We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Overall decent hotel for Washington standards with the exception of two things. Charging for Internet in the room that did not work properly and the hotel breakfast was less than stellar. The hotel front desk was prompt and friendly and the rooms were well appointed to the Hyatt standard, though there was no mini bar. There was a mini fridge but what am I to do with that? The hotel elevators need to be updated as they run slow. As stated the breakfast was less than stellar for the amount paid. You can get a better breakfast elsewhere in DC. Close (walking distance) to Union Station as well as the Capitol and Supreme Court.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 4,336 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

The interior of the rooms are slightly upgraded but not by much. Beds were not as comfortable as we had hoped. This isn't the first time that a Hyatt has disappointed us and its surprising considering the cost. Its in a great location but there is not much comfort to be had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallWorld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a great stay at this Hyatt. Great location. Everyone was so pleasant especially waitstaff and doorman. Rooms clean as well. The one gripe I had was no internet in room. Although it was free in the lobby, you had to pay ten dollars a day in the room. I was very unhappy about this. Breakfast buffet looked great but food was cold and not good. Waitstaff was so pleasant and couldn't do enough for you but buffet Wasn't worth the 22.00 a person. I would stay again and hopefully they'll change to free wifi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Located just down the street from Union Station and the Capital, it's perfect for a stay in DC. My room was on the 7th floor of the backside of the hotel. Every morning (yes, all three that I was there), delivery trucks were backing up, dropping off (or whatever they were doing). The beeping of their backup alarm was like a daily alarm clock - except it went off at about 4:30 am each day. It was driving me crazy so the last night, I downloaded a "White Noise" app that helped a little...but couldn't drown out the noise.

I may stay here again - but I'd have to stay in a room that fronts the hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet sleep, insist on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room and the extra charge for accessing the internet. The restaurant is overpriced. You can go to a cafe across the street and have some yummy food for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The room was extremely nice and very conveniently located. The restaurant in the hotel is very good for breakfast, but don't eat dinner there. The service was extremely slow. We were one of the first ones seated before the place filled up, but still didn't get our food until 45 minutes after we ordered. We couldn't even get our check in a decent amount of time. We had to ask 3 times before it was brought to us. Eat there for the wonderful breakfast, although expensive, but go somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice and close to Union Station. I was able to walk everywhere which was great. Took the metro from the airport to Union Station and walked to the hotel with my bags without any problem. It's a very short walk to the Capitol and the Mall so it was really convenient. I was able to use the printer and internet access in the lobby for free to print my boarding passes and check my flight status. Nice clean room as expected for a Hyatt. I would definitely stay there again when I go back.
Price was reasonable but no free Wi-Fi and don't walk in the neighbourhood behind the hotel. Stick with going either towards Union Station or Capitol Hill. Other than that, all good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niagaratraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank for posting this review. I am glad to see you enjoyed the location, your room, and the free internet access in the lobby. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

John S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
712 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
5,009 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
386 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing