We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, valets were rude, not convenient to restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #74 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, valets were rude, not convenient to restaurants”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend while my husband ran the Marine Corps Marathon...this was the headquarter hotel. The bad impressions began as we pulled up to the front of the hotel. Valet at the hotel was $48 a night and when we inquired about other options we were told that self garage parking was available but no one would tell us where that was. We unloaded our stuff, not a single bell guy even attempting to help and I am visibly pregnant, and I was left to manage 2 suitcases and several carry bags while several people looked on. I actually had tip money in my hand but was happy to keep it after that display. My husband returned quickly. before I had even checked in and reorted that he had found parking basically across the street at the Hall of States for $12 bucks a night...SCORE! We checked and went to our room which was nice if a bit small. We were heading to the armory for my hubs to pick up his marathon material and were planning on getting a cab, but as we were walking to the elevator several other running were talking about a shuttle...we inquired and were told that there was a shuttle for runners going back and forth from the hotel to the armory specifically for this reason. No one at the hotel bothered telling us, even when we said 'we are here for the race'. The shuttle was a great perk.

Rooms were mice but there was a TON of noise from the hallway all night. I literally did not sleep a wink one night due to people screaming up and down the hallway like animals all night one night. The way the hallway was configured I couldn't see which room they were in so reporting it to the front desk wouldn't have helped. But even without the idiots, the rooms were not very quiet. OH and the hotel is directly across from a fire station...you WILL hear sirens!!!

Anyhow...more on the hotel. Don't expect a lot of food/shopping options in the area...this is an office district and you'll have to walk 10-15 minutes to get to something other than a starbucks or cheap burger joint, longer for more options. And there is an overnight homeless shelter/soup kitchen around the corner so don't be alarmed by a large number of people gathering in the evenings...they are just waiting for a meal and warm bed for the night. We passed through that area multiple times and it was never a problem. Its a pretty quick walk to Union Station which is convenient for transit as well as the red line in the opposite direction for a less intimidating station.

We ate dinner the night before the marathon at the hotel restaurant which was quite good. They had set up a pasta buffet for the night since so many runners were at the hotel and it had a lot of great options...and the best macarons (little French cookies) I've had this side of Paris. One miss was the crab and shrimp cocktail I had to start...one piece of crab and the tomato base tasted like cold vegetable soup. But overall very good and we had great service here from several people.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators...lots of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    1,558
    718
    219
    109
See reviews for
961
636
201
1,815
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a great hotel with great amenities and location but if you have can, DO NOT USE VALET. I used the valet and and they stole items from my locked glove box. If they are going to charge $48 to park your car for 24 hours then they better not steal your personal items since they are already stealing money from your wallet. I reached out to management to get my incident handled properly and they ignored my claim. Besides stealing items from my car they all had the personality of a rock and were not very expeditious when bringing my car in order for me to leave. I waited for almost 30 minutes for my car and I was the only there! If you stay here, use a car service(not a cab) just don't leave your car at valet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Good Afternoon Steve E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We are thrilled to hear about you loving the hotel and the amenities we offered during your visit. I am so sorry to hear about your car and belongings and I definitely understand your frustration! We would love to speak with you about this matter because we find it extremely disappointing management didn't help with your claim. Please contact Guest Relations or send us an email at social.media@hyatt.com. Can't wait to hear from you.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I thought this hotel was one of if not the best hyatt I have stayed at! The service was incredible. The staff were all so so so amazing! The manager at the restaurant was so kind and thoughtful! Even at check out I was driven by a black Yukon to the airport by someone at their staff!! I appreciate them so much! I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you found the service to be incredible. We have a great staff that prides themselves on providing top notch service for our guests. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment and we look forward to your next visit!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have stayed at many Hyatt Hotels and always found them to be very nice, I found this Hyatt to be a big disappointment. On the positive side the location is very convenient, the breakfast buffet was well done and the lobby area is nice. Here is the problem, we were on the ninth floor the first night, the street noise went on all night long. They have put a noise canceling machine by the beds (must not be a new issue) but it couldn't drown out the noise. In the morning we awoke to construction noise, looked out the window to see a huge building being erected we asked to move to a quieter room which they accommodated us on (ask for an atrium facing room). The lighting in the bathroom was poor to say the least and with no makeup mirror it made it difficult, there is also no fan in the bathroom. Even expected amenities such as a shower cap and q-tips were not in the room. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Street rooms are VERY noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caraleigh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat OS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I've stayed here a few times, because of the location and my membership of the Hyatt loyalty program. Previous stays have been a lot better. Hyatt can't help this, but the streets around this area of the Hill are getting worse. Three or four panhandlers immediately outside of the hotel, and a family of rats competing for the sidewalk garbage. A cluster of drunks on the corner as you make your way up to Union Station. I frequently felt unsafe outside, though inside is a different story. The proprerty has been there a long time, in fact it's a bit of a landmark, so I do appreciate the fact that they've managed to keep it up to date on the inside. The lobby area is still lovely and feels spacious and comfy.

Service was only so-so; reception was kind of abrupt and there was absolutely no personalized service (no greeting by name, small talk, nothing. It was like I was paying for groceries). When I got to my first room, it was a twin, though I'd requested a King. The (gruff) bellhop came to change me to another room, which hadn't been cleaned. The third room, an 'upgrade' to a corner suite was fine, but for the extra space, there is no extra ambience. All those bare walls, and tiny window, feels a little bit cold and unwelcoming. Nice apologetic call from the Assistant Manager however, and some chocolates later, so I can't criticize the save. Just…. why can't I just have what I asked for?

This was the noisiest stay I'd ever had. Walls are thin, and it's hard to tell whose door is being knocked on (I 'answered' my door a few times to see that it was actually for the neighbor.) I stayed for five nights, and was woken by conversation in the hallway every night, and I am not an especially light sleeper. On the first night 'housekeeping' knocked at almost 1030 to do turndown service. Not cool.

No fridges in the rooms; I like the hypo-allergenic and environmentally friendly hotel policies, but the heat/AC was unpredictable (and noisy). The prices in the shop downstairs if you want a drink or a snack are completely exorbitant. The gym is well appointed and I got a lot of use out of it.

In short, while this hotel is fine, it is definitely nothing special, and I had no experiences here that would make me feel like I was in any sense a 'guest'. For that price, for an ostensibly five star hotel, I expect the experience to set itself a little apart from a nice-ish big room and a semi-plush lobby in which the staff are totally indifferent about my stay.

Room Tip: Unless you have a LOT of luggage, the corner room 'upgrade' which I did not pay for, feels l...
See more room tips
Green Features: I particularly like their low allergy options… though I would love if the rooms could be a constant temperature. Is this connected in some way to energy savings?
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMesopotamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Amazing location and great views from this hotel room. Hotel Staffs are very courteous. All the requests are attended to the details. Will look forward to come back to this hotel. Definitely recommended for anyone searching a good place to stay in Washington Capitol Area.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suchandan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! I really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such outstanding feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and found the staff to be very accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Washington on your next visit to D.C.!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed at Hyatt for 8 days business + pleasure. Great location near the Capitol and Union Station. Room was good size with desk area, nice TV, dresser, safe. Bathroom needs more counter space and shower needs makeover, but water pressure awesome (not enviro-friendly at all). Staff was great-Carlos and Megan took care of my requests very professionally and accurately. Wifi not free in room which is the only reason I wouldn't stay here again. $10 per day gets pricey and adds up when you are already paying Hyatt prices for food/drinks/gift shop- expensive! Store across street next to fire station has wine, food, liquor at good prices for DC.

Get plastic metro card for $10 and you have $8 in fare money left over to ride any time. Cabs are at hotel day and night. $30 from airport. Bike share in DC is well worth the $7 fee for 24hrs. You use credit card, get code & lift bike up & out of the rack and can ride everywhere. Pay attention to Bikeshare locations which are all over the city. Return bike at any rack within 30 min and there is no additional cost for that leg of your trip. Best way to see Natl Mall & monuments. Night tour of monuments on bus is also great. Only downside was trolley had plastic windows & you can't take photos through it. Cost $40.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tervy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, the room and the service provided by our staff. I will be sure to address your concerns about the WiFi, water pressure and set up of the bathroom. We always appreciate any suggestions on how we can improve our guest's experience. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
305 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,753 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
591 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,503 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing