We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #100 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic and elegant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Insanely comfortable bed (they aren't kidding about the Italian bed linens), spacious bathroom and closet, and nice amenities. The free bottled water and daily newspapers are particularly nice. This hotel is a little out-of-the-way, quiet, and perfect for an intimate romantic getaway. We were there just before Christmas and the common areas on the ground floor were decked out and extremely cozy, with nice furnishing and a fireplace. This hotel is a step above generic chain hotels, and we really enjoyed the elegant and historic feel. It's just a short walk from the Verizon Center/Chinatown area, with lots of places for eating out or having a drink. My only complaint is the construction across the street-- it was a bit disruptive in the morning, but it's obviously not the hotel's fault, and they provide earplugs (though I can't imagine sleeping in them!). And for the room rate and the value, this place really can't be beat. All in all, a great experience and we'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    332
    112
    33
    32
See reviews for
55
298
75
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed four nights. We booked a king deluxe room on line and on arrival were given the wrong room. The receptionist was not helpful but fortunately I had a print out of the booking form and then we got the right room. Everyone else was very pleasant and helpful.

The room was spotless and very nice. It did overlook the construction site (which looked like it would continue for a long time) and there was some noise but it wasn't intrusive. Breakfast was good. We had one dinner in the restaurant which was also good though very underpatronised. I liked the olde worlde ambience.

The internet was free which was a big plus.

The subway was very close and China Town and museums were all within a short walking distance. The area felt very safe and we walked home at night.They seem to have a resident taxi service which delivered us to Union Station at the end of our visit.

So all in all we were very happy and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you for your comments; I am sorry you received the wrong room at check in, and that the Front desk staff was not very helpful. I do apologize. It does not sound like a typical day at the front desk for Henley Park. I am so sorry. I am glad you noticed the cleanliness of the room, out housekeeping staff prides itself in having one of the cleanest hotels in the city. Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you on your return visit to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a comfortable place to stay -- good location, pleasant staff, nice lounge and restaurant -- and more affordable than many DC lodgings.

Room Tip: Check out an upgrade to a deluxe room; it may be well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Rolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed some of the best of Washington, Our friendly staff, our Blue Bar Lounge and the Coeur de Lion Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Henley for 5 nights. We wanted to take a trip to Washington since neither of us had been there since we were kids and I was lucky enough to book a very discounted rate through AAA and got a Junior Suite for $107 per night. The room was beautiful and very comfortable - like someone else mentioned, a very comfortable bed and very clean accommodations. However, like someone else mentioned, some of the drawers in the dresser were broken, and I also almost dropped one on my foot. So be careful of that. The staff was very friendly and helped us find areas in DC to eat - we never had dinner at the hotel because the prices were ridiculous. We did have one breakfast there, which was very tasty, but again, it was a lot of money for eggs and french toast. To be fair, though, there are very limited options for breakfast in the area of the hotel so we should have planned better for that. The bar in the hotel was also very nice, but my glass of wine was $12, which I thought was kind of crazy, and it closed at 10pm on Friday night which is pretty early. The area is great though (considering there is construction going on across the street on Mass and on K Street around the corner). Easy access to all of the sites; within walking distance to the Smithsonian museums and the monuments. And if something wasn't within walking distance, a member of the staff was very quick to get our car out of the valet parking garage. The fitness room is rather small, two treadmills and a bike, but complimentary bottled water and towels were provided in the room, as well as a tv for each machine (bring your own earphones to plug in for audio) which met our needs just fine. Overall, we had a great stay at the Henley Park Hotel and would consider staying there again if we find ourselves back in Washington DC.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 10th Street are quieter than those facing Massachusetts where you're looking direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowisp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for choosing the Henley Park for your honeymoon. We are glad you would consider us again. We appreciate your comments, as we continue to improve on all service aspects of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have stayed in a lot better hotels for the price they charge. The food is way over priced and good at best. The rooms are so noisey from the construction going on that they leave ear plugs on the bed. Were we supposed to share a set, or reuse them every day? No employee stood out except maybe the valet/door man. On check out, I received two bills within 30 minutes of each. I went to the front desk, and all he could say was "someone reserved your room for the 3rd, and since you didn't arrive until the 4th, we charged you". I said no way, I didn't reserve a rom for the 3rd when I knew I was not coming until Friday. Well you have to talk to "Halle". I said, well let's call "Halle" Oh, we don't have her number. So I asked him, well how do you get in touch with her if she doesn't show up for work. I am about to call my bank and dispute the charges, and believe me, I would not recommend that place to anyone!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Probably the nicest room we had on our trip through the USA with attention to detail and the fresh decor. The hotel is near the Convention Center,and only 3 or 4 blocks from downtown so it is easy to walk everywhere. It is an historic hotel and evidently family owned and it had that 'cared for' feel about it. We went to breakfast in the hotel as the dining room looked special but the aircon by our table was so cold, the waitress was quite off-hand or not interested, and therefore it was not worth the money paid - the only disappointing part of our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Construction is going on across from the hotel which may be annoying to some people. However, we tried to be optimistic about it and viewed it as our wake up call each morning since we had to get up early to see the sights anyway.

Rooms are extremely clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. Drawers in the dresser were broken though and one almost fell on my feet when pulling it out to use it. I complained about this to the front desk and they never fixed it nor did they follow up with me to give me an explanation.

Value on the hotel varies to which night you stay. One night I paid 315 while other nights went down to 119. Overall, it's a good place to stay if you are looking for a small quaint boutique style hotel away from the crowds.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing