We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #53 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location...Good value!”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Booked this hotel as colleagues had stayed here on previous visits to DC and i stayed at the Helix across the road. i have stayed in other hotels in Dc too. Didn't book the helix this time as it was too expensive. This hotel isn't anything special but it is walking distance to the Convention Centre (15 mins) and all the other tourist attractions are reasonably close too. Check in was easy and we were given vouchers for the breakfast buffet which was a good fresh buffet. The room was big with a good size bed and was well maintained and cleaned every day. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellyman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    586
    224
    49
    33
See reviews for
492
259
74
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouthport, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This hotel is a good value for the business traveler. Clean, good location, friendly staff, adequate rooms, and free wi-fi. Amenities are appropriate given the price tag. Don't hesitate to book into this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJVCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Our stay at this hotel was wonderfu! We arrived late at night and the front desk clerk was exceptionally helpful and friendly during check-in. Our check-in was effortless and quick, which is a plus for weary travelers. Our room was nice, clean, and spacious with extremely comfortable beds. The bathroom was aesthetically pleasing with modern countertops, excellent lighting, and it was spacious enough that one could get ready without feeling confined. The additional sink with a mirror outside the bathroom was a great amenity.

The hotel has a friendly staff as everywhere we went we were greeted and welcomed to the hotel. John and Johnny at the front desk were always accommodating in ensuring that we were comfortable within the hotel and had adequate directions any time we ventured into the city. Each time we entered the hotel we were greeted and asked how our day was. Their line of communication was so open that I would never hesitate to ask them for anything, knowing that they would do everything they could to ensure that our stay was enjoyable.

This hotel is also conveniently located within walking distance of the metro and numerous tourist sites, including the White House. The surrounding area is nice and somewhat residential which makes the walks to the many stores and restaurants in the vicinity even more pleasant. Nearby is a supermarket, Starbucks, shopping, trendy cafés, and incredible restaurants. Two of my favorite restaurants I discovered were Agora and Café Luna, both of which are within walking distance near Dupont Circle.


Thank you to everyone who made our first visit to the D.C. area an incredibly wonderful and memorable one. We will definitely return and I would love to stay in this hotel again. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I travel to DC a few times a month and usually stay in the Embassy Suites on 10th St. In an attempt to save my company a few bucks, however, I thought I'd give the Rhode Island Ave Holiday Inn a try. It's a mistake I won't make again. Things started off poorly when they put me in a double smoking room on Floor 2, despite my reservation for a king nonsmoking. The (too-soft) beds weren't a dealbreaker, but the smoking was, so they switched my rooms (and I moved my own stuff; they didn't send a porter to help - though they might have if I had specifically requested one). The furnishings and decor are very 1980's, and some of the towels had noticeable threads hanging and needed replacement. The bathrooms are very small - you literally have to stand in between the toilet and counter in order to shut the door - and are missing some standard amenities (what modern hotel doesn't provide conditioner??). The phones are grimy, the free wi-fi doesn't really work, and housekeeping starts at 8:15 am, which seems at least an hour too early. But other than the phone, things generally seemed clean, so they get a star for that. And the location, while about five blocks from the Metro, is very close to the excellent restaurants and the Whole Foods on P St, so another star for that. But on the whole, the place feels a bit seedy and I wouldn't stay here again. If you're traveling on your own dime, go to Pr*celine for a much better hotel at a much lower price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed one night. The front desk staff was courteous and professional. Had to switch room because the 1st "non-smoking" room had been smoked in. The staff did so with no problem and no complaints. The second room was fine other than a little funky smell when the heat turned on that did dissippate. The bed is comfortable and even in the room by the elevators I had no noise problems.

My biggest complaints were the "gift shop" is a little underwhelming and the bathroom is REALLY small. The parking garage is also hard to find and difficult to maneuver.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvn8tive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Front desk staff greets you with big fat smile on their faces and it is just makes you feel like you are home! Everyone was easily accessible general manager himself asked me personally if everything was fine during my stay. There is no question in my mind that I am staying at holiday inn central in Washington DC during my next trip. Thanks to you guys for giving me the opportunity to express my feelings.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahsinDogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

My family and I were very disappointed in the quality of service we received at this hotel. When asking for directions to the White House, the front desk agent (which was one of the managers) pointed to the end of the lobby and said “gift shop.” We went into the gift shop and asked the lady behind the register for directions. In the middle of giving us directions her personal cell phone began to ring and instead of turning it off, she answered it! I was shocked that she would answer while she was helping a guest! No one, in any profession would answer their cell phone while dealing with a customer! No employee seemed very enthusiastic about their position. In hospitality, the guest NEEDS to be number one. My family is not high maintenance and we are not complainers so to be writing this review with very negative remarks is rare. This hotel has left me with a very bad impression and I will look elsewhere for my accommodations if I return to the D.C. area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventure789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManager1501, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear Adventure789,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you encountered.

It is not our practice to send our guests to the gift shop for directions, however, the Managers at the front desk will be counseled about the information you have relayed.

The gift shop is not operated by the hotel and leased to an outside company. Nonetheless, we will speak to them and follow up on the issues you have noted to make sure this does not reoccur.

To more effectively address the concerns you have raised with the specific staff members involved, we would like to speak with you further to get additional information. At your convenence, please call the General Manager or Assistant General Manager at 1-800-248-0016.

Sincerely,

Barbie Stedman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,509 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
665 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,822 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing