We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed with the room but convenient for work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #53 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed with the room but convenient for work”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The good: the hotel is nice, the common spaces and rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. The location of the hotel was convenient for my work and there are a number of nice restaurants and bars in the vicinity. The bad: the location isn't that convenient for getting around DC and Arlington. The nearest subway stations are Farragut North and West about 15 minutes away on foot, as is the white house and another 5 minutes to the Mall and Washington Monument. This was really only a problem with young child in tow. The ugly: despite its cleanliness the room was tired, no ventilation in the bathroom (with obvious signs of water damage). We were a little surprised there was no fridge but I hadn't realised how common that was in mainland hotels. Finally, I'm pretty certain (though untested) the rooms are made of cardboard. The RU women's basketball team were staying on our floor and they may as well had been in our room! I'd recommend this room for business in the vicinity, not so much for sightseeing with kids.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldWideWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    586
    224
    49
    33
See reviews for
493
259
74
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Holiday Inn Central/White House was a great deal! It was in the middle of Washington DC, which was convenient. However, you should plan to do a LOT of walking. I love walking for exercise, but I've never walked more than on this trip. The nearest subway stop is about .8 miles away. It took us about 20-30minutes to get from Ronald Raegan to the hotel by cab.

I didn't need anything fancy since I didn't plan to stay in the hotel very much, so this was a great choice. The decor was very dated. It is within walking distance of CVS pharmacy, Whole Foods, and several restaurants. I arrived at the hotel at 12 p.m. and was allowed to check in early. They also keep Werther's candy at the front counter, which was nice. :)

The fitness center was okay for cardio. It had a bicycle and a treadmill. There was only one weight machine, but luckily we were the only people in there at the time.

The free wi-fi was a definite plus!

There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I never ate there. Overall, I think this was a great hotel for the money and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceyb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We chose this hotel to be our "home base" when we came to Washington, D.C. to watch my husband run in the Marine Corps Marathon. I cannot say enough about how accommodating the staff of this hotel was to our every need. By the second day, everyone at the front desk knew us. The housekeeping staff said hello from waaaaaaay down the hall if they saw us (or any other guests) leaving our room(s). The Holiday Inn relaunch has brought a new look to this hotel and it was fun for the kids to look for the green uplighting on the walks home in the evenings. It was an easy walk to several metro stations and not completely out of the way for you just to walk to the White House, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Museums, or the Capitol Building. The 24-hour coffee in the lobby was awesome (better than some large coffee chain's brews). Overall, we had a wonderful trip and would definitely return to / recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmingtonNC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Hotel decor is rather old-fashioned, but for the price and location some things are worth overlooking, and both public areas and rooms were clean and tidy. Location is excellent, being about 10mins walk from the White House (about the same from the nearest Metro station as well though). Staff were superb! Friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast. The breakfast buffet, whilst not cheap was well stocked with warm and cold food - a good choice of foods including omlette bar. A la carte was also on offer. Would be happy staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My spouse and I stayed here recently for one night. The staff was helpful and courteous. The parking garage was a good feature as we were in a residential part of town and needed to park, it was conveniently located on a lower level under the hotel. The king size bed was very comfy. There was a slight issue with a leaky toilet that was promptly handled. It was convenient walk to the Metro or to the sites of D.C. The proximity to Dupont Circle was plus.
Breakfast vouchers were included with the reservation and the Saturday morning buffet featured made to order eggs and omelets, included an egg white veggie omelet. The staff was very attentive especially at check in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdRally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I liked this hotel. Very friendly front desk staff. The room was basic, but clean and well maintained. Separate second bath sink outside bathroom was nice. Breakfast service and food exceeded my expections. The hotel is located in a nice area. It is fairly residential, but close to main tourist sites and metro. This hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Good reasonably priced hotel within easy reach of all Washingtons main sites Service etc from staff was excellent, could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The room was clean and roomy for a budget hotel with a sitting area in the room. Hotel restaurant was reasonably priced with a straight forward menu. If you want somewhere close to all the main sites at areasonable cost this is the place to stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinmansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
666 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing