We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a great hotel close to it all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For a great hotel close to it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our family recently stayed here and we had a fabulous vacation in DC!! The hotel itself is located within walking distance of EVERYTHING (The White House, US Treasury, the Monuments, The National Archives, Ford's Theater, and the Smithsonians). If you have difficulty walking or just don't feel like it, the metro station is literally steps away and there are cabs always there. We opted for cabs on the hotter days because honestly, there is not much difference in price between a taxi and the metro for 4 people. And you get door-door service. Often we took a taxi to our location and walked back to the hotel- it's THAT close! The hotel itself is clean and the people at the front desk were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had an issue with our room location and they moved us promptly to accommodate our requests made at time of reservation. The rooms were clean however I would echo other reviewers sentiments and suggest they consider putting mini-fridges in the rooms. We were there during an exceptionally hot week and often water would be sold out in the machines and store. Having somewhere to put some would have been a real bonus. Our room deal included the breakfast and it was wonderful- great selection and the people working there were very friendly and have great service, even for a buffet! Last but not least, the concierges were AWESOME and gave us fabulous recommendations for restaurants and activities for our kids (11 and 8). Overall, we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it for families and those wanting to be close to all the sites in DC!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnlred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    368
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
259
174
33
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family hosted our family reunion this past weekend at the Marriott at Metro Center. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out our experience was beyond excellent. The staff was very friendly, professional and often went out of their way to assist with all of our needs. The Events and Banquet Staff are not only the best, but they worked extra hard to make sure that our family had a great reunion, and that we did. We had over 300 people from all over the country in attendance, not one negative comment from anyone (now that's impressive). The chef is the best, all of the food was great and the birhtday cake for my son was simply devine! The hotel is located in the heart of downtown DC, and it's near everything! The subway station is next to the hotel which was very useful for traveling around the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My sorority sister, Alonia Alexander, and I recently stayed at the Marriott at the Metro Center for our sorority’s 100 year anniversary convention. Actually Alonia insisted on staying at a Marriott. And am I glad she did! From our early morning arrival on July 9, to our departure on July 18, we experienced nonstop A-1 service. The rooms were clean, the food was delicious, and our interaction with staff was great! When we arrived at 8 a.m. Tuesday morning Manuel, one of the attendants, greeted us at the curb, with a warm welcome. Upon entering the hotel Steven Smith, the Director of Operations, personally escorted us to the counter and made sure that we were taken care of. Burnell Broadway, Head of Security, soon joined him in welcoming us. We stayed for 10 days and each day we entered the lobby in anticipation of greeting Auroa, the concierge, with a hug. To say she was attentive is an understatement. While Auroa made sure that we experienced the full affect of Washington, D.C., day shift security personnel, Carolyn, always questioned us as to where we were going and admonished us to be safe. Unfortunately we cannot name all of the staff that we came in contact with, however, Alonia and I certainly agree that they ALL went above and beyond their duties to make us feel welcome. They showed us that they truly appreciated our business. By the time we checked out of the Marriott, we felt like we were leaving family. Thank you Marriott staff, for the love.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel that is located just beside a metro station and at a 10 minutes walk from national mall and the white house. The room was very clean and staff were very helpfull. We asked to change room because of noisy neighbours and it was quickly done. On weekdays, food trucks are just in front of the hotel. Could not ask for more!!! In the hotel there is a Starbuck and a Cosi restaurant is just beside the hotel.The pool is small but the fitness center is great. Macy's is on the other side of the street and a food court is near (outside US tourists are offered a 10% discount card). I booked on the Marriott website and was able to get 1150$ for 6 nights, A great deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfrcusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here last week for vacation and loved everything about it! First, the location couldn't be more convenient to the Metro...literally steps from the hotel entrance. If you don't mind walking, though, the Mall is about 7 blocks away...not too far for DC standards. Also, its location at Metro Center gives access to the red, blue and orange lines. Second, the rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. And lastly, the employees all were polite and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I had never been to Marriott hotel before. Our stay in Washington was great.
-Staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Examples: 1)They accepted us before the official check-in time without extra charge, seeing that we had a baby and were waiting in the lobby 2)We asked a random staff member in the hall way if we could have a crib for the baby and he brought one in 10 minutes, along with a small fridge for the baby food, no questions asked, no extra charges 3)We had breakfast included. The food was really tasty and the buffet had what was needed to start our day with energy. The restaurant service staff was on time and very friendly.

The Marriott Metro Hotel was probably the most professional and family friendly hotel I have been in years. I have never felt so 'at home' and appreciated in a hotel. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Twelve family members stayed two nights. Perfect location to travel to the mall, capitol, restaurants, etc. Walk, use metro, or cabs. The kids enjoyed the pool. Rooms clean and staff helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,304 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Property: Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing