We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here on a weekend for 2 nights for a wedding. The wedding was in the hotel so this was the recommended place to stay. Overall everything was very nice. Rooms appear to be updated at some point recently. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean with updated fixtures. Room was a decent size for a large city. On the top floor but still no real view. Room was very quiet and could hardly hear any street noise and couldn't hear anything in the hallway. Had an unfortunate incident the 1st night. The fire alarm went off at 2 am. Was told we needed to evacuate. Kind of unsettling. Turned out to be nothing. Good thing since we didn't even make it 2 floors down in the stairwell due to a backup from everyone leaving below. Staff handled the situation as best they could.

There's a Starbucks in the lobby as well as a bar and restaurant. Had a few drinks at the bar. Ok Service. Seemed understaffed. Also had breakfast one morning. Food was good but way overpriced. Unfortunately there was nothing nearby that was open early for breakfast on a Saturday (early meaning prior to 8am). At least nothing we could find. The hotel is in a good location. Just maybe 6 blocks or so down to the Mall. A few blocks over to the Chinatown/Verizon Center area where there are a bunch of bars and restaurants. And then 4 or 5 blocks over to the White House. And the Metro entrance is a half block away so can't beat that. Red/Blue/Orange line service will get you anywhere you need to go in the city. All in all a good stay. Would stay here again even if we didn't have a wedding to attend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that even though everything didn't go according to plan that you enjoyed your stay. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    377
    96
    16
    11
See reviews for
269
175
35
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for days while in Washington,DC. Check in was fast and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. This hotel is in the center of various sites of the city if you are a tourist. Some of these sites are within the walking distance. They offer valet parking which is expensive, and there is not much parking area offered in the area, so you almost have to use there parking. The room size is small, but clean. I was disappointed that they did not have a refrigerator or coffee maker in the room. There is a Starbucks on the property which is good for coffee lovers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiny812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
293 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here during our trip to DC for our honeymoon. It was in a really great location, beside the subway. It was walking distance to many sights or a short cab ride. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was very nice and they upgraded us at no charge to a really fantastic corner room. It was very clean and spacious. There's a Starbucks downstairs as well as a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DnllJns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We have absolutely no complaints. The room was a great size, super clean. Loved the pool, the Starbucks and all the staff who were super helpful.

Walkable to the major sites any hotel in this area is great for a tourist.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I'm so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Washington Marriott @ Metro Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there one night recently on a business trip. Check in was fast and they comped me for Internet access even though I was only a Silver status member. Room was great, clean, etc. Nice sized towels.

Was about to leave for dinner somewhere in the area when it started raining like crazy. Popped into the hotel restaurant which was surprisingly good and great service!

The gym is fairly well equipped and the pool is an added bonus.

Also a nice 1/2 block from the Metro Center subway stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msalamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the Washington Marriott @ Metro Center on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to DC.

Thanks.
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Were in D.C. for a graduation and chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Metro, and we were thinking of using that for our transportation. In the end, we used our car. We arranged for a "red eye" check-in, because we knew it would be close to midnight when we arrived. Valet parking was not an issue - spots available and the car was waiting for us next morning at the requested time. At check in we were offered the option of a king bed or 2 doubles, and they placed us on the same floor as our relatives. The rooms were average size, comfortable. I thought it smelled a bit musty, but my husband said he didn't notice. Since we were there all of 7 hours, I didn't make an issue of it. We had late night drinks in the lounge area. Our waiter was great and we had a lot of fun. We did not try the restaurant, just a quick coffee at Starbucks. All in all a fairly pleasant stay. A bit pricey for our short stay, but most DC hotels are. Have stayed in better and worse. Would probably try the Pennsylvania Ave Marriott next time, only because of the musty odor. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catchmelater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I'll make sure that we follow up appropriately on the item you mentioned in your review. Please let me know the next time you'll be in the area. I'll look forward to meeting you.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

good hotel, clean. friendly concierge service. good location also. only used it to sleep. they are really into not letting people come into the hotel after having too many drinks though. even though our group was there for a half marathon and it was a celebration. otherwise it was nice.

Room Tip: right next to the metro center to jump off and on to get anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed the marathon. At Marriott, the safety and security of our guests is a top priority. We strive to provide an enviornment that is safe and welcoming for all of our guests and I hope our team was able to do just that.

We'll see you on your next visit to DC!

Thanks.
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Property: Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Address: 775 12th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing