We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the past three years attending a meeting. It's always clean, quiet and reliable. The bed is always comfortable and the room is spacious. The only real drawback is the location. It's great if you're heading to the Capital, but there really aren't any dining or nightlife choices nearby. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro, so I'd recommend a cap if you're heading out alone. Overall, good solid Hyatt.... I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,827 - 2,833 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm writing this review from my phone in my room with 4g at this moment because I absolutely refuse to pay 15 dollars a day for Internet. Seriously, is this 1995? They've somehow even prevented my laptop from connecting to my mobile hotspot. I've had the unfortunate opportunity to stay in this hotel for a business trip and have not been pleased. I stayed in a king room where the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. (Bed too hard ;pillows with no substance slept with 3 of them) There was no fitted sheet on the bed so upon pulling down what I assume was a comforter (blanket with
sheet underneath and on top) all the sheets came down
with it exposing a bare
mattress. The view outside consisted of looking directly into a neighboring office building. .not what you'd hope for at $200 a night. Channel guide for TV is extremely hard to find. Pool area didn't have a jacuzzi and gym was disappointing. Everything is grossly overpriced, no breakfast unless you want to pay over 30 dollars. .for breakfast. I really expected more from a hyatt. Cleaning staff was very nice though. .Others had a pretentious attitude in the restaurant and check in areas.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikkiboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello nikkiboko,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so sorry to hear about the many inconveniences you had with your guest room bedding and WiFi access. I have forwarded this information to our executive management and housekeeping management to follow up on and to ensure this does not happen in the future. I hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C. Again, our sincerest apologies, feel free to contact our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak about this matter further.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is very nice and conveniently located within walking distance to Capitol Hill. Everyone working at the hotel from reception to room service was very friendly. The room service food (from the highly rated restaurant located in the hotel) was delicious and well worth it if you don't want to leave the room.

The only cons:
- Pool area was neglected. There were no dry pool towels and the pool was not heated both times of day that I went - not ideal for wanting to swim in December.
- Around the block to the northwest is some sort of homeless shelter, that looked a bit seedy, so I would take a cab to get to museums in that direction, especially at night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was very impressed with the service here - staff are friendly and willing to help with any needs that come up. I was trying to leave a day early and miss a big snowstorm - I worked with staff so didn't have to pay any early checkout penalty. The hotel is very close to Capitol Hill, so it's a convenient location if you're going for that purpose; however, while there are some solid breakfast places nearby, the restaurant selection nearby isn't as good as it is further to the west, closer to the White House. It's about four blocks from the nearest Metro rail station at Union Station. Taxis are generally lined up at the hotel entrance, so you can just walk out the door and get one very quickly.

The hotel has hypoallergenic rooms available for $30 more, which are great for allergy sufferers, for those allergic to feathers, dust and have reactions to chemically treated furniture. You can get free Internet in the lobby - I wish they had it for free in the rooms - $10 is a lot. The gym is the best I've seen at a hotel, not only with dumbbells, but a variety of weight machines, instead of one machine that is supposed to do everything. They also have a pool. The Hyatt has a restaurant and a bar, which have solid food, though overpriced like most restaurants in downtown hotels. The bar does have some good beers - they had both DC Brau and Flying Dog pale ales on tap while I was there, as well as Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA in bottles.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Greetings Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. We will be sure to thank and recognize our team members for the amazing service they provide. Thank you so much for your kind comments about them. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on the great location we offer and we are thrilled you chose this location for your travels. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Overall decent hotel for Washington standards with the exception of two things. Charging for Internet in the room that did not work properly and the hotel breakfast was less than stellar. The hotel front desk was prompt and friendly and the rooms were well appointed to the Hyatt standard, though there was no mini bar. There was a mini fridge but what am I to do with that? The hotel elevators need to be updated as they run slow. As stated the breakfast was less than stellar for the amount paid. You can get a better breakfast elsewhere in DC. Close (walking distance) to Union Station as well as the Capitol and Supreme Court.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The interior of the rooms are slightly upgraded but not by much. Beds were not as comfortable as we had hoped. This isn't the first time that a Hyatt has disappointed us and its surprising considering the cost. Its in a great location but there is not much comfort to be had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallWorld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a great stay at this Hyatt. Great location. Everyone was so pleasant especially waitstaff and doorman. Rooms clean as well. The one gripe I had was no internet in room. Although it was free in the lobby, you had to pay ten dollars a day in the room. I was very unhappy about this. Breakfast buffet looked great but food was cold and not good. Waitstaff was so pleasant and couldn't do enough for you but buffet Wasn't worth the 22.00 a person. I would stay again and hopefully they'll change to free wifi.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
695 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 142 in Washington DC
4,971 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
1,622 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
2,623 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £82 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing