We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remodeled and Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Ranked #82 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remodeled and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good news: Have stayed here several times and the rooms have been updated. Bathrooms are shower only. Flatscreen TV's with HBO and free Wifi. Convenient to Metro (L'Enfant Plaza) and one block from Air and Space Museum and American Indian Museum. Staff is friendly and helpful and you can store your luggage if needed. Small swimming pool on roof. Good security for elevators and entrances and a safe area.

Bad news: Not much going on in the neighborhood. There is a CVS, Quizmo's and McDonald's on the same block but not much else in the way of dining. Starbucks on the corner also. One of the office buildings across the street has a couple of sandwich shops but they are closed on the weekends. If you want to walk to the museums on the mall, it is quite a trek if you go further than Natural History and the Hirshshorn. Best bet for sightseeing would be to do the Big Bus if you want to go to the monuments further down the mall (i.e., Jefferson, Lincoln, Korean, Vietnam Memorial, etc.). There were a lot of kids in the hotel and a family across from us was very loud in hallways. You could hear them even with door shut.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us when you come to Washington, DC. I really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. In telling others about our hotel, you mentioned showers. When we renovated all of our guestrooms and bathrooms, we did indeed install beuatiful shower stalls in all of our king bedded rooms only. All of our other guestrooms, have new tubs. If a tub is important to you, please just request this room type for your next visit. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    1,105
    404
    125
    65
See reviews for
980
475
125
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Close to the National Mall, the hotel allows you to walk easily to the museums and city center and restaurants. Rooms are comfotable and clean. Breakfast offers a large choice of good quality products . Employees are corteous and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the railway side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PdP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Merci, merci. Thank you so much for staying at our hotel during your visit to Washington, DC. I appreciate you reviewing our hotel and telling others about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We took our grandson to Washington DC and stayed here for 3 nights. Had a great room, bed, bathroom--everything was great. Very close to L'Enfant Plaza on the Metro and the Smithsonian. Very nice staff. It your looking for dining-this is not the area-not too many places to have dinner. McDonalds, Starbucks Quiznos were probably the only available. Capitol was very close. All in all-with the location--it was a great stopping point for sightseeing. Just remember --parking in DC is very very hard--either get a Metro pass, Hop on Hop Off ticket (which can be expensive) or get some good walking shoes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I believe it will be a trip your grandson will always remember. Thank you for staying with us during this special trip. I appreciate it and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our trip was to take our grandson to see DC since his 8th grade trip was during the federal shutdown. The goal was to stay 3 nights and see all the historical sites. We are so glad we stayed at this hotel! The location was perfect (we read reviews and asked for a room away from the trains). Cedric, the wonderful bellhop, suggested we take a cab to the Jefferson Memorial and walk a huge loop, seeing all the memorials, Ford Theater, Peterson House, the White House and Capitol. We did that and the second day walked to the Capitol for a tour and then got the Metro to Arlington. Fantastic location--evenings we could walk to the Mall. Safe location, great staff, room recently refurbished--larger beds, outlets everywhere, excellent lighting--friendly staff. Chris at the front desk helped us plan out second day's outing. We ate at the Bistro, which had comparable prices (DC is high, but my salmon cobb salad was the same price as a regular salad at the Smithsonian. All Smithsonians are easy walking distance. Took package with two free breakfast buffets. I was the third guy and just had filling oatmeal for $5. This hotel changed my mind about DC. Our previous trips we were caught in traffic, couldn't park at metro stations and ending up wasting so much time. This trip we did it all easily and now I want to return to DC, staying at the Holiday Inn Capitol. Great experience for us all.

Room Tip: room away from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
What a lovely review! I couldn't have asked for a better shout out of both the hotel and our employees. Thank you, thank you. I hope your grandson had a great trip. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a 4 night business trip and were very pleased with our stay. Our room was very nicely appointed, and the bathroom was a pleasant surprise. We have stayed at several Hamptons that have also been refurbished, and their bathrooms are ridiculously small. This one had a large stall shower, huge counter top and terrific lighting. The hotel location was excellent, and we wish we were able to stay longer to take advantage of the nearby attractions. Restaurants at the hotel are weak, but we found plenty of variety to chose from within walking distance along 7th Street.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I really appreciate you and your wife staying with us. thank you for taking the time to review us. It was a great review. Thank you. I hope you will come back and visit us again when you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and the upgrade you have just completed is great. The rooms are to a high standard and have everything you ask for in a room. The staff are friendly and happy help you with any problem that you may have. A nice tip is that in the business centre you can you the computer for up to 30 mins this is helpful as there are not many places that do this I have found on this holiday. Hotel is in good location to many Smithsonian's on the mall and there is a stop outside air and space museum for the bus rides around the city which is only a block from the hotel. The café downstairs is great for breakfast and there is a CVS shop along the road if you need anything.

Room Tip: There is noise from the trains passing behind the hotel but this stops at night, so try not to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are very excited about all of the changes. I think the hotel is absolutely beautiful now. I appreciate you sharing your comments about our hotel with others. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Front desk clerks were nice and very friendly. As well as helpful in selecting which restaurant in China town to eat at. Hotel is right next to FEMA. My room faced the atrium near the FEMA building. It was very clean , you can tell the hotel had been newly renovated from the previous reviews. My daughter loved the rooftop pool on the 9th floor. The pool is small but the kids enjoyed it. Bathroom was clean and our beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shake94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SASwain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so very much for your great review and telling others about your experience. I really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol

Property: Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
Address: 550 C St. SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol. We offer the ideal location for business and leisure travelers coming to Washington, DC. We are conveniently located one block fromSmithsonian s National Air & Space Museum. Walk to major Washington area attractions including the United States Capitol Building, Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument, World War II Memorial and the Holocaust Museum. This Washington, DC hotel is within reach of DoEd, DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and USITC. Stay connected with our complimentary high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and 24-hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24-hour, state-of-the-art aerobic fitness center. All hotel rooms are equipped with refrigerators. Our superb location, friendly and experienced staff, makes the Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a hearty breakfast at our new Capitol Bistro, where Kids Eat Free, grab a quick meal at the Shuttle Deli Express, or coffee from our full service Starbucks. Unwind in the modern, comfortable surroundings of the 21st Amendment Bar & Grill or take a relaxing swim in our seasonal rooftop pool overlooking the US Capitol. Make the Holiday Inn Washington-Capitol your first hotel choice when traveling to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Capitol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing