We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location only saving grace”
Review of Hotel Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Harrington
Ranked #123 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The good:
Rooms smell nice
Location is amazing
Staff is awesome
Restaurant downstairs is convenient with decent food.
The bad:
Parking is $30 and a 20 minute walk away (NOT exaggerated )
Rooms were decrepit but I'm sure some might call it vintage
12 inch TV gets rabbit ear reception
Windows were crying for a cleaning
Termite or water damaged wood was solved with inches of latex paint
Power outlets were turn of the century- and I don't mean this last one.
Wi-fi only works in lobby. Signal strength was abysmal.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an 100 year old hotel but it is clean and reasonable. The location is the best part!! It is in walking distance of most all of the attractions of DC. The staff was friendly and helpful. The map they had out for free is the best I have seen for the DC area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I wrote a review back in August of 2007 and since visiting again, I thought I'd write a new review.
We got a two room family suite and it was so spacious (corner room on 10th floor) and the room was very clean.
The kids had their own room (two twins) and their own bathroom. They had their own TV and the room had a divider to close between our rooms (Not a door, just a divider). There was a closet in this room.
Our room had a queen sized bed, desk, fridge, TV, table and chairs. We had our own bathroom and a big closet! The room got changed every day with beds made and towels freshened.
This is a very convenient hotel near just about everything. Super close to the Metro and the "Welcome Center" for tours and trolleys.
Lots of really great places to eat (Harriet's is convenient, but not great. We ate there one morning and they ran out of sausage and the food was merely so/so.)
Every was nice and helpful.
The hotel is OLD. It is 100 years old this year. So realize that when you reserve there.
This is not a new Hampton Inn with new beds and white comforters.
This is an old hotel.
But if you're sight seeing and just sleeping here..... it's perfect for exactly that.

Plenty of outlets. Hair dryer in room.
The only odd thing that happened while we were there is that we had a fridge with a freezer the first two days. We came back one night and that fridge was gone and replaced with another without a freezer. It was odd. All our stuff was there, though!

Beds are not great. That is why I couldn't give a higher rating. They are old mattresses, blankets and pillows. If they were to upgrade something, this would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank prplcws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Harrington Hotel has a great location!!! It has a very friendly staff!!! The hotel is old and historic. It grew on me after a few days because of the staff and location -- but I was by myself. The hotel housed a lot of families and tourists so it was quiet every night. For the price is was a good fit -- I might stay there again -- I might. The rooom I had was very very tiny but I wasn't in the room that much. The restaurant joining the hotel was fantastic. The stay was in no way bad -- it was good. Just know that the hotel is old and does not have any modern features. Overall it was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Del D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wanted to be in easy walking distance for my 16-year-old niece's first trip to DC. This was perfect. We took the subway from the train station, walked two blocks and there we were. We could see the hotel sign from the exit of the subway. Good service, nice room and we benefited from a having suite somehow. It was great to fall into at the end of the day. The hotel lived up to its good reputation.

Room Tip: I made a mistake on booking.com and indicated there were three people when we were only two. Good sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babooshka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We needed a cheap-ish hotel in a good location and this fit the bill. We had to circle the block 3/4 times when we arrived to wait for the loading area to clear but once this had happened, it was easy to check in, unload our bags and check out the room before we had to go back down to move the car to the car park (a 5-10 minute walk away, not too far).

The location is perfect - we walked to all the sites except when we took the bus to Georgetown, and there are lots of great restaurants in the area. They claim to have Wi-Fi in all areas but on arrival, they told us it wasn't working in the rooms, only the lobby. This was an inconvenience for us as we needed the internet but a few trips down to the lobby wasn't the biggest problem in the world.

The room was clean and the shower was pretty powerful, but it was extremely basic and fairly tired. They had an extremely basic on/off air-con unit - it was pretty hot when we stayed so this was nice to have, but not all that effective. We had the most basic double room which was exactly that - you get what you pay for! Our room was directly opposite the elevators and although we could clearly hear everytime the lift stopped and unloaded, it wasn't too bad an issue. Moreso was the fact we could literally hear the next-door family's conversations - not ideal when their young kids woke up at 6am everyday.

Overall, this isn't a place to stay if you're looking for any kind of luxury/romance/glamour to your trip but if all you need is a bed and a clean bathroom, this would definitely do the job. Lots of school parties stay here which says it all - it's a safe, cheap, basic hotel in a good location. Perhaps bring ear-plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room opposite the lifts. Walls are thin - bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of five recently stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Harrington. On arrival there was a BBQ contest happening and the road in front of the
Hotel was blocked off. It was a little hectic but we managed. That is certainly not the hotels fault as several roads were closed for the event. The rooms were a good size for our family. Keep in mind that yes, it is 100 years old. There are some areas that are dated but we were satisfied. There were many guests from other areas of the U.S. and even European countries. Harry's and Harriet's had great food. We are at both during our stay and were happy with the food and service. The hotel front desk staff were very friendly. They always made us feel welcome and even gave our infant son a rubber ducky. He loves it! The gift shop/store was reasonable and even had milk for our soon. We would definitely stay there again. Great experience! For those that complain about the rooms please stay somewhere else
So when we visit again we won't have to deal with you! Thanks!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrington

Address: 436 11th St NW & E St, Washington DC, DC 20004-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrington 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrington is located in the heart of Washington, D.C.'s world smithsonian is just 3 blocks from the hotel, the Verizon center is just 6 blocks, so park your car if you have one and just walk to all the sights. In addition, Metro Center, is just two blocks away which is the Red Line. We offer 242 guest rooms, including 26 deluxe family rooms, full service restaurant, fast food restaurant, friendly pub, local tours, and a nice gift shop. Amenities Free Wifi, computer in lobby to print boarding passes, Free postcards at the front desk Private bathroom in every room Refrigerators are in most rooms. Just ask if you need one brought to your room Microwave for guests located in the Internet Cafe Ice Machines - Lobby level and floors 2 through 6 Soft Drinks - Lobby level and floors 1 through 6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Harrington Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing