We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, Historic Jewel of a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, Historic Jewel of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I chose this hotel because it's within walking distance of the Smithsonian museums, which I wanted to visit, but also because it's a lovely 1918 historic hotel. Like many hotels of that period, its rooms and public spaces are smaller than those of big chain hotels. However, what it lacks in size, it makes up in character and charm. The hotel has been tastefully updated and is beautifully maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly, especially the greeter/doormen. I enjoyed staying in this unique property, and definitely would go back.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor, on the building side, and so was relatively quiet. The view wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigaglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    333
    113
    33
    32
See reviews for
55
299
76
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Nice location (near the Metro station and other tourist spots such as museums, malls, the convention center and restaurants), neat and clean room, courteous staff. Great food too. I will consider this hotel when I return to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I am pleased to learn from your review that you enjoyed our convenient location. Our Massachusetts Avenue address provides our guests a seamless way to explore the Washington, DC and is within walking distance of many area attractions as well as two Metro stations. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights for bussiness/pleasure trip. The location of the hotel satisfied my needs so I could walk to almost everywhere I needed to go or go to the nearest metro station (Gallery Place/Chinatown). This is a part of town where a lot of construction is taking place. In fact, right in front of the hotel there is a massive construction site of a big chain hotel but noise was not an issue in our case. Our room was facing the back buildings and not the construction site and the hotel also have earplugs available in case noise is a factor. The room was clean, spacious and the bed and pillows were very confortable. Also complimentary bottled water was always available as well as a Washington Post edition every morning at your door. The staff was very friendly and courteous (thank you Anwar) and willing to help in making your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luento32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Anouar will appreciate your compliment. He is a terrific Bellman and great member of our staff.
I am pleased to hear we hit the mark on all counts during your recent stay, that is always our goal.
Come see us again.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is a step above the others in the convention center area, as it is much more unique compared with the large chain hotels surrounding the area. The staff is quiet and helpful, and the room although small was very comfortable, nice bathroom. The restaurant was very good although waitstaff a bit slow. It can be noisy at times in the room given it is in a busy city and buses can go by, but the noise did not disturb me at night (and they supplied earplugs). Have stayed here before and will again.

Room Tip: rooms on the side facing 10th street (away from Massachusetts ave) are quieter and sunny in afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and loyalty, we really apprciate both. We always endeavor to customise our guests hotel experience so all requests are acknowledged and met whenver possible. Whether a spacious Junior Suite, a street or atrium view we appreciate hearing your preferences.
I hope that you will come back soon.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a boutique hotel. It is like walking into a 1900 swank hotel. Bar is stylish. Rooms are clean. I believe this was a former apartment building. Very close to everything. 5 blocks from the White House located in a quaint neighborhood. Very cool place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Nicely described! Thank you for your succinct review, a bit out of the cookie cutter format but lots of character. Come back and see us soon.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in DC. It is historical and it is quite interesting to stay there. It is clean and it does not smell like an old hotel. Staff is nice and accommodating. The only potential problem there is with the hotel is that there is a construction site rite across from the hotell entrance. It did not bother us since we stayed there over the weekend, but I can see it being annoying for someone staying there during the week.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
I am so glad that you found our little oasis in DC, unique historic ambiance with all the 21th century conveniences.
We are always happy to accomodate requests for atrium facing rooms whenever possible.
Thank you for your review.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, good location, very good service and staff was very friendly. Only drawback is that the website should state that there is a charge for parking. It was a surprise on final invoice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdzied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
I am so sorry that information about parking charges was not communicated to you at check in. It would be lovely to have access to free parking but unfortunately it is rare indeed in downtown Washington, D.C.
The parking information should have been readily available to you but I hope that your stay was otherwise pleasant. I will be sure to reinforce better communication in the future.
Information about parking can also be found on our web site at www.henleypark.com/fact-sheet/.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#111 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing