We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great safe location. Clean. Comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great safe location. Clean. Comfortable.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with our children while we took in the sights. It was very clean and comfortable and in a great location. Walking distance to many of the popular sights and close to the metro. Good little roof top pool for a quick swim and decent food from room service. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaleuchte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    1,158
    424
    129
    69
See reviews for
1,043
507
133
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located in the quiet area of SW quadrant. Very walkable distance to the National Mall/Smithsonian Museums - but that's it. Not close to Georgetown/Chinatown etc - will have to catch bus/taxi/or prepare for a long walk.
The hotel was very clean. The room (2 double beds) was huge. So much space. However, I could hear the people in the room next door clearly when I was in the bathroom. Must have something to do with the ventilation. Also, I could hear doors closing to other rooms from inside my room. That being said, sleeping was fine.
The free (i think) wifi was very reliable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

You cannot pick a more convenient location if you want to be by the Smithsonian and the mall. If you are a walker - it's about a mile to the restaurants in the Penn Quarter area. Totally worth the walk as parking is not easy in that section of town. The hotel is a little tired and starting to look shabby. Unfortunately, we stayed on a floor with a school group and there were kids running up and down the hallways speaking with very loud voices. We also had a room that was overlooking the train tracks and several trains went through day and night. Try to stay on a top floor and away from school groups and trains. We had 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids) and the room was a bit crowded. I think overall the hotel is doing the best it can but the wear is starting to show and there are almost too many people there to deal with. The pool was beyond crowded with school kids and our kids couldn't even skinny their way into the pool. I would probably investigate other options before staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the government buildings and not one by the train tracks. Also ask if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear maj2007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very clean room. Walking distance to museums. Friendly employees. Easy to get around the City from here. It is located fairly close to everything. The room was very big. (2) Restaurants make it convenient along with Starbucks.
Recommend to all.

Room Tip: Walk or take subway to get around,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The reservation was made 4 months in advance and they required full payment inadvance. I thought this was highly unusual. I requested a rollaway bed for a teenage grandson. The room was much too small for 4 of us, and there was absolutely no room for a rollaway. We were located on the 6th floor overlooking railroad tracks and an elevated train passed beneath our window several times a night.

Yes it is located centrally on the Mall and a great location for major sightseeing. It would have been fine for two of us just needing to sleep there between sightseeing forays, but for our needs it was a terrible disappointment. It was packed with traveling student groups who were often noisey in the hallways. The pool is located on the 9th floor and shabby at best plus up a long flight of steps.

The bathtub was very slippery when showering. I requested a bathtub mat and was told one would be sent up. It never appeared. We were prepaid for 5 nights in this place. I felt trapped and betrayed!

Room Tip: Specify one away from the train yard, and don't plan on swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basketbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear basketbunny1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It's a block from the national mall, so you just walk across the street and you're there. It is about a mile to restaurants though. A bit of a walk but a nice evening stroll with good weather. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are very very small. However for two people who just needed a place to crash after sightseeing it was perfect. We loved the pillows so much we inquired about the brand and where we might find some. They said we could buy the pillows from them. Now back home we have the same great night sleep as we did in DC. Great hotel!!!

Helpful?
Thank jensmail0804
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
900 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White HouseWebsiteDirections
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing