We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
traceythomas64
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location for visiting the White House and all the other associated tourist attractions as they were all within walking distance. We struggled to find something to eat locally for evening meal on the first night, as we had a full day out at the attractions and there seemed to be a lack of eating places, however, the following night, feeling tired and not wanting to walk far, we turned left out of the main entrance down the side street and found a road full of places to eat, including a great little bar and a few shops!!

Stayed in room 201 which was spacious, quiet and pleasant with very comfy king bed and pillows. The room was right next to the lift but we hardly heard a thing and slept well. Plenty of hanging for clothes and lots of fresh towels in the room. There was plenty of storage in the bathroom for toiletries and a good powerful hair dryer was available too!! Coffee making was available in the room, however unlimited free tea and coffee was also available in the lobby.

Entrance to the lifts and toilets in the lobby was by room key fob only, so making the hotel very secure. There was a curious life sized statue of President Kennedy in the lobby and the walls of the corridors were adorned with photos of presidents past and present which gave a sense of history to this modern building.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a great choice of hot and cold meats, cereals, eggs, bacon, fruit etc or you could order from a more formal menu and have omelettes cooked while you watched, all served by pleasant staff. Our first morning we had to join a long queue for breakfast but, as I usually do in a queue, I timed it and it was only a 5 minute wait, which enabled us to look at the lovely photos on the wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    557
    214
    47
    29
See reviews for
453
249
73
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A comfortable and welcoming hotel. Room excellent size for the week we stayed, a settee and armchair provided so we could relax after a day sightseeing. Free tea/coffee available anytime of the day. Had breakfast in the restaurant most days a wide choice at reasonable prices. Free Wi Fi so that we could research where we were visiting each day. One block from the D.C. Circulator bus which for 1 dollar took you downtown to Mcpherson Sq. in easy reach of White House or to pick up Metro system .All the staff friendly and helpful a small gift shop in hotel to get postcards, snacks etc. One block also from cafes, supermarket and other shops. The bar in the hotel also served meals in a more informal setting at night if you didn,t want to use the restaurant. Our room was at the side overlooking 15th St. and we were not disturbed by noise, the bed was comfortable, small bathroom but perfectly adequate. Only regret we were too early for swimming pool to be open although the weather was hot. Would recommend this hotel ! The décor looked a little tired but not really important

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela080269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Good location, very central within walking distance of the White House. The room was big, with wifi, and breakfast was good. The hotel could do with a bit of redecoration in places, but no big deal. There was some confusion when I arrived, as it took them 15 minutes to retrieve my booking and find me a room, but everybody stayed calm. The waxwork model of JF Kennedy in the lobby (some kind of deal with Madame Tussauds) really freaked me out though; I could have done without that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Enjoyed this hotel except for a couple of things. The bed was very uncomfortable & we were in the back of the hotel, so heard all the garbage pick up,and early morning deliveries. The front desk staff were very accommodating. Close proximity to most sites. There is a shuttle right across the road for the "big bus" tour. Tour was okay but I think the "hop on hop off" would take you closer to sites. The breakfast was good @ hotel. That was the only meal we ate. There are many very good restaurants in the area such as "Le Diplomat", and "Al Tiramisus". We did a great food/walking tour in Georgetown through DCTours. Do not eat before this tour as there is plenty of food. I will definitely be back to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for room on street side as probably quieter. I know they upgraded hotel but perhaps not all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Womanonthelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Womanonthelam,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our front desk staff very accommodating, breakfast good and convenient location. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience our beds may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Customer Service at it's finest from check in to check out. We arrived April 01,2014 and stayed 11 days. The front desk staff knew us by name after check in and were always accommodating and very kind. The weather was perfect and we walked a block to some great "neighborhood" restaurants. There is a Whole Foods 1 1/2 blocks away and a Fed Ex about 2 blocks easy walking. I would recommend this hotel for families and business travelers. Many of the individuals staying were on business, however I did see some over seas tourists arriving.

Room Tip: Easy access to this hotel. Quiet rooms. We had a room overlooking the street and it was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janisue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good option of hotel, close to most important turistic places. Didn't try restaurant but staff seemed very helpful. Did not have breakfast or used spa to evaluate. Room not big for a couple with 2 suitcases.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Guys at check in very hurried and didn't explain how to find the well-hidden garage. No space in garage (once we found it), very tight maneuvering, had to wait for another car to leave. Room was clean, but no shampoo, had to call twice and wait over an hour to get some. We found, later, that another, nicer hotel we have used was on sale about $20 -30 less, wish we had stayed there instead. This hotel is adequate, clean, but short on customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear ChristineVI,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff and staying in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor customer service you have received. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident that corrective measures will be taken to improve our guest services.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, D.C. Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing