We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Birthday Trip - Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Henley Park Hotel
Ranked #101 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Should of written this review when it was fresh now that a year and half of past and the memory seems to get a little foggier each year. I spent a lot of time review and deciding on what type of hotel (almost went w/Sofitel) for this surprise birthday trip. Couldn't of been happier w/the decision. This boutique hotel has tons of charm and the staff especially Derick Speight went out of their way to make this trip memorable and special for my wife. We felt very safe in the area and you could walk 3-5 blocks to lots of restaurants and things to see and of course the metro makes getting around super easy. Would be nice if the place was a little closer to a stop but the hotel was built first. If we get another chance to come back to the DC area this place will at the top of the list.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volney_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for The Henley Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2010

This was a nice hotel overall. For the people who say it's old, well, it is. It's a historic hotel, and it's well kept. It's a 4 star on most websites, but I would say that it is a solid 3 star. We booked through Hotwire and were given a room on the second floor. The room was nice with a large bathroom, 208, but it was near the elevator and had an adjoining door with the room next door. I didn't bother unpacking because I'm a light sleeper and the adjoining doors disturb me. I asked to move and was offered a smaller room with a double bed(202) or a tiny room/bathroom with a queen on the far corner (room 204). I gratefully took the move to the small room. I don't need a lot of room space, just a good location with a good bed. I was happy the front desk would consider a move on the same floor. I could tell moving a Hotwire booking to a higher floor was not an option.

The water pressure wasn't great for someone with long thick hair. Otherwise it was fine, plenty of hot water.

There was a tiny gym in a converted room on the second floor with 2 treadmills and a bike. We choose to run outdoors since the weather was good. They had some free water in there. Water in the rooms was $5 but we stocked up at CVS which is a block away.

The location was great, it was an easy walk to Starbucks, CVS, restaurants. The sheets and towels were nice and plentiful. I noticed the towels were Frette. They did offer room service but I thought the menu looked small and didn't try it. One of the best things the hotel offered was free dependable wifi.

There was no ice machine, but you could call the restaurant and they would deliver ice quickly. Stay in your room, the staff for ice delivery doesn't have a key to get in.

The front desk was good and was happy to make recommendations and reservations. I would stay here again. I also review the restaurant "Coeur de Lion" which is located in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champagneandcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Henley park hotel in Washington DC. The hotel was so impressive, having very nice and cozy rooms, well designed and so tidy. The bath room was quiet nice and clean. The sheets were so clean and the service was good also. The value was so good for such a hotel in Washington.
We did enjoy a lot and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azadeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Henley Park Hotel for a week at the end of March. We registered online through AAA. We were given a nice, clean, and quiet room (Rm 503). Queen size bed, dresser, TV, coffee maker, closet, and bathroom. The room was big enough for our needs.
The personnel were helpful and very courteous. All questions were given attention.
The restaurant in the hotel is typically pricy for Washington, but the menu and meals are excellent. Breakfasts are worth the money, also.
The location is a few minutes walk from the Chinatown metro station, and the area around the hotel is clean and safe. Around the corner is the Washington, D.C. Historical Center. Worth a visit and across the street from this building are tour-bus stops.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plato72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Found this Hotel searching for packages on Yahoo travel. I usually opt for the chains since they are a known quantity, but I decided to take a chance this time and am so glad I did. I got a deal of under $100/nt.

This place is fantastic. Spotless room and modern clean bathroom/shower. Comfy bed and well stocked mini-fridge(but pricey as always). We had a corner room on the 8th floor and it was very spacious with nice furnishings and not a cookie cutter type room. The lobby, bar and lounge are all very nice and clean. Staff is most excellent.

The Henley Park is very convenient to everything. Across from the Conv ctr, 10 min walk to Verizon and Chinatown, 20 min to the Smithsonians. 2 circulator buses($1 fare) stop within 2 blocks and can take you to the National Mall, Union Sta, and G-town. There;s a CVS and Cafe 1 1/2 blks north on 10th as well as many shops, cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

This is definitely my new home when coming to DC for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fyrmnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I stayed 5 nights at the Henley Park earlier this month when attending a conference at the Washington Convention Center. The hotel is fantastically placed with regards to the Center, literally across the street and this was a huge advantage. The premises are quaint with the hotel occupying a historical building. While definitely not glittery-modern I enjoyed the atmosphere of the building. It is important to note that the hotel does not have any twin rooms - all are doubles - and this was almost a problem as I was travelling with a colleague and only found out upon arrival, but we were placed in room 414 that is a junior suite so we were OK. There is a tiny and slightly uncomfortable (too hot) fitness center on the 2nd floor that is open 24 hrs. The small but charming lobby holds a well stocked bar and really great restaurant called the Coeur de Lion. Had breakfast there a few times and enjoyed it each time. But what really got me was the service. My colleague forgot the DND sign on the door one day when we went out and returned at night to the mess we left earlier. Upon our request, housekeeping was there in a few minutes despite the late hour and took care of everything with a smile. A few people I would like to mention are Fausto in the restaurant who always made sure that everything was great and took a real interest in his guests. Thanks! Marianne (hope I spelled this right) in the bar at night who was as friendly as she is pretty. She remembered my favorite after the first time and made sure that Jack (Daniels) was there when I was. Thanks to you too! But the winner is Willis Anderson who worked the night shift on my last night there and when he heard that I would have to get up earlier than planned to feed the parking meter (the hotel parking service @ $30 was a bit too expensive for a few hours) he immediately said "no way. I'm here at that hour and I will stuff the meter for you so you can sleep another hour!" Willis - you made my day and stay. While it should be common, this type of outstanding service and caring by hotel staff is rare and the Henley Park is lucky to have such people. I know where I will be staying when I'm next in DC for a conference and highly recommend the Henley Park over the other huge hotels that are also in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PharmaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Henlely Park Hotel has a prime location. We were able to walk to the Verizon Center for a Caps game, museums, and restaurants. Every room in the hotel, including ours, was clean. The employees were kind and helpful. I was nervous because I hadn't spoken to a person that had stayed there, but I was more than pleased with H.P.H. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
743 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,686 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
148 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henley Park Hotel

Address: 926 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#73 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £91 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henley Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the monotony of standard chain hotels. Discover a retreat that blends historic luxury and gracious service with the modern comforts today's traveler expects. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, The Henley Park Hotel was originally an apartment building named the Tudor Hall, a grand residence favored by senators, congressmen and other notables of Washington society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henley Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henley Park Hotel
Henley Park Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing