We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #85 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The front desk staff of this Holiday Inn were fantastic. Helped us with lots of inquiries :-) When we arrived about 4 hours early for check in we were offered a room to the rear of the hotel which apparently is close to the train line. We politely declined the offer and opted to wait for a room towards the front of the hotel. Good thing too because I could hear the 0330am service that rumbled past. So if you are going to book this accommodation, request a room away from the train line. We paid just over $700 for 2 nights here and received nearly nothing for that money. The room was clean and comfortable but you don't get breakfast included or a complimentary bottle of water or even free wifi. That was disappointing. We also noticed that the staff working in the bistro didn't seem too happy to be there and just a polite smile would have been welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the train line as possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennesseezip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I am so glad our Front Desk Staff were able to assist you and your family. I am also glad we were able to accommodate your room request in the front of the hotel. I am a little puzzled however, by your comments in reference to free wifi, because we do indeed have free wired and wireless wifi. We have it available in the guestrooms, wireless in the public areas and both wired and wireless in our business center. You do indeed need a password that you could get from the Front Desk, but it is free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,777 - 1,783 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

First time there it's a little odd figuring out where to go from the metro stop (Lenfant Plaza) but once you figure that out (You head through the capitol gallery building) it's a really convenient location. 1 block walk to lenfant plaza metro which has multiple lines on it. Your only 1.5 blocks off of the mall and basically right behind the air and space museum so if you are there for tourism very convenient. Btw when you head to metro in the morning left out of hotel into building directly straight ahead.. hit up the vie de france cafe for some great pastries for breakfast very yum and better than the restaurant stuff in the hotel. The bar/restaurant thing at night in the hotel isn't that great imo more of a sports bar and the service in it while ok isn't great. Rooms are very nice from the couple of times I've been there. You may hear trains now and then as you are very close to VRE train station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IDONTWANNASCREENNAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for promoting our location and the easy access to the METRO, DC's public transportation. I have also shared your comment about our 21st Amendment Bar & Grill with our Food & Beverage Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel has several advantages, like being near major attractions and having large rooms. However, the air condition is VERY noisy and if you stay in a back room and try opening your windows you will be faced with an ugly surprise: the view is of an industrial yard that produces even more noise. Don't stay there if you suffer from your back-the beds are much too soft.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room at a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4883Yyoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

It appears that our hotel was in a great location for your visiting needs, however, it appears that you had a few issues during your stay. I hope that you reported your air conditioning and soft bed issues to our front desk. If we had rooms available, we certainly could have moved you to another room. Hopefully, one to your liking, with a firmer bed and quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Excellent and obviously recently refurbished hotel. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean. It is sooooo centrally located, with the air & space museum only 5 mins walk away, capital hill 15mins, metro 5 mins and the shuttle bus to Dulles airport 5 mins(to Hazy museum if you loved the air & space museum - is a must!). Also, the head office of NASA is around the corner (hidden of course) and a supermarket 15 mins walk away. For dinner at night it is a little isolated, but we could eat in the restaurant - it had fancy as well as plain type food. The food was excellent and kids ate free! Take-away was also an option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We think we have a great location to see all the wonderful things Washington, DC has to offer. Hopefully, when you and your family return to this area, you will chose our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was very disappointed in the quality of the rooms. The rooms are very old & worn. The beds are uncomfortable. The nightly rate was $299, pls tax, pls $40/day for parking. The restaurant offered a delicious breakfast (at $14.95pp). This was a business trip. I've never paid $300/nt for such poor accommodations. If you're willing to spend for the convenience of location, DON'T SPEND IT HERE--for the price, this place is a DUMP. The cleaning staff woke us up at 6:30am to deliver our bill! (what happened to sliding it under the door?) they woke us up 3 MORE TIMES after that!! They simply would not go away! The ONLY thing I paid for was location. I will not go back again unless every other hotel in DC burns down.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Riley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your candor and I am sorry that this stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to make you aware of our exciting renovations we have beginning this year. We are planning a bathroom renovation starting the end of 2012 and a major guestroom and hallway renovation in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The rooms were as advertised, well appointed, and clean. We found ourselves in the back on the second floor with a view of a concrete wall, driveway, and railroad track so would request a higher floor. The inhouse resturant was just OK with better choices available across the mall. The hotel is close to many of the museums on the mall and tours leave from the front door. The staff was friendly, and we learned so much about our Capitol, history, and the people that helped create our great country.

Room Tip: Rooms on "C Street" or away from the railroad tracks would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPR7271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

our first stay in june 2011 was cut short when my wife injured her back. that was on our first day she tried to walk to visit a few things but pain was to bad. we checked out two days ahead of time so I could get her to her doctor for care (12 hour from home). explained that to desk clerk and still charged to leave before check out. could be little more flexible with the rules here. will return in june 2012 to visit the locations we were unable to before, only spent the one night but no problems.

Room Tip: ask for room on 'c' street side, at least thats what was told me for my next stay to have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrynashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I'm so sorry your wife hurt her back and you had to leave last year. I'm glad you are coming back to DC and staying with us again. Please contact the hotel and ask for me the General Manager at 202-479-4000. I would like to make sure we get your room blocked accordingly. See you soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,568 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing