We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #85 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel was average as we expected for the rate paid, but you can't beat the location. We could walk to the Mall and all the sites we wanted to see. Read the reviews on here and asked for a room away from the railway line, which we got. Room was average, but clean and comfortable. Traveled in March 2013

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side not facing the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnushkaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip here in the States. I'm glad you received the room you requested, away from the trains. Some guests are lighter sleepers than others. It doesn't sound as if you had one of our newly renovated guest rooms. We just completed renovating all of our guest rooms and they are beautiful, very elegant and modern. I do hope if your business brings you back, you will stay with us again. I would really like for you to experience our new rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is clearly not a five star hotel but has two things going for it that make it a 4 star rating ... Location and price.

This hotel has been plagued lately with many poor reviews because of renovation issues. Well hotels get old and need renovations so I don't understand people complaining about it especially if you KNOW about them. We stayed on a Thursday the week before Easter this year and the renovations were almost done. We passed two rooms on our floor that were still being gutted but for the most part the renovations were done.

The Elevators were fast and responsive (this is a huge pet peeve of mine in big hotels).

Our room was clean and yes the new carpets were a little loud but I've seen worse in Casino's in Atlantic City.

Our tub did have a chip in it but it was nothing major. It looks like they kept the original tubs and renovated right around them. Everything worked in our room as it should have. We didn't have any noise issues either.

We were on the 3rd floor on the train track side. And yes you could hear the trains but we didn't notice them until rush the following the morning when they went by quite often after 7am. But we were up already anyhow. My six year old son loved watching them.

The food at the restaurant was so so. We had the breakfast buffet as part of our room package and it was good but not great. We did make the mistake of waiting until 10am to go down and there was a line out the door. I imagine if we got there earlier it would have been faster to get seated.

The price and parking:

For the price and the location you cannot find a better deal. Our room was $236.00 (after taxes) and that included breakfast (kids under 12 eat free), parking, and free WIFI. For being two blocks from the Capital and the Mall you just cannot beat that price. We were able to walk to everything from our hotel (cherry blossoms, Capital, W. Monument, Lincoln Memorial, etc)...

The parking garage was poorly marked. It took us a while (and a few VERY tight dead ends) to figure out how to get DOWN to the extra parking spaces. But we lucked out and literally parked right next to the hotel elevator (make it convenient getting stuff in/out of the car).

If you're looking for a good deal with a family this is the place to go. If you want spa pampering and more services spend more $$$ and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper that wants to sleep in past 7am ask to be away from the train track si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eztarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your very detailed review. I really appreciate you mentioning the renovation...renovating and operating a hotel is a challenge. We try and do the best we can, but things do indeed happen. However, the guestroom renovation is complete and the finished product (after gutting the rooms) is beautiful. All of our rooms now have an elegant, modern look. We are definitely excited about the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Selected this hotel for a long weekend to see the sites. Parked in the garage below hotel, yes there is a fee but took advantage of a parking/room package offered which saved some money. The rooms are newly renovated top to bottom with a nice design. Offers soft & firm pillows on beds, nice to have a choice. I did read other reviews and asked for a room on the street side as I had children and didn't want to be near the train side. I couldn't check in until late afternoon due to my request but that was fine with me. We checked our bags with the bellman and off we went for a bit. Had breakfast one morning in the restaurant, busy but not a problem...kids eat free...yeah! Yes they charge $50 incidental if check in with a debit card, again no problem here that is very common in the industry and it bothers me when people complain about it in reviews so I'm giving a heads up :) Will return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

I appreciate you and your family staying with us. It sounds as if you had a busy, enjoyable visit. I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and tell others about your stay. I also really thank you for your comment about incidentals. It is a very common industry practice. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely no sound insulation in construction
Could easily hear next room conversations (spoken at normal level) and television from room across corridor. Not to mention the train station across the street , the adjacent toilet noises, etc...
Changed room . Still the same problems.
Stay away if you intend to get any sleep at all

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bfrattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I'm sorry you experienced noise issues during your stay. We were undergoing a major renovation between November 2013 and early April 2014. Construction and the number of crew working did indeed cause an unusual amount of noise. Guest room renovations are complete and the hotel is back to operating under regular conditions. I hope you will give us another try, I don't believe you would have the same issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our room was not clean upon arrival at 10pm with small children. It took almost 2 hours for it to be cleaned. Ceiling above leaked in the bathroom. Construction work woke us at 7am. I stayed 2 years ago and it was great. This time not at all. Staff was not helpful. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tstacy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I appreciate your comments. I don't know what happened. The first thought that comes to mind is that we were full and you needed a specific room type. Usually the majority of our rooms are clean and ready to go for the 3:00 pm check-in. We do honor the IHG Rewards benefit of a 2:00 pm check-out, which in some cases causes some rooms to get cleaned a little later, but 10:00 pm is late. I'm sorry you had to wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Seven of us were taken care of like family. Breakfast room was great meeting place each morning. Buffet or order friendly, quick and very good food. Get coffee from the Starbucks in the corner of the Hotel (hotel coffee is passable at best). Rooms were spacious and beds were extremely comfortable. Ages 12 - 73 were all satisfied. We walked or biked everywhere, even at night from this excellent location. About a two hour round trip walking from the Hotel to the Lincoln Memorial (recommended at night) and an hour bike ride touring Jefferson, FDR and the 2nd World, Korean and Viet Nam Memorials.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Sounds as if the seven of you were extremely busy during your visit to DC. Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing us so highly. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a perfect location for our trip. We were in Washington to run the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. This hotel was close to the start and we were able to walk over. The hotel is also very close to the L'Enfant Metro stop. For us this worked well, we parked our car in New Carrollton and took the Metro into DC and didn't have to worry about parking or traffic.
The hotel has been undergoing renovations, our room was nicely updated and had all the conveniences you would expect. We did see evidence of work like protective mats on the new carpeting, but there were no noises or odors.
The location is also great for the Smithsonian. After the race we had time to shower and then walk over to Air and Space before checking out.
The bed was comfortable and the pillows were supportive.
Both the check-in and check out were done quickly. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.
We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel, but the menu did look good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asta-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I hope you had a good run. Cherry Blossom time in DC is beautiful. Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our hotel, newly renovated guestrooms, staff, and location. I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
1,568 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing