We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-value choice for DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #101 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is an older property, used to be an apartment building. It's a little dated, but my standard room was fine, with an updated bathroom, comfortable bed, nice lighting, small fridge. Nice sitting area off the lobby. Fitness center is awful (no ventilation, dated equipment). Staff are friendly. Location is a little out of the way, so its a few blocks to the Metro, sights, etc. Wifi is free, works well. Rates seem to be signficantly lower than other hotels in DC, so this makes the hotel a nice high-value option. While I wouldn't go out of my way to book a stay here, I'd come here again, particularly if I was on a tighter budget. (Please update the fitness center though!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your words of praise and for your feedback on the fitness center. We will certainly take your remarks into consideration when looking into future property improvements. Our historic building although unique and beautiful does present some challenges when adding modern amenities. We have improved the ventilation but space constraints to accomodate more equipment remain a challenge.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights, room was large with good bathroom and very comfortable and clean room, had breakfast each morning in restaurant which was fine, good service but a little higher priced than other hotels. Free WiFi was great in the room but poor on restaurant and lobby area ? Location is not far from China town and 2 metro stations, this is a High 3. & 1/2 star Hotel with good room rates for DC.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ballinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Our goal is to always acheive two goals, an excellent product and a good value. It is gratifying to hear that you felt we achieved both. We offer a three course Tasting Menu for dinner in our the Tavern Retaurant at $26.00 a person which includes a glass of wine. The food is very good and at that price...a great value. Come try us again.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We loved this hotel. Staff were all lovely, the hotel was reasonably priced with good facilities (room safe, bar, Washington Post delivered free to your door etc) and its location meant we scarcely needed to use public transport as so much is in walking distance. As someone else has mentioned, only quibble is that we were there during the snow but had to sleep with the window open as the bedroom was so hot. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roxanne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

What a glowing review - our team was thrilled to hear your praise, they go out of their way to provide the absolute best in guest service and hospitality. We are truly delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was my second time staying at the Henley Park Hotel in Washington D.C. and I would go back again. It is member of the Historic Hotels of America. It is located within walking distance of China Town, Fords Theater and many great restaurants. If you like walking you can also walk to the Smithsonian Mall, the Capitol and the White House (although it is a bit of a trek).
The standard rooms are small, but comfortable with free internet, and cable TV. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. There is a nice bar (with a good happy hour) and the restaurant menu looked good although I did not eat there (too many other restaurant choices close by).
My only criticism would be that my room was very warm and the only way to cool it off was to open the window...which was not all that convenient in February. There are no ice machines, so you need to order it (like room service) which can sometimes take a while. I was here on business and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geo2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your comments about the service provided by the staff, I know that they will be happy to hear your feedback. The staff and the historic features of the building make the Henley Park a truly unique hotel experience. I am pleased to learn from your review that you enjoyed our convenient location. It provides our guests a seamless way to explore the Washington, DC area and is within walking distance of many area attractions and two Metro stations. I hope that you will return soon.

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is very accommodating, we arrived at 12:05 in the afternoon and the front desk found a room for us immediately. The staff was very pleasant and helpful during our 5 day stay especially Alexandra at the restaurant for breakfast. She served us 3 times and she was exceptional. The price was above average, but well worth it. You cold get dinner foods as well, but we chose to try nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always gratifying to hear good things from our guests. Our staff is great and completely focused on personalizing your hotel experience. It is what they do best and I will relay your compliments to them.We do often have special rates that are offfered by calling or checking our web site. Make that return trip soon.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Fine location relatively close to the Capitol especially for the price. Staff very friendly particularly Cuong who stayed super busy as the restaurant host, bartender and waiter - always with a smile. The basic room was small, clean and the bed was comfortable. No desk and no easily accessible outlets in the room which makes it difficult work or to charge your phone/laptop. Had to place the coffee maker on the small bathroom counter. Had a couple of meals in the restaurant. Good food and great service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent visit. Our goal is to always provide an environment where our guests can relax and receive extraordinary service. I am happy to see that the staff did their usual great job. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I feel that we do offer a different experience than the large chain or big box hotels, a bit more style and personalized service.

Regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure if I just got lucky, but I paid $150 fir a room that said the going rate was $800. Anyways, it felt like a luxury hotel for a really reasonable price. There was a doorman and they kept checking to make sure I was settled. Funky decor, good sleep, great location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review, your compliments are appreciated. As a historic property we have tried to maintain the integrity of the original building with all it's unique features in order to offer our guests an experience and service from days gone past.
I am glad you found it to be a good value.Traveling these days can be difficult. I hope we made you feel a bit pampered. Make us your home away from home on all your future trips to DC.

Sincerely,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
758 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#113 of 142 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,722 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#71 of 142 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the monotony of standard chain hotels. Discover a retreat that blends historic luxury and gracious service with the modern comforts today's traveler expects. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Henley Park Hotel was originally an apartment building named the Tudor Hall, a grand residence favored by senators, congressmen and other notables of Washington society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing