We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice enough”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

nice area. Very close to Capitol. Walking distance to Union Station which has food court and shopping. Starbucks across the street. Bonus cuz it has gift shop in hotel. Room a little dated and small for a 4 star. Service was fantastic. Valet parking is a hassle because you cant get to your car unless they assist you and $41 is a bit much but found out its normally $25-$50 at all of the downtown hotels. The pool is terrible. Normally hot in indoor pool areas, but due to fitness area being in same room--freezing!!! Pool is also really really small and lack any kind of flair, just a boring rectangle. I would recommend but don't have your standards too high, think 3 star.

Room Tip: hotwire was great rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromtheLou90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRWDC, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear fromtheLou90,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The comfort of our guests and the expert level of service we provide is very important to us. I am glad to hear that you experienced our fantastic service and were able to take advantage of our location! We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our indoor pool area. We are proud of our extensive fitness area and equipment; the lap pool was initially installed to be part of this area. The temperature can be difficult to regulate during the summer, however we try to keep it comfortable for all guests. Fortunately there is an outdoor sun deck available. Thank you again for posting a review. We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Jennifer, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,487
    677
    204
    103
See reviews for
893
614
196
1,708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the moment we arrive they were very polite and accomadating. We had a large group and all felt well cared for.

Room Tip: Higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear gailball:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. We're appreciative of your comments in regards to how well you & your group were welcomed by our employees. It sounds as though everyone with you enjoyed their visit. We can't wait to welcome you back again. Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in the middle of July. Got a fantastic deal, only paying $125 per night.

All in all, the hotel was great, with a fantastic location. Being from Europe, we are used to walking, and almost everything we wanted to do was with in reach.

Only negative thing I can mention is the sound levels. Huge cracks under the doors, make every sound from the hallways travel easily to the rooms. We had a room close to an ice-machine, which resulted in us being painfully aware, every tine anybody on our floor needed ice. This was not the least due to the fact that some jack*** on the hotel had come up with a creative idea for ice-buckets. Instead of the traditional plastic thermos buckets, the hotel has opted for old fashion metal champagne coolers. Trust me, at 3 in the morning, ice-cubes falling in to a metal champagne cooler, makes quite a lot of noice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behrendorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRWDC, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear behrendorff,

We appreciate your taking time to share your comments regarding your recent visit. I'm glad to hear that you and your family really enjoyed your stay and our fantastic location! As you mentioned, there is a lot to do within walking distance from out hotel, so we always recommend that our guests bring comfortable shoes for the trip. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a restful stay. We have taken note of your comment regarding the ice buckets and will take this into consideration when purchasing new ones. We purchased those due to the upgraded look, however may not have considered the sound element. Thank you again for providing valuable feedback. Should your travels bring you back to the US and Washington, DC, we hope to welcome you and your family back again!

Sincerely,

Jennifer, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were in town for the Savor event and this was about 4 blocks away. We used the valet service as there wasnt a whole lot of options otherwise. Street parking is availble but there were quite a few street dwellers on the adjacent streets so we didnt chance it. I believe its $40 a day.

Check in can be done by kiosk or staff. I used the staff counter and was checked in quickly. Room was on the 7th? floor. The room overlooked the courtyard which is just the top of the atrium below. Room was clean and the bathroom is decent. The A/C is an older window unit that was obviously altered to work off a thermostat on the wall.

The overall look of the hotel is a little dated. You can tell they wallpapered and did some other cosmetic changes (we could see the cutout around the thermostat of the older paper).

The location is great for walking to the national mall. 2 blocks from the capital building.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRWDC, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Dear swingerhead,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for your event as well as sightseeing. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Washingon, DC!

Sincerely,

Jennifer, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is within walking distance of union station and the Capitol building. We stayed in the regency club which was nice but the rooms although comfortable require a refurbishment as do the whole floor. The carpet in the corridor is stretched and old as it the entire finish to the rooms. Saying that we still had a great stay and would probably stay there again. It is a 20 min easy walk to Chinatown where there is a great Italian restaurant called viapiano which is great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinniesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRWDC, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Vinniesyd,

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad that your visit to DC was enhanced by our location. We are constantly working to improve our rooms and corridors for our guests, but it is certainly helpful to be aware of specific rooms and hallways that need extra attention. I have passed along your input to our Rooms Executive and we will certainly keep your suggestions in mind during our upcoming guest room renovations. Thank you again, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Jennifer, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt on Capital Hill for a brief weekend getaway in Washington, D.C., in June 2011. It was a tremendous place with great weekend rates and the type of service and room you would expect at a Hyatt.

The location is fabulous in that it is convenient to all of the major attractions in D.C., either by walking or a quick walk to Union Station and a Metro ride to other stops. You can see the U.S. Capitol dome from many of the rooms, and you are also located right next to the Georgetown University Law campus.

Service was excellent, as everyone that we encountered was very helpful and friendly.

We used the AAA Breakfast Rate and received buffet breakfast for two in the price of our room, and we spent just over $110. The breakfast was easily one of the best buffet meals I've had, at a hotel or a restaurant. They had freshly prepared items, as well as a huge selection of other dishes.

The only down side of the property was the parking. Valet parking was more than $40/night, something I realize is par for the course in the area, but it's still steep. At least there are no in-out charges, so you can get your car as many times as you'd like.

Room Tip: Check for the AAA Breakfast Rate (may only be available on the weekend)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear RyryE,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us. We’re delighted that you were able to take advantage of our terrific location. Our hotel is just three blocks from the metro and all major attractions are within one to two miles from our property. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of the AAA breakfast promotion for a full breakfast buffet for two. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for a National Chairs' meeting. It's near the Hill but it is way overpriced for an average facility. The staff makes too many mistakes. Requested King and they stated the allocated a King but when I got to the room it was a queen so even the front desk did know the room types they were assigning OR they were just dishonest. Facade certainly is Grand but the things that matter most were below par. I paid full price to stay close to the group but later discovered that there were other reasonably priced hotels within walking distance.

Room Tip: Better deals in the elsewhere walking distance from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay201146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Jay201146,

Thank you for bringing the details of your stay to our attention. We’re glad we were able to get in contact with you to discuss your stay further. We work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy our hotels and in turn enjoy their stay. We hope that this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us at the Hyatt Regency Washington again. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,467 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing