We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend in February of 2014. Its a nice hotel in a very good location. It does need a few updates though. Also, valet parking is a bit expensive, however, you may be able to find free on-street parking on the next block up.The staff was friendly. And the wifi was good. My only complaint is the shower. The one in our room only turned on halfway, so its as if you are taking a shower and a bath at the same time. It was like showering in a puddle in the rain, but its drizzling. We expressed this to the hotel staff and they were very apologetic and assured us that they will have maintenance take a look at it and fix it. The large mirror in the room was my favorite!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justshanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    1,404
    641
    190
    96
See reviews for
852
592
187
1,566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We checked in this past Thursday. Hillary checked us in and we mentioned it was our Anniversary that day. We dropped off our bags at our room and headed out to see some of the memorials. After a tiring walk we returned to our room. On the desk was a bottle of wine, two desserts and a wonderful card to celebrate our Anniversary. It was a wonderful gesture and showed the level of the service this hotel offers. It will be our only option for our stay when we return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, A Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, and for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and your anniversary. It is wonderful to hear you were able to go out and enjoy some of the attractions in the area, and then come back to relax and enjoy your evening. I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the desserts, wine, and card; and the service we provided. It’s wonderful to hear that you’d choose us again on your next visit to Capitol Hill, and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Allie H. –A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Friendly staff, in need for serious renovation.
Hotel is centrally located. Nice gym with flexible hours
Rooms are big and clean, but need serious touch up.
Hotel itself requires renovation.
Staff including all is extremely friendly

Room Tip: Not infront of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My friends and I were in town for the Odyssey Washington, D. C. Cruise for my sister's birthday. I booked the room at the Hyatt because of its proximity to the pier and convenient location downtown. The advance purchase rate was unbelievable ($89.95 plus tax)! Valet parking was $48/night, but for the room rate we paid we had no complaints. My sister parked at Union Station for $22/night, but you do not have in/out privileges (as you do at the hotel with valet parking). Union Station is only 2 blocks away.

Matt (valet) welcomed us as we arrived at the property. He was exceptionally friendly and helpful! Meagan welcomed us at the front desk and she made us feel like valued guest; her service was superb! Holly checked us out and she was friendly as well! She noted that she would be in our home state this weekend. I do not recall the name of the valet who delivered our car and helped with our luggage, but he was an older gentleman with a kind-spirit! As for service, this hotel exceeded our expectations...way to go Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill staff!!!

The room wasn't very large, but it was big enough to accommodate us. Our room was facing New Jersey Avenue. The Capitol was a few blocks (maybe 2 or so) from the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the shower was perfect!

While we did not have time to sight see, we could have easily access local attractions by foot or by Metro. Next time we're in the downtown Washington, D.C. area, we will staff here. Give this beautiful establishment a try!

Notes:
-There is no self-parking option on-site (only Union Station 2 blocks away).
-Starbucks located on the corner across the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPearl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to share input on your stay with us. I’m so glad to hear you were able to stay with us at such an amazing rate and share your sister’s birthday celebration with us. It is great to hear that Matt, Meagan and Holly all did such an excellent job of welcoming you to the hotel and making you feel at home. I am pleased that you found your beds to be comfortable and our location to be so convenient for your cruise. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again on your next trip to DC.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spent the last two nights at the Hyatt Regency on Capital Hill. Wonderful location to be near the mall. 2 blocks from our nations Capital Building and the start of one end of the Mall.
Made a reservation on Hotwire and this hotel popped up. Great rate except for the valet parking at $48.00 per night. The system to get the car is good and we didn't have to wait.
Check-in was on a kiosk that was fast and had us on our way to our King Room. Lighting was good, carpet clean, no smell in room or hallway, no noise from the outside or hallway. Overall a good room and experience.
All interaction with hotel staff from front desk, bellman, restaurants were pleasant and above average.
Would stay her again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The perfect location for getting around the city and sights while in DC. Short walk to Union Station for train, metro, bus, or to catch the next tour. Plenty of options to eat and shop at Union Station too, while taking in its beautiful architecture. I've been here numerous times over the years, and appreciate the renovations that have been made, although they were painful for guests during the process. There are plenty of meeting room spaces for hosting or attending large meetings held here. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and the hotel provides a lot of open areas with small sitting/gathering areas. The major drawback is that the restaurant struggles with large crowds during lunch breaks because of limited tables. And there needs to be a better method for moving large crowds up and down from the meeting level to lobby when meetings are adjourned. Maybe having both escalators going up for a short amount of time for a quicker exit? Ive seen it done quite efficiently at other hotels. Rooms are nice, beds are on the firm side. Will definitely be staying here again, as long as our meetings continue to be hosted here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

could have been a hotel anywhere anyplace, most things just okay; there were exceptions. The restaurant staff, especially at breakfast, were great, check-in staff were effective and friendly; generally service was okay plus. The hotel does feel as though it has come out of an IKEA hotel construction kit. rooms okay but look a bit tired, good convention facilities. So no real character – however just a few minutes walk from so many locations around the Capitol and that counts for a lot. And the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Ave N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails in Article One. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our 24-hour room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing