We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay and Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome stay and Awesome location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to Washington D.C. on my way to the Microsoft Worldwide Partner Conference, we booked in online at the Marriot, both of its great location close to the Washington E convention Center, and its location close to all the monuments and the National Mall. We had great service from the staff, even after picking up a discrepancy on the invoice. All our travels were done by subway, and the Metro subway station is right next to the hotel, making lifts to and from the hotel to historical sites and business hubs very easy.

Very friendly and professional staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laubscher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    385
    100
    16
    11
See reviews for
280
177
35
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Location is definitely a great factor this hotel. Brought my family here while I attended a conference and it was very easy for them to get around. The metro is within a block. Food and some sights are also within walking distance. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Promos with king beds have a pull out sofa. Great people and great service.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlexFIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location. Take Blue Metro from Reagan Airport, look for the Macy's sign to know what exit. Within two blocks of the White House, Within two block of Ford Museum - where Lincoln was shot (free - just need to get tickets at the window). which is a block from the Spy Museum. What is nice is being right next to the Metro you can get to any attraction - Zoo, National Mall, Capital, etc... quickly. Plus our two favorite restaurants Capital City Brewery a half a block up and Matchstick pizza 4 blocks towards Chinatown. For breakfast, two block up and one block left to get to McDonald's. Also remember to bring swimsuit. Nice pool and workout area. Nice beds and staff.

Room Tip: We normally stay on 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, daughter, and I recently stay here for two nights while visiting the white house, capitol, and museums as tourists. What an absolutely perfect location. It's a three-block walk to the white house down energized streets that have much to offer in terms of shopping, fine dining, or budget dining. It's literally on top of the metro stop, and not just any metro stop but a transfer station where every train line but one services. You can get anywhere easily. It's a few blocks to Chinatown, the museums, or fine dining. Despite being a hub of activity, it's quiet in the rooms. I appreciated the spaciousness and the amenities (wifi and fridge in particular). The only thing I didn't like was the $6 bottles of water, but that can be avoided by going to the CVS two blocks away (H at 14th) or the Starbucks in the lobby.

The place was very clean and fast paced. I absolutely appreciated the chili lobby every time we returned from a walk through the humidity. The elevators were fast, as we were on the 11th floor and never spent more than one minute waiting and riding the elevator up or down. The staff seemed nice, although we didn't interact much. The only complaint, and this is not the hotel's fault, is that the courtyard of the building next door really smells bad, and you need to hold your breath when you walk by. But somehow once you are in the building, that smell is completely gone.

Room Tip: I'm not sure this place has a bad room.
See more room tips
Green Features: We liked their policy on towels and linen. We also liked the option to recycle in the lobby containers.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casualfamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in early June. Previous stay was is in Aug 09. The redo of the rooms is outstanding. Everything looked brand new! I also liked the key entry, like a subway/transit pass, tap on the door.

Fires and Sage was very good. We had the breakfast package in our room rate, up to $22 for breakfast. Also ate dinner (scallops and a flatbread pizza) that we still talk about!

Like everyone says: Great location, easy Metro, easy walk for sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jef7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel which is accessible to lots of attractions in DC, this is the hotel for you. The Washington Marriott at Metro Center is just a 5 minute walk to Chinatown, 10 minutes to the Natural History, American History and Art Museums, 15 minutes to Ford Theatre and if you're brave enough, a 25-30 minute walk to the White House.

Bed are cozy though double beds are a little small. The toiletries are fantastic (Thann toiletries) and when you ask for anything (room service, extra toiletries), the front desk is really good about calling you to check to see if you've received what you're asking for.

The hotel is a little expensive ($210 a night) and parking is at $42 plus tax per night so be prepared to spend a bit more if you want the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the minute we arrived on the 4th of July until we left on the 5th, I felt cared for and tended to. The staff went above and beyond in spite of being busy. We came just to be close to the mall and see fireworks. There is inexpensive 24 hr parking across the street the bell man told us about. The lobby restaurant breakfast was reasonably priced and delicious. The indoor pool is saltwater so no stinky chlorine. Towels and linens were brought to our room right away. Front desk was courteous and helpful. Location to mall was an easy walk but the metro station was convenient. For $8 we got a cab for a tour spot at the Capitol. Great trip. ID stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saphfirebluez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay-AGM, Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
saphfirebluez,

Thanks for your post on TripAdvisor about the Washington Marriott @ Metro Center. Summer is a great time to be in the city and I'm glad you got to enjoy the holiday in the nation's capital. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon.

Jay L
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#97 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott at Metro Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Property: Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Address: 775 12th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3901
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott at Metro Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best of Washington, DC area attractions, shopping and dining. Our premier location near the DC metro system provides guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Verizon Center and Walter E. Washington Convention Center, this Washington, DC hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Our hotel's location, engaging environment and dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, make us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. Of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With easy access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Marriott at Metro Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott At Metro Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Marriott Metro Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing