We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #100 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I read other travelers comment about construction in the area. Yes, there is a large corporate hotel under construction across the street, but complaining about construction noise is no more the fault of the hotel than complaining about some street traffic outside . . . DC is an urban area and noise is expected. Windows in the room are double insulated for sound.

Back to the basics, this is a quaint hotel. Intimate lobby with a classy entry. I have yet to make it to the restaurant, bar or other amenities . . . I am in DC for the sites and a conference, not to visit a hotel. However, I will say that my stay here has been impeccable. The room (Junior Suite) is spacious and well appointed. Nice to get free bottled water and turn down service. The fact that they will shine your shoes if you leave them out was a surprising treat.

I still have a few days left in my stay, and i expect that the stay at the Henley Park will be no less convenient and impressive. Great location too . . . walking distance to sites and large grocery store (saving some money there).

I'd give this place an A+.

Rm. 411

Room Tip: Not sure about the rest of the rooms, but, the JR Suite I have is a nice corner view, and not domina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xopher2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your positive comments, for those who want to unwind at the end of a busy day our Blue Bar Lounge offers some great food and ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

we spent two nights here & found it quite a pleasant stay!

this place is branded as a historic hotel and it does have a charming, european ambience to it.

we arrived earlier than the scheduled check-in time, but we had no problem getting a quiet room as requested. the room albeit on the smaller side, was comfortable & clean.

we didn't use the public transport at all because we were able to walk to most touristy places!

note: we asked the concierge the night before our flight to get us a cab at 6:15am. but instead, we were greeted by a limo the next morning ($25 flat to DCA).

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you stayed with us we hope to see you on your return trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the Henley Park this weekend. Check in was so pleasant and easy - not having to stand in line at a large convention hotel. The hotel is lovely - very European feel. Our room was wonderful, beautiful decor and was the cleanest hotel room I've stayed in for a long time. Even the tile in the bathroom shone. The location is excellent - near the convention center and many cafes and restaurants. It's close the Metro as well. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We'll be visitng famly in DC often and will plan to stay at the Henley Park again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMLBARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you recognized how clean our hotel is. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff. We do have one of the cleanest hotels in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Henley Park for four nights in March. When we made the reservation, we asked for a quiet room and indicated a late arrival. When we arrived, after about a 5 hour drive from New York we were greeted by a man at the registration desk who looked and acted more like someone at home after a long day at the office- open tie, very casual demeanor, etc. We were taken to our room on the top floor. After settling in, we heard a loud noise and vibration. We checked with the desk and were told that this was the restaurant ventilator, which was on "24/7". We told them that we could not sleep and needed another room. We were taken to a lower floor from which the ventilator noise was very audible. We then asked for a third room; we were taken to another floor and found the room acceptable. All this was after showering, in bed clothing and at 1:30 AM. When I spoke to the manager the following morning, to get a refund for the night, he said that he could not waive the entire charge, only part of it. A few days later I spoke to the general manager; I pointed out that we specifically asked for a quiet room and were not given one. That we had to change rooms two times that night until there was a satisfactory room and that the third room was available from the beginning of this entire unfortunate mess. The general manager had no answer as to why.

The other members of the staff were not up to the standards of what is advertised as a boutique hotel; they were more like mid-level hotel chain staff.

The location of this hotel is good and the rooms are small, but pleasant. The staff needs to understand what product they are 'selling' and to act accordingly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, usually the quietest rooms are on the interior of the building, this muffles the street sounds of the city. We are a downtown hotel located on the corner of Tenth Street and Massachusetts Ave. As for the roof fan vent I am sorry, we have looking into the hum and have performed the necessary maintenance to make it quieter. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at the Henley on a recent business trip and found the hotel to be adequate at best and the service at far less than adequate. First, the rooms were on the tiny side, with barely enough room to roll in a suitcase and computer bag. The room was freezing (admittedly, they did come to fix the problem) and it was not clean to my standards. The room amenities were non-existent (no desk!) and the bathroom definitely needed updating as did the bedroom carpeting. And, there wasn't the standard security lock on the door. What was most upsetting was the quality of service. The bar and restaurant services was not at all attentive or friendly and the same applied to all of the staff. At departure, I was struggling with my bags and no one helped me carry them down the steps. And, i had to hail my own cab. If you want friendly service or an occasional smile, do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallim5117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your comments; I am sorry you were not happy with your room size and the services that were provided to you. It is not our normal level of service; we must have had an off day. I am so sorry; I hope you give us another opportunity to showcase our warm hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We just enjoyed a 3-night stay at the elegant Henley Park Hotel, as close as any (two blocks) to the Convention Center, where we were attending a conference. Our Junior Suite was worth the price of the upgrade, very spacious with a roomy, up-to-date bathroom. Junior Suite also included a separate area for the wet bar, sitting area with two comfy chairs and a desk. King-sized bed was comfortable, with large flat screen TV on the facing wall. Free internet was a bonus. Staff at the Henley Park was helpful and friendly. The hotel is quiet with a warm atmosphere. The lobby area is small but a sitting room just off it provides a gracious area for reading the newspaper or waiting for a friend. A short two blocks away there is a CVS located next to a cafe for morning lattes. Arcadiana restaurant is around the corner for lunch or dinner. We did not try the hotel's restaurant. Next trip perhaps!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Junior Suite for a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your comments; It is wonderful to know that the staff was helpful and friendly, as they are all true hospitality professionals. I am truly sorry you missed out on a visit to our restaurant. The Chef takes great pride in maintaining the award winning food. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Henley Park Hotel for a 4-day weekend in March 2009. We chose the Henley Park based on outstanding Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was small but extremely clean, comfortable, and well-appointed, with remarkable attention to details. The staff were very pleasant and professional. We love to walk and appreciated that the hotel was in a perfect location for walking to all major attractions. The bed was very comfortable, the bedding plush, and the room quiet. Staying at the Henley made for a very memorable trip to DC and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager926, Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, all of our rooms has a little different configuration and size. It is great to hear that your impressions of the room were extremely clean. The housekeeping staff takes great pride in maintaining one of the cleanliest hotels in the city, Our plush bedding is made up of Frette Italian linens. We hope to see you soon on your return trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
757 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#114 of 142 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,716 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
439 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#76 of 142 in Washington DC
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the monotony of standard chain hotels. Discover a retreat that blends historic luxury and gracious service with the modern comforts today's traveler expects. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Henley Park Hotel was originally an apartment building named the Tudor Hall, a grand residence favored by senators, congressmen and other notables of Washington society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing