We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with average amenities ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to the DC area. Work sent me this direction which held conferences at this hotel. Out of convenience, I booked my room here.

The photos online are a bit deceiving because they make the rooms look larger than they are. They are kept up really well and the staff is very friendly. I stayed six nights here paying $350 a night. It included the regency club access.

The regency club is your 'go-to' room for drinks, snacks and (depending on the time of day) appetizers, deserts and wine. Well worth it since it will save you some money on those amenities.

I've stayed in other hotels, paid less and got more from it that here. There are other choices in this area. If you plan your trip, you might want to consider other locations for different amenities.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank DJTOBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,850 - 2,856 of 4,336 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I come to this hotel at least twice yearly for business on the Hill. We have seen many renovations and changes to the hotel over the past 13 years. The location to the Capitol and the Mall is very good. The rooms are structured for business stays - including a smaller bathroom, basic tub, very small sink area, business desk, standard king, flat screen tv.. As such the rooms are maintained and are very clean. We are Diamond members, so we were upgraded to the Regency Club Floor. The Regency Club is one of the best in the chain as far as the food and service. My husband and I travel all the time for business and pleasure and stay at many hotels (especially Hyatt's) and always upgrade to the Club/Lounge levels. However, this Hyatt's Regency presentations are the exception. The food offerings at this Hyatt are to be commended. I almost feel that it rivals any Ritz, Westin, Marriott, St. Regis, that I have been to and that is saying alot! It is one of the main reasons we continue to stay here even though our conferences are at other hotels. The lounge needs to be bigger however, as It is a bit crowded, and I wish they would open up to the room next to the lounge (as they did a few years ago). I would suggest allowing the wine to be set out on the counter (as it use to be) as it is difficult for the staff to attend to everyone, especially when it is so busy. However, I do not want this comment to deflect the fact that the food offerings are simply amazing. We stayed a total of 5 nights and each night the food offerings were different and special (shrimp and bacon wrapped scallops were unbelievable). This is a very important issue when booking a room for my husband and myself. We are doing business all day long and need a respite before going out to entertain colleagues for dinner. Kudo's Hyatt Capitol Hill for allowing us this fantastic Regency Club! I know that we have convinced several other conference attendees to stay here because of the Regency Club. If Hyatt only knew how much business we send them...oh well....I would also like to mention that the restaurant and bar downstairs are very nice. I had lunch at the restaurant on two occasions and breakfast once. We also met for drinks at the bar one night and felt that it was good. Again, if your focus in primarily on a business hotel this is the place for you. Request an upgrade to the Regency Club you will thank me for this recommendation...lol!

Just a little advice: If new to the area, be very careful in walking. DC can be safe on one block and not so safe on the next. There is a homeless shelter near by and it can be a concern for walking at night. Make sure and check with the Concierge if you are planning on doing any walking and they will guide you as to the safest routes to take. Union Station is within walking distance as well as the Capitol and the Mall. Request a room facing The Liaison Hotel as they are nicely located. Corner rooms have the best views. But most rooms look into opposite buildings. Not many views to be had.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors. Upgrade to a Regency Club Level. Ask for rooms facing The Lia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Hyatt Regency does a great job with service. We were initially put in a room with a view of a not so great area, so we asked if we could switch rooms. Unfortunately nothing was available, but the front desk woman felt so bad that she actually sent us up a bottle of wine! I thought that was very nice. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was quiet upstairs. My only complaint is the walk to the "touristy" areas. You have to walk through a kind of sketchy area with a lot of homeless people who stalk you for money. If you take the main road next to the Capitol Bldg., you will be fine. I was very uncomfortable walking down E Street by myself.

It is an easy walk to all of the historical spots in D.C. We stayed here because my husband was involved in a convention here. If I were to come with family or friends, I would definitely stay closer to the White House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the past three years attending a meeting. It's always clean, quiet and reliable. The bed is always comfortable and the room is spacious. The only real drawback is the location. It's great if you're heading to the Capital, but there really aren't any dining or nightlife choices nearby. It's a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro, so I'd recommend a cap if you're heading out alone. Overall, good solid Hyatt.... I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm writing this review from my phone in my room with 4g at this moment because I absolutely refuse to pay 15 dollars a day for Internet. Seriously, is this 1995? They've somehow even prevented my laptop from connecting to my mobile hotspot. I've had the unfortunate opportunity to stay in this hotel for a business trip and have not been pleased. I stayed in a king room where the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. (Bed too hard ;pillows with no substance slept with 3 of them) There was no fitted sheet on the bed so upon pulling down what I assume was a comforter (blanket with
sheet underneath and on top) all the sheets came down
with it exposing a bare
mattress. The view outside consisted of looking directly into a neighboring office building. .not what you'd hope for at $200 a night. Channel guide for TV is extremely hard to find. Pool area didn't have a jacuzzi and gym was disappointing. Everything is grossly overpriced, no breakfast unless you want to pay over 30 dollars. .for breakfast. I really expected more from a hyatt. Cleaning staff was very nice though. .Others had a pretentious attitude in the restaurant and check in areas.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikkiboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello nikkiboko,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so sorry to hear about the many inconveniences you had with your guest room bedding and WiFi access. I have forwarded this information to our executive management and housekeeping management to follow up on and to ensure this does not happen in the future. I hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C. Again, our sincerest apologies, feel free to contact our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak about this matter further.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is very nice and conveniently located within walking distance to Capitol Hill. Everyone working at the hotel from reception to room service was very friendly. The room service food (from the highly rated restaurant located in the hotel) was delicious and well worth it if you don't want to leave the room.

The only cons:
- Pool area was neglected. There were no dry pool towels and the pool was not heated both times of day that I went - not ideal for wanting to swim in December.
- Around the block to the northwest is some sort of homeless shelter, that looked a bit seedy, so I would take a cab to get to museums in that direction, especially at night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was very impressed with the service here - staff are friendly and willing to help with any needs that come up. I was trying to leave a day early and miss a big snowstorm - I worked with staff so didn't have to pay any early checkout penalty. The hotel is very close to Capitol Hill, so it's a convenient location if you're going for that purpose; however, while there are some solid breakfast places nearby, the restaurant selection nearby isn't as good as it is further to the west, closer to the White House. It's about four blocks from the nearest Metro rail station at Union Station. Taxis are generally lined up at the hotel entrance, so you can just walk out the door and get one very quickly.

The hotel has hypoallergenic rooms available for $30 more, which are great for allergy sufferers, for those allergic to feathers, dust and have reactions to chemically treated furniture. You can get free Internet in the lobby - I wish they had it for free in the rooms - $10 is a lot. The gym is the best I've seen at a hotel, not only with dumbbells, but a variety of weight machines, instead of one machine that is supposed to do everything. They also have a pool. The Hyatt has a restaurant and a bar, which have solid food, though overpriced like most restaurants in downtown hotels. The bar does have some good beers - they had both DC Brau and Flying Dog pale ales on tap while I was there, as well as Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA in bottles.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Greetings Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. We will be sure to thank and recognize our team members for the amazing service they provide. Thank you so much for your kind comments about them. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on the great location we offer and we are thrilled you chose this location for your travels. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
712 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
5,009 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
386 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing