We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel - Nicely located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Nice Hotel - Nicely located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Henley Park Hotel for a week at the end of March. We registered online through AAA. We were given a nice, clean, and quiet room (Rm 503). Queen size bed, dresser, TV, coffee maker, closet, and bathroom. The room was big enough for our needs.
The personnel were helpful and very courteous. All questions were given attention.
The restaurant in the hotel is typically pricy for Washington, but the menu and meals are excellent. Breakfasts are worth the money, also.
The location is a few minutes walk from the Chinatown metro station, and the area around the hotel is clean and safe. Around the corner is the Washington, D.C. Historical Center. Worth a visit and across the street from this building are tour-bus stops.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plato72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    332
    113
    33
    32
See reviews for
55
298
76
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Found this Hotel searching for packages on Yahoo travel. I usually opt for the chains since they are a known quantity, but I decided to take a chance this time and am so glad I did. I got a deal of under $100/nt.

This place is fantastic. Spotless room and modern clean bathroom/shower. Comfy bed and well stocked mini-fridge(but pricey as always). We had a corner room on the 8th floor and it was very spacious with nice furnishings and not a cookie cutter type room. The lobby, bar and lounge are all very nice and clean. Staff is most excellent.

The Henley Park is very convenient to everything. Across from the Conv ctr, 10 min walk to Verizon and Chinatown, 20 min to the Smithsonians. 2 circulator buses($1 fare) stop within 2 blocks and can take you to the National Mall, Union Sta, and G-town. There;s a CVS and Cafe 1 1/2 blks north on 10th as well as many shops, cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

This is definitely my new home when coming to DC for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrmnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

I stayed 5 nights at the Henley Park earlier this month when attending a conference at the Washington Convention Center. The hotel is fantastically placed with regards to the Center, literally across the street and this was a huge advantage. The premises are quaint with the hotel occupying a historical building. While definitely not glittery-modern I enjoyed the atmosphere of the building. It is important to note that the hotel does not have any twin rooms - all are doubles - and this was almost a problem as I was travelling with a colleague and only found out upon arrival, but we were placed in room 414 that is a junior suite so we were OK. There is a tiny and slightly uncomfortable (too hot) fitness center on the 2nd floor that is open 24 hrs. The small but charming lobby holds a well stocked bar and really great restaurant called the Coeur de Lion. Had breakfast there a few times and enjoyed it each time. But what really got me was the service. My colleague forgot the DND sign on the door one day when we went out and returned at night to the mess we left earlier. Upon our request, housekeeping was there in a few minutes despite the late hour and took care of everything with a smile. A few people I would like to mention are Fausto in the restaurant who always made sure that everything was great and took a real interest in his guests. Thanks! Marianne (hope I spelled this right) in the bar at night who was as friendly as she is pretty. She remembered my favorite after the first time and made sure that Jack (Daniels) was there when I was. Thanks to you too! But the winner is Willis Anderson who worked the night shift on my last night there and when he heard that I would have to get up earlier than planned to feed the parking meter (the hotel parking service @ $30 was a bit too expensive for a few hours) he immediately said "no way. I'm here at that hour and I will stuff the meter for you so you can sleep another hour!" Willis - you made my day and stay. While it should be common, this type of outstanding service and caring by hotel staff is rare and the Henley Park is lucky to have such people. I know where I will be staying when I'm next in DC for a conference and highly recommend the Henley Park over the other huge hotels that are also in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Henlely Park Hotel has a prime location. We were able to walk to the Verizon Center for a Caps game, museums, and restaurants. Every room in the hotel, including ours, was clean. The employees were kind and helpful. I was nervous because I hadn't spoken to a person that had stayed there, but I was more than pleased with H.P.H. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

We only chose Henley Park after cancelling our booking at another hotel to save some money. I was very glad we did. The hotel has a lobby and lounge of a much more expensive hotel. The bar and restaurant looked similarly impressive. The staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in us. Our room did have a pretty direct view of a building under construction which might be a problem once it is finished as whoever is there will be able to see right into the room. Luckily it seemed construction had halted for the holidays so we were not disturbed by any noise. The location is good. We did not use any public transport and were able to see all the monuments and memorials as well as the Holocaust Museum. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoeticCrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

A nice historic hotel close to the convention center. Nice decor, staff etc. However it suffers from two critical defects: one, the street noise from about 06:00 AM is simplify awful, sleep is a lost dream and two, the coffee is simply vile, it makes one long for that dark swill they serve at ga stations.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Henley Park Hotel from Dec. 31 through Monday, Jan. 4th. We were on the 8th floor and our room overlooked 10th St.

The room was very clean, as others have stated, and we loved the bed and linens. We had a standard room, and it is probably the smallest I have ever stayed in. We were gone most of the time sight-seeing, so this was not a large problem. The bathroom was large, clean and adequate. The toiletries were nice - Coconut Lime Bath & Body Works.

It seems as if Massachusetts Ave. is a main thoroughfare for fire engines and ambulances. We heard them numerous times day and night. There was a brisk wind blowing during our stay, and this kept the windows rattling noisily and allowed a cold draft to blow through. The window in the bathroom would not close completely, and the room stayed very cold.

We only at in the hotel one morning for breakfast and the food was very good. I had Eggs Benedict, and my husband had smoked salmon on a bagel. It was $45 for both of us with a small pot of coffee.

One thing that left me feeling ripped off was upon leaving, I called the front desk and asked for a cab to take us to the airport. When we went downstairs we were directed to a Lincoln towncar belonging to the hotel. Great, I thought. What a nice gesture! When we arrived at the airport, the driver told us it was $20 plus tip. Our taxi from the airport to the hotel earlier in the week was $12 plus tip. This left a bad taste in our mouths. I would have preferred taking the cab and saving the $8, but was not given the option.

We enjoyed our stay, but I think we will stay closer to the museum district on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galveston_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#111 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Property: The Henley Park Hotel
Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegance of a grander era at The Henley Park Hotel in downtown Washington DC. Constructed as the Tudor Hall Apartments in 1918, this historic address served as the home of notable Senators and Congressmen. Showcasing a stately façade of leaded, stained-glass windows and 119 grinning gargoyles - including two depicting the architect and his wife - the lodging struck the ideal tone for its distinguished clientele. Thanks to a staff as attentive to tradition as it is to the ever evolving needs of the modern traveler, the civilized spirit which made The Henley Park Hotel one of Washington’s most cherished homes is very much intact. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing