We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #82 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great place to stay! Very close to the national mall and all other attractions. Everything clean and updated and my son really enjoyed the pool. The only negative is the choice of on site dining. I thought the food was overpriced and i wasn't impressed with the quality. However, the Starbucks downstairs is good and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenette830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Professional front desk staff in the spacious lobby. Clean rooms, although we walked past a used room service tray in our corridor for a full 24 hours before it was removed. Breakfast is no bargain, but there is a Starbucks attached for half decent coffee. Handy location.

Room Tip: Train station runs behind the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel if you are visiting DC as a tourist and want a clean place to sleep in a very convenient location. It's not that fancy (lobby, restaurant, etc.), but we didn't need it to be. We did the tourist thing all day every day, got back after dark, and basically just slept there. We had a standard room with two queen beds that was clean and comfy. Nice large bathroom, plenty of drawer space, very comfortable beds and pillows. Could not have been more satisfied. We didn't use any other hotel services, so I can't speak to them.

We had a room facing the courtyard, so we had zero street or train noise. I don't think there is much of a view from the rooms facing outward, so an interior room is probably preferable.

TIP: If you are taking the Amtrak train to DC from the south, hop off at the L'Enfant station (if you don't have checked baggage. This stop is immediately across the street from the hotel, and was extremely convenient for us. Not sure if all trains stop there, but ours did, and we didn't have to fight the crowds at Union Station or call a cab. NOTE: When you head home, go to Union Station to get back on your train. When we came home, the train did NOT stop at L'Enfant.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard, so we had zero street or train noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlfieBeisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days with our children while we took in the sights. It was very clean and comfortable and in a great location. Walking distance to many of the popular sights and close to the metro. Good little roof top pool for a quick swim and decent food from room service. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaleuchte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located in the quiet area of SW quadrant. Very walkable distance to the National Mall/Smithsonian Museums - but that's it. Not close to Georgetown/Chinatown etc - will have to catch bus/taxi/or prepare for a long walk.
The hotel was very clean. The room (2 double beds) was huge. So much space. However, I could hear the people in the room next door clearly when I was in the bathroom. Must have something to do with the ventilation. Also, I could hear doors closing to other rooms from inside my room. That being said, sleeping was fine.
The free (i think) wifi was very reliable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

You cannot pick a more convenient location if you want to be by the Smithsonian and the mall. If you are a walker - it's about a mile to the restaurants in the Penn Quarter area. Totally worth the walk as parking is not easy in that section of town. The hotel is a little tired and starting to look shabby. Unfortunately, we stayed on a floor with a school group and there were kids running up and down the hallways speaking with very loud voices. We also had a room that was overlooking the train tracks and several trains went through day and night. Try to stay on a top floor and away from school groups and trains. We had 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids) and the room was a bit crowded. I think overall the hotel is doing the best it can but the wear is starting to show and there are almost too many people there to deal with. The pool was beyond crowded with school kids and our kids couldn't even skinny their way into the pool. I would probably investigate other options before staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the government buildings and not one by the train tracks. Also ask if there is...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear maj2007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very clean room. Walking distance to museums. Friendly employees. Easy to get around the City from here. It is located fairly close to everything. The room was very big. (2) Restaurants make it convenient along with Starbucks.
Recommend to all.

Room Tip: Walk or take subway to get around,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
986 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £100 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing