We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taxi issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #101 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taxi issue”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is comfortable, clean and well located. However if you need to take a taxi, call one by yourself and don't ask the front desk. The taxi they use charge lot more than regular taxi ($80 for the airport vs $50-60 for a regular taxi).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am so sorry that your otherwise pleasant stay was marred by the overcharge on the part of the Town Car service. We require that the fees for transport for any car service be agreed upon with you prior to leaving the hotel. Usually our Bellman will recommend this service (they are not employees of the hotel but are required to represent our product appropriately) in lieu of taxis only if the guest requires the use of a credit card for payment or if you specify a preference for a limousine. Not all taxis in DC accept credit cards although that is in the process of changing.
I will be sure to follow up with my staff regarding proper procedures when recommending transportation services and their costs to our guests. Drivers who are shown to overcharge or who do not follow these guidelines will be removed from our list of recommended vendors.

Sincerely,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    335
    113
    34
    32
See reviews for
55
300
77
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is comfortable and historic without being stuffy. The restaurant food is not extraordinary, but the prices are decent for DC. However, there were some issues with service at the front desk all three times I interacted with the clerks. All three were slow to acknowledge, and not especially helpful with questions. I expected more care.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEtravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
You should most definitely have expected more care and prompt responses whenever you interacted with any hotel staff member. Our hotel size, style and mission statement clearly define our specialty as "exceptional customer service". That you felt otherwise is extremely disappointing. Be assured that I will review your feedback with the entire team and the Front Desk staff in particular.
If I can assist in any way now or on any future stay please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked a junior suite for an overnight with my adult daughter and her two friends. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was wonderful. Easy walk to the metro station. Will definitely plan to stay there again on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
How lovely that we could provide a comfortable venue for your getaway with your daughter. Plan on enjoying our English Tea Service with her on your return visit.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights in The Henley Park hotel. As this hotel is an old building it does appear a little 'tired'. Our Room was clean and comfortable. We had a Queen bed which is equivalent to a UK double and we found it small as we are used to kingsize. We were able to open the windows as it was quite warm for us, but was quite noisy during the night due to constant sirens. The bar staff was very friendly and happy hour was appreciated and we had the light bar snack - a
Selection of Fine Artisan Cheeses and Meats which was delicious and well worth the $15. WiFi was very slow in our room. Breakfast was really nice with a good selection, and the staff very pleasant. The hotel is very close to the White House and all other attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiganwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am happy to hear that you found your accomadations pleasing. We do offer King size beds in our Deluxe and Junior Suite Rooms for future reference. We have recently upgraded and expanded our wireless internet access services so you will find this much improved in the future. New menus for Spring are being finalized for Happy Hour as well, lots of new and reasonable items to help recover from a long day of touring our great city!
Thank you for your review,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife flew us for a four day weekend to D.C. over the first weekend in April. We went for the annual Cherry Blossom Festival.

We had a suite - specifically room 314. Very comfortable room - nice entry way into the room, nice sitting area, extremely comfortable king size bed and nice size bathroom. The turn down service, room service, restaurant and bar were all First Class.

The front desk personnel were very helpful, professional and attentive to our requests. We enjoyed high tea at 4 pm on our first day there and had dinner at the bar at 10 pm the next night...it was all very good.

The hotel is located approximately four blocks from the Mt. Vernon Square subway entrance or about 5 1/2 blocks from the Metro Subway entrance - either way it was very accessible and the walk was easy.

I have been to DC several times for work and have only stayed in the big corporate brand hotels - I would highly recommend this hotel for a couple who wish to enjoy the ambience of a historic hotel coupled with first class service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Your description of your stay was perfect and I so appreciate your review. It sounds like a wonderful "surprise" trip and hope that you will make it a regular stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is located near an underground station which we used every day to visit the attractions of Washington. The room was a good size, was clean and comfortable and lived up to my expectations! Breakfast was lovely and the staff were more than helpful to change items described on the menu if you wanted something else.
This hotel definitely has a relaxed feel to it and made our trip to Washington a memorable one. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind remarks. I will be sure to pass them along to the staff who work tirelessly to make us your stay in D.C memorable. I hope that you will come back soon.

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

It's a hotel placed in an charming old building, a few blocks from White House and other attractions.
Small but cozy rooms, well cleaned, and a bathtub in the toilet. Comfortable bed, but I think they should put more lamps in the room.
The breakfast is a good choice to start the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo_Jorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I am pleased to learn from your review that you enjoyed our convenient location, professional staff and historic ambience. We appreciate your feedback regarding lighting and have been upgrading all our rooms to include additional light fixtures. On your return trip you will find that the lights are brighter in your room.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#61 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#110 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing