We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #100 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend with my mom this past November and had a great stay. The hotel was so neat since it is historic! The room was comfortable and plenty of room for two people. My mom was attending a conference at the conference center which was just a few block up the street, a very short walk. The metro was a little further away which was ok but chilly in the morning! From the metro it was easy to get to all the sights. There is a restaurant in the hotel which was good for breakfast and dinner if you feel like staying in. There was construction going on across the street while we were there and sirens during the night. I got ear plugs from the front desk which helped eliminate the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

I am so happy to hear we were a pleasant backdrop for your Mother Daughter getaway. Our Tavern Restaurant staff really does a great job. They will be pleased to hear you enjoyed their products and service.
Happily the construction project accross the street is completed so you can enjoy restful nights on your return trip.

Regards,

Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Henley Park offers a lovely historic hotel, comfortable rooms, delicious food (especially the salmon), and a fine staff. We enjoyed having the Henley Park as our base for a five day visit to DC. Joanne, at the front desk, was always so helpful and accommodating. The restaurant staff, Sieble, Manuel, and May were perfect hosts and servers and the doormen were cheerful each day. A sudden and unexpected trip to the ER was made much less distressful due to the kind attentiveness of all the staff. They were considerate in so many ways. We highly recommend the Henley Park as a convenient and delightful place to stay in DC.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JKL72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Your words made me feel so proud of our staff. It is always gratifying to hear that they did there usual great job. They are completely focused on personalizing your hotel experience as you found out when faced with the need for medical services. It is what they do best and I will relay your compliments to them. I am pleased that in the end your stay was pleasant and hope that you will come back soon.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is comfortable, clean and well located. However if you need to take a taxi, call one by yourself and don't ask the front desk. The taxi they use charge lot more than regular taxi ($80 for the airport vs $50-60 for a regular taxi).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I am so sorry that your otherwise pleasant stay was marred by the overcharge on the part of the Town Car service. We require that the fees for transport for any car service be agreed upon with you prior to leaving the hotel. Usually our Bellman will recommend this service (they are not employees of the hotel but are required to represent our product appropriately) in lieu of taxis only if the guest requires the use of a credit card for payment or if you specify a preference for a limousine. Not all taxis in DC accept credit cards although that is in the process of changing.
I will be sure to follow up with my staff regarding proper procedures when recommending transportation services and their costs to our guests. Drivers who are shown to overcharge or who do not follow these guidelines will be removed from our list of recommended vendors.

Sincerely,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is comfortable and historic without being stuffy. The restaurant food is not extraordinary, but the prices are decent for DC. However, there were some issues with service at the front desk all three times I interacted with the clerks. All three were slow to acknowledge, and not especially helpful with questions. I expected more care.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEtravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

You should most definitely have expected more care and prompt responses whenever you interacted with any hotel staff member. Our hotel size, style and mission statement clearly define our specialty as "exceptional customer service". That you felt otherwise is extremely disappointing. Be assured that I will review your feedback with the entire team and the Front Desk staff in particular.
If I can assist in any way now or on any future stay please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked a junior suite for an overnight with my adult daughter and her two friends. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff was wonderful. Easy walk to the metro station. Will definitely plan to stay there again on our next visit to DC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

How lovely that we could provide a comfortable venue for your getaway with your daughter. Plan on enjoying our English Tea Service with her on your return visit.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights in The Henley Park hotel. As this hotel is an old building it does appear a little 'tired'. Our Room was clean and comfortable. We had a Queen bed which is equivalent to a UK double and we found it small as we are used to kingsize. We were able to open the windows as it was quite warm for us, but was quite noisy during the night due to constant sirens. The bar staff was very friendly and happy hour was appreciated and we had the light bar snack - a
Selection of Fine Artisan Cheeses and Meats which was delicious and well worth the $15. WiFi was very slow in our room. Breakfast was really nice with a good selection, and the staff very pleasant. The hotel is very close to the White House and all other attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiganwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I am happy to hear that you found your accomadations pleasing. We do offer King size beds in our Deluxe and Junior Suite Rooms for future reference. We have recently upgraded and expanded our wireless internet access services so you will find this much improved in the future. New menus for Spring are being finalized for Happy Hour as well, lots of new and reasonable items to help recover from a long day of touring our great city!
Thank you for your review,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife flew us for a four day weekend to D.C. over the first weekend in April. We went for the annual Cherry Blossom Festival.

We had a suite - specifically room 314. Very comfortable room - nice entry way into the room, nice sitting area, extremely comfortable king size bed and nice size bathroom. The turn down service, room service, restaurant and bar were all First Class.

The front desk personnel were very helpful, professional and attentive to our requests. We enjoyed high tea at 4 pm on our first day there and had dinner at the bar at 10 pm the next night...it was all very good.

The hotel is located approximately four blocks from the Mt. Vernon Square subway entrance or about 5 1/2 blocks from the Metro Subway entrance - either way it was very accessible and the walk was easy.

I have been to DC several times for work and have only stayed in the big corporate brand hotels - I would highly recommend this hotel for a couple who wish to enjoy the ambience of a historic hotel coupled with first class service.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie E, General Manager at The Henley Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Your description of your stay was perfect and I so appreciate your review. It sounds like a wonderful "surprise" trip and hope that you will make it a regular stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
758 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#114 of 142 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,720 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#76 of 142 in Washington DC
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the monotony of standard chain hotels. Discover a retreat that blends historic luxury and gracious service with the modern comforts today's traveler expects. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Henley Park Hotel was originally an apartment building named the Tudor Hall, a grand residence favored by senators, congressmen and other notables of Washington society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing