We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #48 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is well located and close to a lot of good places.

The room has a good size and the bed and shower are pretty decent.

The only complaint is to pay 12.95 per day to use the internet. In my opinion, a Marriot Hotel should provide internet for free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent place to stay. The Metro Rail is right outside the door within a few steps. Makes getting around DC very easy. Everyone was friendly and VERY helpful! Erik at the Concierge desk even gave us umbrella's a day in advance for the rain that was expected, so we would be sure to have one! The beds were very comfortable. After long hot days of sightseeing the room was very cool and comfortable. We found our refrigerator wasn't working and they sent a replacement up to the room right away...there was no waiting on it. The location of this hotel is excellent. We walked ALOT right from here to all the monuments.
The concierge booked us a night tour that was excellent. I highly recommend DC Tour as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for posting your stay about the Washington Marriott Metro Center on TripAdvisor. I will personally share your feedback with our Concierge. It's people like Erick that make traveling fun and exciting for our guests. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to DC.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a good hotel and a great location for visiting the National Mall and other DC sites. I prefer Marriotts and I am a Gold member. The rooms were a bit small but ok for a city. It was clean and comfortable for my wife, 2 kids and me. The A/C eco sensor that another reviewer complained about is simple to defeat- just push the button and the A/C will stay on sot his is non issue. The service was good and the people were friendly. Like most things in DC it was not overly cheap but delivers a solid value. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

You are paying for a great location, and not much else. No refrigerator. No microwave. No free wifi. No breakfast. No frills of any kind. Even the television remote was no frills - it did not have a "sleep" timer on it. The AC is on one of those stupid motion sensors, so be prepared to wake up in the middle of the night sweating half to death only to have to get up out of bed and flail your arms around the room trying to get the thing to kick back on!! Every. Single. Night! I was so tired by the time I left DC because I could never get a good night's rest! And not that it really matters, but the soap and bath products provided smelled horrid! It is a fabulous location, though - walk to anything you want or hop on the metro a few steps outside the door! I wouldn't stay here again, though. Far too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripTaker2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to read of your experience during your stay with us. I'd like to learn more about it to see where we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel at 202-737-2200 and I would be happy to speak with you.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I visited DC with our 6 and 7 year old children for Easter week. We stayed our first 2 nights at the Dupont Circle Hotel and then the second 2 nights at the Washington Marriott at Metro Center before we moved on to Baltimore City. The Washington Marriott was great for the price considering its city location ($275 for the room and $50 for parking). It would have been better if we stayed at the Washington Marriott at Metro Center and then moved on to the Dupont Cirlce Hotel because the first thing our kids wanted to see were all near the Washington Marriott at Metro Center (Air and Space Museum etc.) and then in the last two nights we went to the zoo and Georgetown which were all closer to the Dupont Circle Hotel. Considering this is a city hotel it was relatively kid friendly which made things more relaxing for my wife and I. The breakfast though not included in the price was great for the amount it cost me of around $50 a morning for my whole family. The valet service was easy and the door men immediately asked me if I'd like my bags put in storage until my room was ready. My wife and I travel to many big cities with our two young children and most of the time we have to request at the front desk to do something with all the bags we have because we arrived at the hotel at 11am and checkin is not until 3pm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Townhouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel has excellent accommodations and staff. Staff greets you with a genuine smile and are ready, willing, and able to help. The Concierge Lounge staff is exceptional. It is centrally located and Metro transpiration is literally a half block away.

Room Tip: When checking in, be sure to ask for the lowest rate available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

When in D.C., the Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a fairly good location for those doing business in the city. I would not recommend staying here as a family, but for business it is fine.
The property is ancient, yet the interiors are well maintained, the staff is friendly, the place is very clean. However the pricing is outrageous for what one gets. At $300/night (and that's a discounted, group rates) it is WAY too pricey for the amenities offered.

The guest rooms have but two electric outlets at the desk and one is already assigned to the cord drapped over the work surface that runs the little cube refrigerator that stands quietly in the corner. Whoa, for $300/night, wouldn't you expect that the refrigerator would be concealed in a nice cabinet? Thankfully, it was quiet. It just isn't something aesthetically comforting and really is nothing to look at.

The bedding was comfortable, the bathrooms very clean and nicely serviced. Although, if you've asked for extra towels you will receive them upon check-in and never thereafter.

The gold member club room is much like any other Marriott. The usual, reduced fair from what we were once accustomed to from several years ago. So it is across the chain.

The location is what makes this place happen in that it is located steps from the Washington Metro's Metro Center station. If you know where the north elevator near Macy's is located, you are about 50 steps from the Marriott's front door. Metro Center is at the cross roads of the Blue, Orange, and Red lines, so getting anywhere on the system is pretty convenient.

However, if this hotel is on your list of sites to stay and you're attending a function at the Washington Convention Center, this is NOT the best place. You'll want to take the Metro instead of walking the 7,8 or 9 blocks to the convention center.

The brand new Marriott Marque is less expensive than this place and comes in at about $249/259 on a group rate basis. The Marque is the place to be if you're staying with Marriott in the city.

BTW, the restaurant at the Marriott Metro Center, called Fire & Sage, is really pretty good. I'm not much of a fan of hotel food and hotel restaurants, but this place is pretty good and therefore I raised the overall score from Average to Very Good. More on Fire and Sage under a separate review.

Oh, this is a location to stay if you're not driving! Taxi, Metro, hitchhiking, to this location is FAR preferred over driving.

Room Tip: This is one Marriott where you do NOT want to stay near the elevators. Behind the elevator bank to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillsbury1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
3,150 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
1,771 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Address: 775 12th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £103 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best attractions, shopping and dining in the nation's capital. Our hotel in Washington, D.C. offers a premier location near the metro system, giving guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Washington Marriott at Metro Center's engaging environment and Starbucks Cafe make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to D.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing