There is also a major Metro station within walking distance. The price was great and wifi worked.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank darenjameskamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I enjoyed staying at the Hotel Harrington and the primary reason was the location. From the hotel it is just a walk to everything I want to see in DC. The hotel which was built in 1914 was 100 years old when we stayed there so I thought that was kind of special. I enjoyed being able to buy a good breakfast within the hotel, at Harriet's. The HVAC system is outdated, but seemed to work well for us. It was not extremely hot weather when we were there in the middle of May, so I cannot say for sure, but it seemed as though the air conditioner was doing fine. The vent process was old and strange, ceiling vent and a stick to open and close, but it worked for us. There is no way to control temperatures in individual rooms however. The bathroom could use some renovation. There was nowhere to put my things. I had to keep my toiletries in my bag and carry it back and forth to the restroom, and just set it on the toilet seat lid while getting dressed. But the shower was good and the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Parking was a little inconvenient as we had to use a parking garage three or four blocks away, $16 daily to park there. This was okay for us as we like to walk for exercise value. At least there was room on the street to pull over and unload/load luggage. I would stay at the Hotel Harrington again due to the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here here in the middle of May 2014 and had joined friends who had already had this room booked. It definitely would not be my first choice, or second or third…It is in serious need of updating which I feel could be done very cheap and easily. It has furniture that appears straight from a dorm room and dated ugly comforters. The art work in the room consisted of old posters that look like belong in different doctors offices or grocery stores. It's a beautiful 100 year old building that has so much potential. With that being said it is very cheap for it's perfect downtown location. It is close to absolutely everything. You obviously don't go to DC to spend the day in your room so if you are not a 'hotel snob' and want to save money in one area this is the place. I've visited the hotel a year prior when friends were staying there and saw how tiny the rooms are (again like a dorm). We got lucky this year and got one of the handicap rooms. It was much bigger and had a wall separating the twin and the queen beds. There were two box tvs but one was fuzzy. The Bathroom had clearly been renovated (since I saw a different room a few floors up) and overall the hotel was clean. I feel that if you are looking for a very great deal at a perfect location and don't plan on spending anytime in the room, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soxfan437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Harrington is a charming hotel located in PRIME real estate in DC. Located a short walk from the National Mall , Monuments & Smithsonians, White House and fabulous restaurants to name on a long list of attractions. We went for a very short two night, three day business trip and and did not want to break the bank with other hotels prices. The hotel is just right if all you need is to rest after a busy day in DC. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and bathrooms were very good size with an excellent working shower. NOTE There are no toiletries, or in room coffee/tea but there is a blowdryer and iron and ironing board. Towels are plentiful and a nice grade for type of hotel.
Recommend the two places (Harriet's for breakfast/ brunch or lunch) and Harry's( lunch, drinks) connected to hotel. We enjoyed breakfast both mornings and a nightcap at Harry's where locals as well as travelers/ tourists go for some late night conversation or late bite. The Hotel is fairly quiet considering the age of it (100 years) and only heard the obvious (doors next to us opening/ closing, voices as they passedby etc.) during the later hours when we were in our room. Noticed that there is better soundproofing in this Hotel than a very expensive resort in Chatham Mass that we stayed in and did not hear other travelers in other rooms whuch is pretty impressive considering the age.
Large flat screen TV is standard in every room.
Free Wifi was great and appreciated!
Enjoyed staying here for location which is why I gave it five stars.
The rooms are more motel-average at best with bedding 2.5 stars
If the hotel invested in two things for me would make the stay more enjoyable. One would be better bedding. Mattresses could be brought up a notch with pillow tops and perhaps more firm all around although ours was not uncomfortable, it was "sqishy" as my husband described and a tad firmer would be a plus.
Comforter on bed was motel standard. Pillows... meh.
Number Two would be a small safe in hotel closet. I always use a safe for piece of mind with travel documents.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank andreatCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family of 4 are staying at the Hotel Harrington in Washington DC for a week. We have a daughter and a son, and in this hotel, we have a 3 room suite. Each part of the room has a connecting folding door, and each bedroom has it's own bathroom. The hotel just celebrated their 100th anniversary, and the lobby was redone for the party. It is very well done, and has a host of information on the walls telling the history of the hotel and of our nation. There are upgrades in the rooms with many reminders that it is an old hotel giving it lots of charm. It is in the heart of the historical district, and within walking distance of the Mall and many memorials. A great place to be while visiting DC.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what you want, and they will do their best to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pastorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
238 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
2,253 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing