We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #73 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The location of this hotel was great. The beds could use some updating, and a refrigerator would be nice, as mentioned previously. Service was very good throughout. Price is maybe a little too high for the level of amenities provided.

Room Tip: Don't use the automatic check-in kiosks; you will get a randomly assigned room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L4524GAKellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. I do appreciate the suggestions you made regarding the bedding and refrigerator. I will be sure to share your suggestions with our executive management team. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,181)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,783 - 2,789 of 4,181 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

The carpet in the hotel room was coming up in places as evident through the number of rolls.
If you would like to get on the internet in the lobby you have to swipe a credit card. These computers are not operated by the hotel but rather a third party. This makes me wonder how secure they are for me to swipe my credit card.
The fitness facility closes at 11:00 pm. I guess the tread mill has to go to sleep?!
Very disappointed in the lack of customer service, the lack of a "business office" where you can access the internet, and availability of facilities such as the fitness center.

Room Tip: I would recommend a different hotel altogether
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room was clean, although a refrigerator could have been furnished. Upon arrival and during the stay, the staff was pleasant and helpful with any needs or questions regarding the city transportation and things to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the room accommodations and the great service provided by the staff. I hope you were able to visit a lot of attractions during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should you find yourself in the area again.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is my third time staying at the Hyatt Capitol Hill. The location is the highlight of this hotel, within walking distance to the Capitol. Food in the restaurant is good, especially Sunday brunch (although not cheap), and the rooms are spacious. Staff has always been courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for continuing to make Hyatt Regency Washington your go to property when your travel brings you to Washington D.C. Your comments regarding the property and the service from our staff is very much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill from 11/8/13-11/9/13--usually stay at the Washington Court down the street, but decided to try this Hyatt. Generally, I loved Hyatts and they are very well appointed hotels.
PROS:

You can't beat this location if you want to be close to the Capitol and the National Mall attractions. Easy walk to museums, restaurants and even Chinatown and Georgetown Law School.
Hotel has all conveniences, a bar, restaurant, gift shop with essentials, etc (although none of these are inexpensive, but you have to expect the cost 1. it's a Hyatt not a days inn and 2. you're in the heart of D.C!)
The beds and pillows are reallly comfortable.
The GYM IS FANTASTIC!!!!!
All the staff was very nice.

CONS:
PARKING IS RIDICULOUS!! It's $48.00 per night, the Washington Court (literally down the street) is only $35.00 per night as seems to be in most other hotels I have stayed at in DC (my son goes to Georgetown Law and I've visited quite often) I am a Hyatt gold pass member and at many other Hyatt locations they waive the parking fee for members. However not the case here. A little disappointing.

I stayed in a standard double room, as it was only one night and was disappointed in the size and amenities in the room. I usually book a suite at Hyatts and didn't realize how much smaller a double would be. It also had no mini fridge and the bathroom was very small with barely any space to put out cosmetics since it had a pedestal sink!!(who puts that in a hotel room???)

Overall a nice hotel, and although I'd stay at other Hyatts, in this location I would probably go back to the Washington Court, just as nice with bigger room and less cost.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are very far from an elevator. I was on the 9th floor and my room was very...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Although it announces itself as being newly renovated, our mattress had seen better days. One of the bath towels was torn. There was no tiny fridge and finally, the room had no view...literally. It faced the windows of the other rooms. There was no way of knowing what was on tv, because it had no guide, and you had to change channel by channel. On the plus side, beautiful decoration, friendly employees and close to most of the many attractions.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our family loved this hotel and its location! 2 blocks away from Union Station with its restaurant choices, there was a place to eat everyday. Also a quick walk to the metro which was wonderful since we were able to get to China Town and other sites with no problem.

My only complaints....there was no view of the capital building from the rooms but just knowing we were so close to everything was magical. Also there were not a lot of child friendly channels on the T.V. for those after a long day resting moments.

We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future. We walked to a number of the sites since this hotel is not extremely far from a number of them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear LilB33,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Washington DC. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our location and how it allowed you to access the metro allowing you quick access to surrounding destinations. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back as our guest, on your next visit to Washington DC.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
331 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 142 in Washington DC
4,843 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 142 in Washington DC
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,538 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
2,578 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £90 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing