We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, expensive parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #82 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Taiyuan, China
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Central location, expensive parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night, and was quite pleased. It is a full-service type of hotel, so not as many freebies as some options, but at least the internet in the rooms is free.

The lobby was busy, and not especially attractive, but there are some outside seating areas.

I opted for a room with a double bed, since I was alone and get tired of rooms where a huge bed takes up most of the room. This turned out well, as I got a very nice corner room with large windows on both walls. It was a small room, but spacious enough. I found the room to be more classic than dated. The TV was flat panel. Amenities included fridge, coffee maker (4-cup with glass pot that could have been cleaner), iron and ironing board. Pretty much everything that would be expected (no microwave).

The bed was comfortable with a choice of firm and soft pillows. I appreciate that disposable cups (instead of glass) and comforters with washable sheets (instead of bedspreads and blankets) now appear to be the norm. The one drawback was that the aircon was directed to blow directly over the bed. The hotel seemed full, but the room was very quiet.

I found the front desk staff to be polite and efficient. They also helped me out with a minor issue that wasn't really there problem, so that was much appreciated.

Parking costs a small fortune, though is good until 5 PM on the day of check-out. This reduces the value of the hotel somewhat, and means it is best for shorter stays or for guests who will not need to park. It is in-out parking.

The location is very convenient to the Mall and Metro. A drawback for tourists is the lack of restaurants nearby. Most are fast food, and many close in the evening. Of course the hotel has a restaurant, and there are some other options near the river several blocks away. Otherwise, dining is likely to require a trip on the Metro, so the location is not perfect, even though it is in the heart of the city.

This is a good choice if you have early morning business nearby, or for tourists who would like to return to their room during the day. Those who want to stay in an area with nightlife will prefer Dupont Circle, and hard-core tourists can save money by staying further out and using the Metro.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are nice, if they have the right beds for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel and location. I'm glad you enjoyed your corner room and the amenities. Our location is definitely a plus for those that are here for business or here to visit the numerous Smithsonian Museums and National Monuments. If you come to DC for the night life, then you are correct, there are probably other hotels that would meet those needs better. However, within 2 METRO stops, there are a variety of restaurants and live entertainment establishments that are easy to get to from our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    1,105
    404
    125
    65
See reviews for
980
475
125
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol during this past Memorial Day weekend (2012). It is in such a great location that we were able to walk around & see all of the popular tourist attractions. No cab was needed--except to get us to and from the Ronald Reagan Airport!
The staff was very friendly and attentive & we had a great view of the US Dept of Education building. We had a great time!!

Room Tip: Book early & ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyB0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
It sounds as if you and your husband had a great time in Washington, DC and at our hotel. Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, clean room. Free internet, which is always a big plus when I decide on a hotel. Overall good value!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Convenient to the Mall, Smithsonian Museums and the Capitol. Room was clean, staff was helpful. Good restaurant and nice bar and grille for after hours. Metro was 1 block away. We took cabs to dinner at night to give ourselves a break from so much walking during the day. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: No king available when we checked in, but the next day we went down to the desk and they were happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We appreciate you commenting on our hotel, our location, our food and beverage outlets and the fact that you will return in the future. We look forward to having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

While the accommodation and staff were good. Our memories of staying at this hotel have been tarnished. We prepaid accommodation with travel agent and on presentation of voucher for family of 4, were given a conjoined room.

Horror when TWO months later when we noticed our bank statement had monies taken out of our credit card without authorisation or notice. Apparently the hotel decided we owed them for the "second room" THEY gave us. Our bank is pursuing this but I would warn anyone wanting to stay here - use a limited credit card or one that you'll close off asap. To hotel management, change your policies or pursue this matter as your PR is appalling!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We truly appreciate all comments from guests who have stayed with us. I'm sorry about your experience. Unfortunately, I can not look into this without having further information. Please contact me at 202-479-4000 and ask for me, the General Manager. I will also forward you my direct e-mail address through Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn last week for four nights while we were in DC for a series of events. The hotel was, as others have said, ideally located if you are interested in doing things in and around the Capitol. It was about a 10 minute walk to the Capitol. The L'Enfant Plaza metro station is one block away and quite convenient as well.

The room was nice. Fairly large and in good condition, although there was some wallpaper peeling in the bathroom (but I noticed in one of the other reviewer's responses that they are getting ready to do bathroom updates, so that should take care of that). The in-room refrigerator was great. In fact, it was the coldest we have ever had!

There is plenty of food within a short walk of the hotel, as well as a CVS pharmacy basically right next door. Unlike a previous reviewer, we didn't have any problem at all parking in front of the hotel to check in, and a bellman was happy to help us with our luggage, so that wasn't an issue either.

We put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign each night and no one pounded on our door like others have reported. We also requested a courtyard room, as suggested by other reviewers, and that turned out really well. The room location was VERY quiet, which we greatly appreciated.

We didn't check out early, but I did notice a "$100 fee for early checkout" notation on the paperwork they had us sign at check-in...

Thanks for all of the advice, TripAdvisor!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you don't like the noise from the trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
It sounds as if you and your wife had a good trip to DC. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel and to previous comments you have read on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This Holiday Inn is in a great location, off the beaten path. It is across from the U.S. Department of Education, five blocks from Pennsylvania Avenue, and very close to many popular tourist attractions. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Capitol building. I was a female traveling alone and felt very safe at this location.

There is a Starbucks on the corner and a CVS Pharmacy a half block away. The hotel is surrounded by office buildings so it is very quiet at night. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice. I appreciated the in-room refrigerator.

I ate dinner at the hotel's Capitol Bistro one night. The food was OK, but the dining room was very noisy. A large group of school kids was eating dinner at the same time and I was seated right next to their table. I am not sure why because the rest of the dining room was completely open. There are an endless number of restaurants at which to dine in DC. I would recommend venturing out of the hotel.

Taxis are readily available right at the front entrance.

I had only one concern with this hotel. I did not see any signs of it being eco-friendly. No recycling cans were available and there was no way to indicate that I did not want fresh sheets and/or towels every day. So, I carried my empty plastic water bottles to an outside recycling bin located near the hotel. I also posted the "do not disturb" sign on my door to keep housekeeping from replacing barely used sheets and towels during my stay.

I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mcyclebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel's location and staff. I also see that we need to do a better job of letting our guests know about our recycling efforts. On each floor in the vending area, we have recycle bins for newspapers, plastics, cans and bottles. In addition, we recycle all of our cardboard and frying oil in the hotel. Over the last few years, we have also changed out all of our light bulbs, to the more energy efficient bulbs. We have tried to make changes and will continue to make changes to be more green.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing