We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, unbeatable location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, unbeatable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had to be in Washington on business, so my wife and I came up a couple of days early to be tourists. Like most of the hotels where I stay, I used a third-party website because of the better rate. Of course, this also puts you in a position to not know exactly what you're getting into. In a nutshell: home run.

The location is top-notch for two big reasons: first, you're within walking safe distance of many locations, including The White House and memorials along The National Mall. You're also within walking distance of a number or restaurants and bars. Second, Metro Station is right outside the hotel. If you're hesitant about using mass transit, at least give the Metro a try. It's affordable and will get you anywhere in the city in very short amount of time.

Check-in and check-our were a breeze. Our room was great and had everything you would expect from a four-star hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. And, although we did not use the service, there is a concierge downstairs to help you get around the city.

We stayed for two nights, then switched to a different hotel because it was the location of the business group with which I was involved. My wife and I both agreed: Marriott-Metro Center was superior to the other location in every way. I would recommend it for business, couples, solo, and families.

FYI: I gave the hotel top grades in all categories with which I was familiar. I ranked the spa and breakfast in the middle, only because I wanted to neither heap praise on areas in which I had no experience, nor shortchange them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chace_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review of the Marriott Metro Center. I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'll be sharing your comments with the team here. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to DC!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    367
    95
    14
    10
See reviews for
258
173
33
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for one night for a concert at the Verizon Center. I have nothing negative to say, valet and front desk were very nice, room was nice and clean. The bar had a nice happy hour with decent food.
If you're seeing something at the Verizon Center this is an ideal location, there's also a lot of great food in the area.
After staying at the Willard in April, the rooms here appear bigger but less "stately", it also seems a bit more corporate and sterile. Valet parking was the same price at both properties. I'd go back to either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
269 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed at the Marriott Metro several times, and stayed this time because of my prior experiences. First off, it sits on top of the Metro Center station, so access to the Metro is very easy. Secondly, it's in a great location for access to everything else. Third, there's a Starbucks in the lobby. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to DC.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My best friend and I booked a room at this hotel last night because her mother is in ICU and took a bad turn so we needed to stay in the city in case we were needed. The reservation line that booked us quoted us a wrong rate so when we checked in the rate was quoted at $499. When we explained the situation to the front desk manager he discounted the room to a political rate which was less than half of the standard rate. He even offered us free wifi Internet so that we could use social media to keep family updated on her mom's status. This was so wonderful of the staff at this hotel and they were very friendly and accommodating through our stay. My best friend and I are now loyal Marriott customers for life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford,ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights this past weekend. Very friendly staff. Restaurant and bar were nice. This is very convenient place to stay. White House about five blocks away. Rooms were very nice. Valet parking is very pricey at $42.00 per day. Wow. Over all, a great trip and a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jremra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
453 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here on business and although it was not as convenient as where I usually stay, it's a good hotel. The service is particularly good from front desk, to the bar, and front door staff. They really go that little bit extra.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatchersBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Washington Marriott at Metro Center on TripAdvisor. I will make sure to personally share your story with our staff so they can share in our appreciation of your feedback. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Jay Lefkowittz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights, in April during our road trip. The Location was amazing, as it was walking distance from almost everything we wanted to see in the city including some great restaurants. The service however was lacking a bit, The front desk was fine, but service in the restaurant was less then what we expected. Not worth the money that you spend for this Hotel. I think the JW would have been a bit better choice, even if it is a bit more expensive. Room was clean, and comfortable, but as many others have reviewed, you are paying for the location and not that actual hotel, and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. While I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your trip, I'm sorry to learn about the service in the restaurant. I'd very much like to learn more about your experience to see if there's anything specific we can do to improve. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel 202-737-2200. I'll look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks again,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Property: Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing